Old 10th August 2010, 10:24   #121

Originally Posted by RakishRam View Post
So the one got badly hit by Diesel Altis is its petrol sibling itself. From >800 (jan-apr) to just 205.
Originally Posted by diffsoft View Post
Not to forget the Laura. The figure dropped from 681 in June to 386 in July. It sold on average about 521 every month from Jan to June and that has dropped to 386 !

So has the Jetta though to a lesser extent. From 368 in June to 292 in July and from an average monthly sales of 302 in Jan - June to 292. Can't say much about this drop though.
Too early to accurately comment on the impact of Altis diesel. It was launched around 20th of July. So, it has competed only for 1/3 of the month.

Still it has surely made an impact - more on the petrol sibling than anything else. But would Laura and Jetta be able to hold ground in the coming months? Or would they be swept aside? Skoda/VW, bring on the price corrections.

BTW, Cruze is holding ground.
Old 10th August 2010, 10:58   #122

Originally Posted by sbraj View Post
Too early to accurately comment on the impact of Altis diesel. It was launched around 20th of July. So, it has competed only for 1/3 of the month.

Still it has surely made an impact - more on the petrol sibling than anything else. But would Laura and Jetta be able to hold ground in the coming months? Or would they be swept aside? Skoda/VW, bring on the price corrections.

BTW, Cruze is holding ground.
As mentioned earlier, these are primary sales figures ( Factory to Dealers).
Corolla altis petrol has been selling 800 units consistently from jan-june 2010.

The diesel variant has sold 639 units and its petrol variant has sold close to 235 units in july 2010. Its quite early to comment anything on the impact of the diesel variant on other cars, including its petrol variant.

Lets wait and watch for 5-6 months on the consistency of diesel altis and then it would be fair to comment on its impact. ( laura, here comes the altis diesel)

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 10th August 2010 at 11:00. Reason: Edit.
Old 10th August 2010, 11:09   #123

Originally Posted by erohit View Post
I hope you meant YOY increase and not the absolute numbers. In terms of absolute numbers they are way ahead of us.

China market (July Sales 2010)

Retail deliveries of cars, sport-utility vehicles and multipurpose vehicles rose 15.4 percent last month from a year earlier to 822,300, the China Automotive Technology & Research Center said in a statement today.

Total auto sales in China, including trucks and buses, increased 17 percent from a year earlier to 1.06 million vehicles in July, the center said. This figure is excluding 2 wheeler sales.

India market (July Sales 2010)

The national automobile body, Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) today informed that auto companies sold 158,764 cars in the month of July, compared with 115,084 units in the corresponding period a year ago, showing a rise of 37.05%.

Sales of commercial vehicles, a parameter of measuring the health of economy, jumped by 36.99 per cent to 51,481 units from 37,580 units in the year-ago period, SIAM said.

Total auto sales (excluding 2 wheelers) is 210,245 units.

We have long way to catch up with China auto market. They are still selling 5-6 times what we sell in auto market. But if you see our percentage growth is higher so it is good sign for Indian Auto industry as a whole.

source: China July Car Sales Grow at Faster Pace on Discounts - BusinessWeek
Commodity Stocks News | India's domestic car sales hit record high in July | 09 August 2010 | www.commodityonline.com
Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
I remember a televised interview by one of GM-India's head-honchos a couple of months back - on being asked to compare the Indian & Chinese markets, he commented that the two markets cannot be compared since GM alone sells more cars in China (per year) than the entire car market here in India (per year) !?!
Thank you erohit & im_srini for the numbers.

Just to update you & other fella, I read somewhere that the total auto sales in India in Jul-10 is 1.2 million plus, well past the Mar-10 figures that was the previous record month.

Originally Posted by Daewood View Post
I don't think Accent is getting exported.
In foreign markets the car sold here as Verna is the New Accent.

THE FIGO EFFECT

2 cars have lost customers after the FIGO launch

Indica nos are down by almost 2.5k
Ritz sales down by around 1K
Pardon me but, I would like to disagree as it is well that too early to comment on Figo eating Ritz & Indica's pie.
No doubt the Figo is a good car but. But, Ritz is selling lesser because of the Swift IMO & Indicas numbers had settled around the 7k+ mark well before Figo launch.
Lets wait for the festive season for the real test of sales & the Figo effect.
Old 10th August 2010, 11:32   #124

Octavia yet to open account in june and july.
Fabia down to 460 in july, was doing 725 in Q1, 525 IN Q2.
Laura did 560 in Q1 & Q2.A dismal figure of 386 in July.
Superb did 344 average in Q1, 310 IN Q2.

2009 2010 % change
June 1145 1638 43%
Jan - June 5840 9814 68%

But Skoda performed well in comparison to the last year sales figures.

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 10th August 2010 at 11:47. Reason: Edit
Old 10th August 2010, 16:56   #125

Originally Posted by CARDEEP View Post
Thank you erohit & im_srini for the numbers.

Just to update you & other fella, I read somewhere that the total auto sales in India in Jul-10 is 1.2 million plus, well past the Mar-10 figures that was the previous record month.
These numbers are including the 2 wheeler sales. 2 wheeler sales in India is very high and it touches 7-9Lakh per month.
Old 10th August 2010, 18:55   #126

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
Octavia yet to open account in june and july.
Fabia down to 460 in july, was doing 725 in Q1, 525 IN Q2.
Laura did 560 in Q1 & Q2.A dismal figure of 386 in July.
Superb did 344 average in Q1, 310 IN Q2.

2009 2010 % change
June 1145 1638 43%
Jan - June 5840 9814 68%

But Skoda performed well in comparison to the last year sales figures.

Laura may find it hard going forward. Why would someone buy Laura Ambiente Diesel when Altis D is available ? Laura L&K doesn't sell much. So, they will now be restricted primarily to Laura Elegance where Jetta also is positioned. So two VW brothers will fight with each other for 15-17 lacs bracket. At one time, Skoda was ruling the entire 10 - 20 lacs bracket. Now, they seem to be reduced to a few fragments. 10 - 14 lacs bracket is now ruled by Toyota - Honda - GM while 17L - 20L is dominated by SUVs (Toyota again). With Altis-D, a lot of 14L-15L Skoda buyers will downgrade to Altis. Lets see how Skoda / VW reacts !
Old 10th August 2010, 19:09   #127

It's amazing to think that BMW and Mercedes have both crossed 500 + mark in monthly sales and together they have reached the 1000+ mark, and a great start by the new 5 Series which I am sure will continue to outsell the E until the rest of their lifecycle. I always said this and with the lower variants coming out in fall / early 2011 things will only help BMW more. So I can assume they will both easily cross the 5000 mark this year in annual sales and perhaps get to 10,000 in 2011?

Another thing what exactly is AUDI doing? I mean they have pretty much the same number of dealers as BMW and a similar lineup so why do they brag so much about being the leader by 2015 in India? The new A8 is not going to help them either, all they live on is the SUV's and the A4 which isn't the segment leader either. I suppose their LED fad is soon disappearing?

Any numbers for Porsche? Jaguar / Land Rover? Also how about adding the various niche Mercedes-Benz models like the SLS / CLS etc?
Old 11th August 2010, 11:49   #128

Originally Posted by S350L-E240 View Post
Another thing what exactly is AUDI doing? I mean they have pretty much the same number of dealers as BMW and a similar lineup so why do they brag so much about being the leader by 2015 in India? The new A8 is not going to help them either, all they live on is the SUV's and the A4 which isn't the segment leader either. I suppose their LED fad is soon disappearing?
AFAIK, AUDI was pretty much a late entrant to the Indian market as compared to BMW.

Audi India has appointed Creativeland Asia as its lead creative agency after a pitch called in June, in which five agencies were invited to participate. The agency has also been handed the digital business.

Grey Worldwide, which has handled the account for three years, will continue to manage part of the business. However, Creativeland Asia will be responsible for delivering an integrated 360 degree campaign for the launch from television to Web and social media and will supervise the brand across events, CRM, onground promotion and retail.
Old 13th August 2010, 17:24   #129

Does anybody have the breakup of i20 petrol/diesel sales? Just want to see if i20 diesel are selling more or it's the petrol which contributes to 90% of the sales like the previous months.
Old 15th August 2010, 19:02   #130

Originally Posted by vishnurp99 View Post
Does anybody have the breakup of i20 petrol/diesel sales? Just want to see if i20 diesel are selling more or it's the petrol which contributes to 90% of the sales like the previous months.

Petrol = 5383 (83%)
Diesel = 1103 (17%)

Old 15th August 2010, 19:12   #131
oss

Originally Posted by karpusv View Post
Petrol = 5383 (83%)
Diesel = 1103 (17%)

This is quite surprising.

@Karpusv: Can you provide the Petrol/Diesel breakup for Figo as well...pl.
Old 15th August 2010, 20:17   #132

Wow - this is interesting - people are still preferring petrol - even though when there was no diesel, there was so much hype about a diesel car in that price range... (before the Swift D era)
Old 16th August 2010, 10:24   #133

The increase in numbers of the petrol i20 is may be due to increase in the number of variants of the petrol version. People who were looking at the getz are now putting their money on the lower versions of the petrol i20

Just my guess though
Old 16th August 2010, 10:41   #134

Originally Posted by oss View Post
This is quite surprising.

@Karpusv: Can you provide the Petrol/Diesel breakup for Figo as well...pl.

Figo Petrol = 2730 (40%)
Figo Diesel = 4107 (60%)
Old 16th August 2010, 11:41   #135

@karpusv, do you have the break up for Indica V2-Vista and IndigoCS-Manza, as well?