Old 4th June 2010, 17:02   #1

Maruti's marketing plan for Kizashi unveiled?

Guys, I was searching for the kizashi launch dates on web when i stumbled upon this.
I was astonished to see the marketing strategy for Kizashi.
Following is the crux of the document you are about to see in the link below:

Maruti Suzuki Kizashi Marketing Plan

Engine capacity - 2000cc, 4 cylinder
Transmission - manual, 6 gears
Colors: White, silver and black
Both Diesel and petrol versions

Now hold your breath for this, PRICING : WHOPPING 10.01 LACS ex-showroom. AWESOME. but couldnt find any mention of AWD present in this.

I am attaching the file too in case the link doesnt opens
File Type: pdf 27992713-Maruti-Suzuki-Kizashi-Marketing-Plan.pdf (488.7 KB, 25113 views)
Old 4th June 2010, 17:10   #2

Originally Posted by dhall_gagan View Post
Now hold your breath for this, PRICING : WHOPPING 10.01 LACS ex-showroom.
Juts this statements says that PDF isn't worth opening
Seriously - 10L for a 2.4L car which is in Accord segment!

Last edited by SkyWalker : 4th June 2010 at 17:19.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:10   #3

This looks very amateurish. Looks like a summer intern's report rather than an automobile giant's go to market strategy document. Chevy Cruze is Cruz. Toyota is Toyato! But if this was actually put together by their Marketing team, I don't see their 50% share lasting much longer.

EDIT: Guys, there are many more gems in the doc. This has to be an intern's summer project report.

Last edited by Gilead : 4th June 2010 at 17:15.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:13   #4

I doubt if this is an authentic doc.
1. A Star is called A Start in a few places
2. Sources mentioned in the doc

New Cars in India | Used Cars | New Car Prices | Latest Cars in India
Cars India, Buy New Used Cars, Sell Cars, Car Prices, Car Sale – Carazoo
Maruti - Maruti Cars in India | CarDekho.com
Maruti Suzuki company manufactures the best selling cars in India

Why do they have to rely on external sites to get info on their own products ?
Old 4th June 2010, 17:19   #5

Originally Posted by neoranjit View Post
I doubt if this is an authentic doc.
1. A Star is called A Start in a few places
2. Sources mentioned in the doc

New Cars in India | Used Cars | New Car Prices | Latest Cars in India
Cars India, Buy New Used Cars, Sell Cars, Car Prices, Car Sale – Carazoo
Maruti - Maruti Cars in India | CarDekho.com
Maruti Suzuki company manufactures the best selling cars in India

Why do they have to rely on external sites to get info on their own products ?
May be authentic, because it comes at a perfect time and also they might have hired some external agencies to give them feasability reports.

Reffering The website sources are quite common in compiling such reports. I can say this so surely because my wife works for Genpact, who do the feasability studies for Huge Huge multinationals, by researching it all the data available to them via searching on Google and some internal data.

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
Juts this statements means that PDF isn't worth opening
They have mentioned a 2L engine in the report

Last edited by Rehaan : 4th June 2010 at 19:00. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the MULTIQUOTE button instead of making multiple consecutive posts in the same thread. Thanks.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:24   #6

@dhall_gagan, No offense! I have seen the research/market survey reports you are talking about!

The PDF attachment looks amateurish & nowhere near to such reports, this document is probably a work by a management intern! Nothing more than that.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:31   #7

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
@dhall_gagan, No offense! I have seen the research/market survey reports you are talking about!

The PDF attachment looks amateurish & nowhere near to such reports, this document is probably a work by a management intern! Nothing more than that.
Its ok buddy, no offense taken. I just stumbled upon this report and thought of sharing it with fellow T-BHPians
Old 4th June 2010, 17:33   #8

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
Juts this statements says that PDF isn't worth opening
Dimensionally Kizashi is Civic sized (but much more spacious then Civic). 10 lacs may be stretching things too far but I think 12 L ex-showroom is very realistic (with 2.0 L engine)
Old 4th June 2010, 17:39   #9

I agree with anchronix, the PDF does not look professional at all, it looks like some management student's research project.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:51   #10

Come on guys, yes it doesn't look very professionally done. Not getting into the argument of whether it is geniune or not, it does have some good information on what all factors are considered while pricing a car. Atleast it was a good insight for me.
Old 4th June 2010, 17:56   #11

Isnt Kizashi 2.4 liter?

P.S. That is not the only problem I have with the pdf by the way.

Last edited by extreme_torque : 4th June 2010 at 17:57.
Old 4th June 2010, 18:00   #12

Hmmmm...

I have to agree with the majority here and dismiss the report as a non official one. Having said that yes, it is a cruze sized car and nowhere near an accord of superb in terms of dimensions, so the Accord pricing is out of the question. A 2 litre engine + some goodies can possibly be sold for around 12-13 Lakhs (the segment price range in general). Im sure Maruti realizes that with there brand image that they cant really afford to charge a premium over a Honda Civic or Toyota Corolla. There is a lot of competition around the corner in 2011- All new Civic, All new Jetta, Possibly a new Laura, a facelifted Corolla, Renault Fluence ,and the Hyundai Elantra.
Old 4th June 2010, 18:01   #13

If this is indeed true;

1) Why are they so worried about Cruze?
2) Which diesel engine?
Old 4th June 2010, 18:06   #14

Thanks gagan. If you are a value investor then this is all about why you should invest/not invest in MSIL
Old 4th June 2010, 18:09   #15

Originally Posted by dhall_gagan View Post
Guys, I was searching for the kizashi launch dates on web when i stumbled upon this.
I was astonished to see the marketing strategy for Kizashi.
Following is the crux of the document you are about to see in the link below:

Maruti Suzuki Kizashi Marketing Plan

Engine capacity - 2000cc, 4 cylinder
Transmission - manual, 6 gears
Colors: White, silver and black
Both Diesel and petrol versions

Now hold your breath for this, PRICING : WHOPPING 10.01 LACS ex-showroom. AWESOME. but couldnt find any mention of AWD present in this.

I am attaching the file too in case the link doesnt opens
Thank you for the scoop.

If it is the 2000cc engine then it is the same engine that is available on SX4 in US, & the Kizashi is going to be 2400cc engine in US. Indians are offered the smaller engine... discrimination (could be if I think emotionally, but, not rationally).

For Rs.10 lacs (approx) the pricing is good & will undercut most competitors. With Maruti Suzuki badge the initial sales will be good, but, the mileage also has to be good, lest the sales will fall like in case of SX4. Diesel option is lucrative for this car, a must buy in this segment, & people will not have horror stories to tell (as in Skoda's case).

Last edited by CARDEEP : 4th June 2010 at 18:11.