View Poll Results: Best driver's car below 5Lakhs (ex-showroom)
Figo - TDCi 58 17.68%
Swift - 1.2K series 111 33.84%
Figo - 1.2 petrol 12 3.66%
Swift - DDiS 120 36.59%
A-star 8 2.44%
Chevy Beat (Petrol) 19 5.79%
Voters: 328. You may not vote on this poll

Old 18th June 2010, 18:47   #16

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
@Clevermax: Figo has good dynamics but the performance offered does not make it as exciting to drive as the Swift, especially the Petrol version. The Swift has both entertaining agile handling and a peppy engine.
Yes, but Figo with the current performance itself is pure thrill to drive if you extract all the horses from it. I heard and I saw one guy driving it - looked like it's quite a good handler.

Figo and Punto with more power can easily top the list.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:48   #17

Originally Posted by Daewood
With the demise of that car and the palio 1.6
I still see the Palio 1.6 on the Fiat website and guess it is still available. If yes, I think that costs less than 5L and that would be the best driver's car in that range.

Conditions:
FE, ***, back seat comfort, AC cooling, engine noise/age,
fancy gadgets(PW,ACC),etc doesn't matter.
For a moment, I thought these were the conditions for being crowned the Driver's car.

Originally Posted by .anshuman
Without a doubt, the Maruti Suzuki Swift Petrol is the best driver's car below 5 lac rupees.
If the Palio1.6 is not on sale today, the Swift would be the contender.

Originally Posted by speedsatya
Punto diesel and Ritz petrol if you look at new cars.
Nope, the Punto seriously needs a more powerful engine or needs to cut some serious flab. The Ritz was peppy and FTD in the city, but with the same 1.2l K-series engine now available on the Swift, I would go for the latter.

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 18th June 2010 at 18:59.
Old 18th June 2010, 19:17   #18

As of now, its the 1.6 palio Stile and Swift DDIS for me.

The Figo TDCi and Swift 1.2 comes close.
Old 18th June 2010, 20:50   #19

According to me the best driver's car is the Fiat Palio Stile 1.6 Meanwhile I feel that the Punto with either the 1.4 T-Jet or 1.3 MJD VGT can top the list

Btw, how about adding a poll?
Old 18th June 2010, 20:56   #20

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
I do not agree. It might be peppy but I don't think it has the other characteristics a driver's car must have.
i haven't driven the A-star but people who own it have mentioned
about it's good handling and responsive steering.
Maybe that is the reason Maruti sells more A-stars in Europe than in India

Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Amongst used cars ,its the corolla under 6 L for me
please let's keep used cars away from this contest. or else even beemers will come in. That's not fair.

Originally Posted by atrisarkar View Post
As its a below 5 lac I don't see to many diesels coming into the picture.
Yea, among diesels just Swift and Figo are in this bracket.
The reason i stuck to cars below 5 lacs is,
if i had chosen the contest title ' Best drivers car below 10 lacs"
it would have been a no contest,
for Fiesta 1.6s would have been a winner without a fight.

Last edited by Daewood : 18th June 2010 at 21:09.
Old 18th June 2010, 21:18   #21

Fiat palio 1.6 for sheer power
Ford Ikon/Figo for the handling prowess (I just love Ikons meaty steering)
Maruti A-star is a frugal but peppy package. THis maruti also looks the part inside out.
Old 18th June 2010, 21:27   #22

Swift Diesel Ldi the best drivers car. Its priced at 4.65L Ex-showroom Goa.

Last edited by Gurudatta Nayak : 18th June 2010 at 21:30.
Old 18th June 2010, 21:34   #23

My vote goes for the Swift.
Also the 17th June, 2010 Zigwheels, 2nd Page has an article about a new Swift with 1.2 Petrol Dual VVT which is supposed to have 94 PS @ 6000 rpm and 118 Nm of torque @ 4800 rpm. If this is true, and the car is priced below 5 lakh, this would undoubtably be the best drivers car in the given budget.
Old 18th June 2010, 22:10   #24

None of them right now are a real drivers car. Maybe the Swift Petrol could be considered for the title just due to the lack of contenders.

Among diesels it surely is the Figo TDCi. (with a atleast 5k run engine and after the engine has attained optimum operating temperature ). I think the base model comes under 5L.
Old 18th June 2010, 22:14   #25

Petrol: The Swift 1.3 G-Series. (The Swift took the game ahead from where the Zen left it.)
Diesel: Swift LDi. Even though the engine is not designed by Suzuki, the Swift D feels more eager to drive when compared to Fiats with the same engine. The Vista, lesser said the better. You should give it to Suzuki for that.
Old 18th June 2010, 22:23   #26
//M

Without a doubt it has to be the Palio Stile 1.6. The Swift 1.2 follows next.
Wish the Palio 1.6 GTX/S10 existed now.
Old 18th June 2010, 22:27   #27

Yes, but Figo with the current performance itself is pure thrill to drive if you extract all the horses from it. I heard and I saw one guy driving it - looked like it's quite a good handler.

Figo and Punto with more power can easily top the list.
After clocking around 2k kms on my 1.2 Figo, I can say that I like everything in it except for the power. It definitely NEEDS more power to be even considered as a driver's car. Swift P is miles ahead.
If (thats a big one) you take out power off the list, then Figo wins hands down for me.
Old 18th June 2010, 23:06   #28

The diesel has decent performance, i am not so sure about the petrol

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
I still see the Stile1.6 on the Fiat website and guess it is still available. If yes, I think that costs less than 5L and that would be the best driver's car in that range.
FIAT Palio Stile 1.6 Sport discontinued

Is Palio a better handler than the Swift? and a diesel car as a driver's car??
swift Vxi is below ~5L (OTR) at our place
Old 18th June 2010, 23:12   #29

Originally Posted by Klub Class
I feel that the Punto with either the 1.4 T-Jet or 1.3 MJD VGT can top the list. Btw, how about adding a poll?
The MJD-VGT would not be within 5lakhs - not sure about the petrol. But then why bring in cars that are not available right now ? And a poll is pretty useless. Better to name cars and say why they make the cut.

if i had chosen the contest title ' Best drivers car below 10 lacs" it would have been a no contest, for Fiesta 1.6s would have been a winner without a fight.
Doesn't the Cedia come under 10L ?

Originally Posted by atrisarkar
After clocking around 2k kms on my 1.2 Figo, I can say that I like everything in it except for the power. It definitely NEEDS more power to be even considered as a driver's car. Swift P is miles ahead.
If (thats a big one) you take out power off the list, then Figo wins hands down for me.
If (yeah, a big IF, like you said) power is taken off the list, what driver's car ?

Originally Posted by Sheel
The Fiat website still shows it as available - checked a minute ago. So, I am guessing it is.

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 18th June 2010 at 23:21.
Old 18th June 2010, 23:14   #30

I think we may have different definitions of drivers car, so may help to mention that as well.

To me, the only two contenders are:
1. Figo diesel
2. Swift petrol
(I think base model of both these cars comes <= 5lakhs).

What I mean by drivers car:
1. Handles well: It is designed with more importance for handling than ride
2. Steering feels direct, sharp, responsive and offers good feel as well
3. Accelerates well
4. Body/chassis design and dynamics enable it to take high speed curves, lane changes, twisties, hairpin bends etc at a reasonable speed and feel fun when doing it.
5. Everything feels "fun" to do: changing direction, changing gears, accelerating.
6. Decent tyres
7. Smooth and precise gearshift
8. Just the right amount of clutch play - not too much, not too little

What are NOT must-haves in a drivers car:
1. Plush ride
2. Space (interior, knee room, boot, whatever)
3. Rear seat comfort
4. Fuel efficiency
5. Gadgets like power windows, music, central lock etc etc
6. Good looks