Old 8th July 2010, 16:48   #241

@.anshuman

sorry to go off topic here buddy, but we need to call peace here!

button broken/not broken shouldn't be made an ego issue. if sid thinks it's not broken it might not be broken. you think it is, then it might be broken. no point arguing over such petty issues.

tell me something about your punto experience, and what makes more sense to you?? the 90bhp punto coming out first OR punto sport coming out first??
what do you think should be the right price for the 2 cars mentioned??

Old 8th July 2010, 17:12   #242

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
Pricing the Punto 90 hp more than 15k's over and above the current Emotion pack trim would be a sacrilege. Fiat needs volumes at this point of time, not exclusivity and it makes sense as well because apart from the FGT to VGT and a remapped ECU, absolutely nothing else changes.
I do not understand something here - Isnt the 90BHP Sport a petrol variant thats being launched here. Then where does VGT come from (aren't Variable Geometric Turbochargers' only for diesel engines) - do you mean VVT.

If its indeed a 90bhp diesel then thats a good power jump from 68Bhp to 90Bhp. There seems to be some confusion as most people seem to understand that its just an addition of VVT to the existing 1.4L FIRE engine. This is true only if its a petrol.

Please clarify - If its a diesel 90Bhp then it does sound interesting.
Old 8th July 2010, 17:27   #243

I think you got yourself confused with the T-jet linea.Its the diesel punto that is bieng launched and discussed here.And yes its the VGT model.
Old 8th July 2010, 18:03   #244

Originally Posted by srikanths1 View Post
I do not understand something here - Isnt the 90BHP Sport a petrol variant thats being launched here. Then where does VGT come from (aren't Variable Geometric Turbochargers' only for diesel engines) - do you mean VVT.

If its indeed a 90bhp diesel then thats a good power jump from 68Bhp to 90Bhp. There seems to be some confusion as most people seem to understand that its just an addition of VVT to the existing 1.4L FIRE engine. This is true only if its a petrol.

Please clarify - If its a diesel 90Bhp then it does sound interesting.
Sir, you got confused here, Punto FGT has 76PS, Punto VGT will have 90PS, and there is no news of any petrol varient, Punto Sports is a Diesel car. And The VGT engine is not exactly of the current Linea, which has 93PS.
Old 8th July 2010, 18:40   #245

Originally Posted by asdon View Post
Sir, you got confused here, Punto FGT has 76PS, Punto VGT will have 90PS, and there is no news of any petrol varient, Punto Sports is a Diesel car. And The VGT engine is not exactly of the current Linea, which has 93PS.
Sorry for bringing in another confusion but AFAIK Punto VGT is 93PS as well and it is indeed Linea's mill.
Old 9th July 2010, 11:02   #246

Just got a call from Concorde, Chennai. The person told me that Punto 90HP will be launched tomorrow and display will be avaliable from monday.
Old 9th July 2010, 11:42   #247

Punto Sport vs Punto 90hp

This is Totally Confusing.

Is fiat going to launch 2 cars
1) Punto 90 hp using the engine of Linea.
2) Punto Sport using a more powerful engine and lots of sporty goodies like the Palio Sport..

If this is true, thats great new. Come on Fiat.

Scoop Master please Explain.
Old 9th July 2010, 12:02   #248

Kya baba, everyone confusing each other. Dont confuse people by saying the upcoming Punto's 90D-engine is different from linea (exact PS n BHP figures be damned)

again exact figures be damned, punto has three engines currently: 68bhp petrol, 75bhp diesel and 90bhp petrol (same as linea). It will get fourth engine: 90bhp diesel (same as linea). This engine is expected to be available in two punto variants. First with emotion-pack and later-on with auto-expo's Sport(s) variant. No confirmed news on the fifth expected engine, i.e. T-Jet.
Old 9th July 2010, 12:29   #249

variants:

1.2 petrol active
1.2 petrol dynamic
1.2 petrol emotion
1.4 petrol emotion ABS
1.4 petrol emotion pack ABS plus airbags

1.3 diesel 76 ps active
1.3 diesel 76 ps dynamic
1.3 diesel 76 ps emotion ABS
1.3 diesel 76 ps emotion pack ABS plus airbags
1.3 diesel 93 ps (90 hp) VGT emotion pack ABS plus airbags.

sports launch not yet confirmed.
Old 9th July 2010, 14:41   #250

Seems like a lot of us are assuming the 90 HP to be the punto sports. Surely they are only launching the 90HP diesel for now and it is not punto sports. The punto sports may just be introduced at a later date for enthusiasts. Hoping they dont keep the silly stickers.
Old 9th July 2010, 17:27   #251

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
variants:

1.2 petrol active
1.2 petrol dynamic
1.2 petrol emotion
1.4 petrol emotion ABS
1.4 petrol emotion pack ABS plus airbags

1.3 diesel 76 ps active
1.3 diesel 76 ps dynamic
1.3 diesel 76 ps emotion ABS
1.3 diesel 76 ps emotion pack ABS plus airbags
1.3 diesel 93 ps (90 hp) VGT emotion pack ABS plus airbags.

sports launch not yet confirmed.
Any clues about the pricing? I really like this model range, of course will like to see a 1.3MJD 90HP in Emotion as well, but this is quite good.
Old 9th July 2010, 23:43   #252

Should not be more than 8.5 lac for the top end vGT if i am not wrong.
Old 10th July 2010, 13:31   #253

8.5!!!

sure shot way of chasing away the prospective customers.
i think 7-7.3 lacs is fair enough

remember they "should" keep it below the i20 under any circumstances.
Old 10th July 2010, 16:53   #254

the current one in bangalore totals to 7.8 on the road, how can it be less than that for the new one? of course i forgot to say that i was talking on road prices.
Old 10th July 2010, 17:05   #255

Well considering bangalore on-road prices are usually expensive compared to the other metros it should fall under 8lakhs.