Old 10th March 2011, 11:43   #346

Re: Gen2 Suzuki Swift, EDIT:Caught testing in India, Pics on Pg.15

Just found this new article -
Breaking: 2011 Maruti Suzuki Swift probable Launch Details & Pricing! | Indian Cars & Motorcycles Blog
It says about bookings in June, and the prices to be up by 30 - 40k which is brilliant acc. to me !
Old 10th March 2011, 12:22   #347

There are no seperate bookings being taken for the new version.
We hve booked a Swift VDI last week and hve been promised delivery of new model within 10-12 weeks as by that time the deliveries of new model would have begin.
So, effectively, if anybody books the car today (Diesel) is likely to get the delivery of the new version.
Old 10th March 2011, 12:31   #348

Great news. I hope they do justice to the Diesel and provide all features at par with the Petrol. Currently the Diesel's get step motherly treatment and are stripped of major features. I am going to put my money on the new Swift soon and hope there is no disappointment.

Related discussion
Old 10th March 2011, 14:45   #349

very useful information about launch date indeed Sid. Any idea about the Dzire launch? Kindly enlighten us.

As informed by Indus Motors Tvm today, the waiting period for swift vdi abs is 17 months!, vdi 6, ldi 9. Is it true? I feel the waiting period projected is not actual. Is there a way to find out ones priority number?

Last edited by specialist1968 : 10th March 2011 at 14:49.
Old 10th March 2011, 16:44   #350

Originally Posted by specialist1968 View Post
very useful information about launch date indeed Sid. Any idea about the Dzire launch? Kindly enlighten us.

As informed by Indus Motors Tvm today, the waiting period for swift vdi abs is 17 months!, vdi 6, ldi 9. Is it true? I feel the waiting period projected is not actual. Is there a way to find out ones priority number?
I guess they might have stopped the production as of now since the new model is coming out. This would have added to the delivery period. Once they re-start the production, it will get better !
Old 11th March 2011, 16:15   #351

Any idea which dealer from Bangalore gave the information as per ICB? Any recent enquiries?

-Ravi
Old 11th March 2011, 17:31   #352

Looks like the new Swift is on sale in most countries. Was just checking the Suzuki.de site and came across this.
Gen2 Suzuki Swift, EDIT:Caught testing in India, Pics on Pg.15-newswift.jpg

Man, the options they have on the Swift are amazing :
- Swift 1.2
- Swift 1.3 DDiS
- Swift 1.2 4x4
- Swift 1.2 AT

Would have been great if we got the AT here. 4x4 version also sounds interesting.
Old 11th March 2011, 17:35   #353

Saw this new swift being tested on Mathura road in peak evening traffic. It was black in colour with black tape on all lights. Plus, it had all monograms missing. But you cant really hide something so obvious though.
Old 11th March 2011, 20:20   #354
rmk

Read in a comment here that if we order a new swift now, we'l probably get the new swift.

I dont think thats likely to happen. When i enquired about this, the sales guy told me that if i book a swift now and later im deciding to change to the new model, my seniority in the booking will be lost.

There is also a price difference mentioned here. I dont think that, atleast some customers who are buying a car (in this case swift ), will respond to the news that the car that'l be delivered, will be 30-40k higher than the booking rate.

Ex : a person X loves sedans. His budget is 6lakhs. But the sedan range starts at 6.4-6.6l (verna, aveo, linea, fiesta)that he cant afford. So he decides to gor for a SWIFT ZXI@6laksh onroad. And then one fine morning, he's being informed that the car about to be delivered willbe the new swift and so there'd be a rise of 40K. (for that 40K, he couldve bought a deccent sedan!!)

X would be very very angry...And if i was X... i'd seriously sue MSL
Old 12th March 2011, 00:02   #355

Originally Posted by rmk View Post
Read in a comment here that if we order a new swift now, we'l probably get the new swift.

I dont think thats likely to happen. When i enquired about this, the sales guy told me that if i book a swift now and later im deciding to change to the new model, my seniority in the booking will be lost.

There is also a price difference mentioned here. I dont think that, atleast some customers who are buying a car (in this case swift ), will respond to the news that the car that'l be delivered, will be 30-40k higher than the booking rate.

Ex : a person X loves sedans. His budget is 6lakhs. But the sedan range starts at 6.4-6.6l (verna, aveo, linea, fiesta)that he cant afford. So he decides to gor for a SWIFT ZXI@6laksh onroad. And then one fine morning, he's being informed that the car about to be delivered willbe the new swift and so there'd be a rise of 40K. (for that 40K, he couldve bought a deccent sedan!!)

X would be very very angry...And if i was X... i'd seriously sue MSL
Firstly X can very well cancel the booking then, and buy the Sedan instead.

Secondly, no Sedan except the Dzire/Manza and now the Etios are available for 6.4 - 6.6 on road. And thats for the base variants or at the most middle variant. Someone who wants to buy a Swift Zxi specifically will not want to buy a base model Sedan.
Old 12th March 2011, 00:41   #356

Frankly, except for the tag new with the car there is not much I am seeing as a change. According to me the dash look and feel has changed, but current one was no worse.

In automotive terms people call it minor freshening, see there are two kind of changes. One involving real change to the car. Other involving just the OEM parts change. Cos frankly everyone needs a pay rise, so once the part supplier ask for a hike the car makers suggest them to change the look and feel and get a better price.

These changes involve nothing on part of the car manufact to change, except for inspecting the newly proposed part.
Invariably such change are inferior to the actual version.

I would name it Gen 1.2 instead of naming it Gen 2. Gen 2 sounds like a re-birth of Swift etc which it is not. Its nothing to be excited about.

Note: I am writing this based on my understanding of changes.
Old 12th March 2011, 02:31   #357

The new swift is already up and running in many other countries , may I know any of those countries have dezire ?
Old 12th March 2011, 03:18   #358

Originally Posted by xingamazon View Post
Frankly, except for the tag new with the car there is not much I am seeing as a change. According to me the dash look and feel has changed, but current one was no worse.

In automotive terms people call it minor freshening, see there are two kind of changes. One involving real change to the car. Other involving just the OEM parts change. Cos frankly everyone needs a pay rise, so once the part supplier ask for a hike the car makers suggest them to change the look and feel and get a better price.

These changes involve nothing on part of the car manufact to change, except for inspecting the newly proposed part.
Invariably such change are inferior to the actual version.

I would name it Gen 1.2 instead of naming it Gen 2. Gen 2 sounds like a re-birth of Swift etc which it is not. Its nothing to be excited about.

Note: I am writing this based on my understanding of changes.
Your completely mistaken my friend. The new swift indeed is "totally" new. The chassis has been lengthened and the car now is slightly wider than before,apart from the obvious sheet metal changes. Hence it cannot be named swift Gen 1.2 .
Old 12th March 2011, 18:49   #359

any news that this new machine would have 90 BHP power?
Old 12th March 2011, 20:39   #360
rmk

Saw the comment radiokidb. Dont forget the fact that the swift series have a booking period of around 6 months in many cities. So, after waiting six months, do you think that it'l be an easy decision to cancel the car for which you waited all those days ?? For me. BIG NO!

I just quoted that example to say that its kinda cheating the customer and they wont be happy about that!

But any of these above scenarios that both you and i are so worried about, wont happen in real. Because MSL wont do that!!

Last edited by Jaggu : 12th March 2011 at 21:50. Reason: Please use proper punctuation while composing posts thanks.