Old 17th November 2005, 19:20   #1

Indica Turbo Deal : Please advise

Hello folks,

Need your opinion and advise on this Indica Turbo deal.

Dealer : Om Sai Motors, Kandivali, Mumbai
Rs.4,38000 Ex-Showroom
Rs.4,78,000 OTR Mumbai

Free Goodies:
  1. MP3 Player with 4 speakers,
  2. Central Locking,
  3. Seat Covers,
  4. Sun film,
  5. Anti-corrosive coating,
  6. Paint Protective Coating,
  7. Floor Mats,
  8. Mud Flaps

FINANCE
TATA's in-house dealer finance at 7.5% Reducing Balance. Maximum finance offered is 90%. I plan to do a downpayment of 1.5 to 2 L up-front.

Above details are from their ad and very brief chat with the salesman. Have not done any negotiation at all so far, either on the price or finance options such as finance payout.

Kindly advise on the following:
  1. Fellow Member JLN got his Indica Turbo for 4.69L OTR Banglore. As Banglore has lifetime road tax should not the OTR for me in Mumbai be less than the quoted 4.78L ?
  2. I intend to put in my own stereo based on advise in the ICE forum and am not interested in the "free" MP3 + 4 speakers. Can I nego for price reduction in that case ? If yes, by how much ?
  3. ditto with seat covers. I plan to do my own interiors from outside anyways.
  4. I should take up the Sun-film and the anti-corrosive coating, correct ?
  5. Whats with the "Paint Protective Coating" ? Is this that Teflon thingie? Is it worth it or can I trade it off against further price reduction ?

Based on the above, what is the total OTR price I can demand / negotiate for after taking into consideration of all factors including finance payout etc. ?

Also separately, anyone has an issue or any info about this dealer ? I found them slightly better than Wasan at least based on an earlier visit and the salesman's attitude/approach.

Waiting for your inputs,

Thanks in advance,
hell_rider

Last edited by hell_rider : 17th November 2005 at 19:22. Reason: added content
Old 17th November 2005, 19:57   #2

In delhi the dealers are not even ready to give rubber mats for free. ITs amazing you are getting so much. Anyways try to hit for a 15K cash discount and do not take any goodies. As for 4 speaker mp3 system the cheapest you will get in market will be around 5500(Including speakers) in grey market. So thats the discount you will get from the dealer too if you forgo.
Old 18th November 2005, 11:28   #3
rkg

hi! Hell rider
the price of 4.69 lakhs is for indica DLG model the DLX model is aorund 4.9 odd in bangalore. i think u r reffering to DLX model if there is no life time tax in mumbai. further try to ask for corporate discounts. around 13K is offered on indica turbo for select corporate customers in bangalore
if it DLX model it comes with central locking , DLG also comes with central locking. if the guy is giving remote lock like auto cop, then it is ok.
further ask the guy what will be interest rate if u do not want free goodies. if the rate is less by about 0.5 % it is better to go for less interest rate rather than free goodies
Old 18th November 2005, 11:47   #4

indica will prolly change to indigo

okay,

further clarity. i started talking to the dealer today. apparently the goodies are only on the petrol indica.

also the indica does not come with alloys at all, even on the DLX.

now also some change in the family's thoughts. seems the boot of the indigo will be handy for the occasional trips out of town.

so indigo is
5.77L OTR Mumbai
7.25% finance rate (Tata Finance)
around 12K cash discount.

is this quote okay in the current situation ???
Old 18th November 2005, 11:49   #5

well, if space is the thing - the Marina will rock. How much more expensive is it (after discounts etc?) There may be more freebies on it too.
Old 18th November 2005, 11:54   #6

Okay for the LX version, talk to icicibank. they will give you two choices
1. 9% interest and 5% finance discount
2. 6.5% interest and no finance discount
If you look at this site and calculate the net amount paid by you you will see that the option 2 works better as far as finance is concerned
http://www.sundaramfinance.com/calc/emicar.asp

Coming to dealer cash discounts. For the LX version do not settle for anything less than 20000 cash discount. In delhi dealers are advertising 20000 gift check + free extended warranty.
For finance icici offers the lowest rates.
Old 18th November 2005, 12:51   #7

Originally Posted by hell_rider
further clarity. i started talking to the dealer today. apparently the goodies are only on the petrol indica.
now also some change in the family's thoughts. seems the boot of the indigo will be handy for the occasional trips out of town.
And please make sure the dealer is not talking about the Indigo Petrol or the Old Indigo (w/o Intercooler).
Old 18th November 2005, 12:55   #8

Old indigo cannot be sold in metro's its not E-III emission compliant.
However make sure that you are getting the new one introduced end oct. This one has fog lamps on the LX model. Earlier LX/GLX indigos did not have fog lamps(till start oct i think).
Old 18th November 2005, 14:38   #9

thank folks for your valuable inputs. will be talking to two dealers today (hopefully). fortune at thane and om sai at kandivali. will post back with details after discussion with them for your further feedback.

thanks,
hell_rider
Old 18th November 2005, 22:23   #10
JLN

since my name was mentioned in hell rider's post, I thought I will respond.

I got the Indica Turbo DLG for 4.56 onroad (4.69 - 13K corporate discount). I was unable to negotiate any freebies except for floor mats. The Concrode sales guy told me today that they are having a tough time selling cars in November - so prospective buyers can try to haggle for some freebies.

have used the car for 3 weeks now - have been quite happy so far. will post a review after completing 800-1000 Km.
Old 19th November 2005, 19:53   #11

JLN,
thanks for your input. can you provide any idea what the DLX would have cost you on-road ????
Old 21st November 2005, 11:34   #12
JLN

DLK would have cost be 4.90 onroad. I would have anyway had to get the rear speakers and change the cassette player with a MP3 one. Remote locking would have also been extra.
Old 21st November 2005, 11:49   #13

pls check threads regarding sun films too.

and what abt teh high end model ? gsx?
Old 22nd November 2005, 13:38   #14

GSX (6L on road)is petrol one, SX (6.40L)is the diesel.
Old 23rd November 2005, 16:33   #15

Hi rkg vbmenu_register("postmenu_142840", true);

I am planning to buy a new Indica DLG Turbol in bangalore, but nobody
is providing any discount (corporate or discount on accessories) as they are
telling there is no discount on turbo models.

pls let me know where in bangalore discounts are there in bangalore?