Old 27th November 2011, 19:08   #436

re: Mahindra Testing sub-4 meter XYLO. EDIT : Fresh PICS on Page 38

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
If you noticed, the height of both the vehicles is different. I got some more pictures, will post them soon. Also, notice that both (7/8) seater models have different bumpers.
Hi Amtek,
The version with 8 seats & Maroon colour is Normal XYLO facelift model. XYLO is due for facelift also.

Other one is white is real mini XYLO.
zalaps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2011, 19:45   #437

I regularly see this car being tested on Nashik-Mumbai highway and to be honest I feel this is a car that will appeal the commercial market more than the private car owners.
The interiors have got a shoddy finish for a 5-6 lakh car and the car largely lacks the feel good factor. Infact if somebody is looking for finesse, then this car is lacking it.
I am not sure but Premier Rio looks like the inspiration for this out-of-box car.

A very practical vehicle though.
Old 27th November 2011, 20:28   #438

lengthwise, both were the same!
Old 27th November 2011, 21:30   #439

Originally Posted by zalaps View Post
Hi Amtek,
The version with 8 seats & Maroon colour is Normal XYLO facelift model. XYLO is due for facelift also.

Other one is white is real mini XYLO.
I just thought in similar lines. Both the vehicles have the same alloy wheels but!

lengthwise, both were the same!
Is the length, discounting the spare tyre at the back? With the tyre at the back, I guess both might have the same length.

Edit:: If the mini Xylo is going to look more like the XUV, I guess another positive trait. Am sure lots of people will prefer an XUV face rather than the Xylo face.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 27th November 2011 at 21:32.
Old 28th November 2011, 11:49   #440

Interiors, way to better than the current XYLO and a lot better than TATA MUV's. I am happy to say that they have ditched the dirty brown dashboard from the current xylo. it was a ready model with 2 din player and all clean interiors. Also, look at the shine on the car tires, spanking new! Side cladding over bumpers, make it look nice!
Thanks for the scoops pics, looks like mahindra are riding on the xuv wave and turning around the xylo. well, TATA have to pull their socks up now if the new xylo becomes a hit.

-Sajan
Old 28th November 2011, 23:39   #441

I just thought in similar lines. Both the vehicles have the same alloy wheels but!

Is the length, discounting the spare tyre at the back? With the tyre at the back, I guess both might have the same length.
@swiftnfurious/@zalaps, in the first image posted by amtak, there is a handwritten text "w203" in the red vehicle. I guess w203 (or is it u203) is the code name for mini xylo or am I confused

Venki
Old 29th November 2011, 01:43   #442

Originally Posted by venki7744 View Post
@swiftnfurious/@zalaps, in the first image posted by amtak, there is a handwritten text "w203" in the red vehicle. I guess w203 (or is it u203) is the code name for mini xylo or am I confused

Venki
Venki Sir,
If you observe same image in more detail, There's Petrol written in Hindi!!!
Did Mahindra's had Petrol engine in recent times? Logan's?
more than You!!!
zalaps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2011, 09:24   #443

Venki Sir,

Wow, zalaps, you do have a very sharp eye for details !

If a petrol engine variant is on offer, then it could definitely be offered at a very competitive price.

If the suspension has been tuned like the Logan's, this could turn out to be a really good product.

Last edited by mooza : 29th November 2011 at 09:26.
Old 29th November 2011, 09:55   #444

IIRC, Mahindra is developing a 1.2L gasoline engine, which is a good thing with this unclear fuel pricing policy. Tomorrow, if the government implements the Diesel taxation, M&M is going to take a beating.

The mini Xlyo does look good, we are looking at a replacement for our Bolero and this is no. 1 on the list. Can't wait for the auto expo to check this out.
Old 29th November 2011, 10:07   #445

Venki Sir,
more than You!!!
Actually it says 'Withavat petrol' = without petrol. Could it mean negation of petrol = diesel? (not considering other options like CNG/LPG/Electric)
Old 1st December 2011, 01:20   #446

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
Actually it says 'Withavat petrol' = without petrol. Could it mean negation of petrol = diesel? (not considering other options like CNG/LPG/Electric)
I would think it was being transported somewhere "withavat" petrol in the fuel tank. Maybe. just maybe.
Old 1st December 2011, 10:25   #447

Originally Posted by rpmx1000 View Post
I would think it was being transported somewhere "withavat" petrol in the fuel tank. Maybe. just maybe.
Quite likely. However, wouldn't informing the driver be easier? I am sure they wont write with petrol/diesel! There's perhaps more to the mystry. I again saw the facelifted Xylo parked inside the gates of kandivali plant of Mahindra.
Old 1st December 2011, 13:50   #448

Both the mini Xylo / mini XUV (if there is such a thing) in white and the Maroon Xylo Refresh have been given the XUV style roof rails.

I guess post XUV we can expect significant improvements in the quality of the interiors for both these vehicle as well as increased amounts of SUV design elements being thrown in.

Amtak nice catch.
Old 1st December 2011, 14:02   #449

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
I guess post XUV we can expect significant improvements in the quality of the interiors for both these vehicle as well as increased amounts of SUV design elements being thrown in.

Amtak nice catch.
Thanks! I can personally vouch for the interior quality. Thought not in the league of Toyotas or Hondas, it is far better than what it is now. The interiors looked upmarket and well put together (if not too gaudy or flashy).
amtak is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 1st December 2011, 22:44   #450

Mahindra Mini Xylo is expected to start from 3.5 lacs as per a leading Automag. If it starts at 3.5 lacs, It will be surely a hit and people will grab it like hot cakes of a bakery. The Tailgate mounted alloy wheel makes the vehicle look real Macho. Just waiting for it to be launched.