Old 11th August 2010, 23:05   #31
mkh

On a side note: Was this not the expected pricing? Almost all places it read to be priced between 7-9 lacs and that's exactly what happened, so there are no surprises at all on that aspect! It will take sometime though for VW to take max advantage of this as their sparse dealer network and "waiting period" effect will weigh in. I am sure verna transform was launched expecting this and so will the other manufacturers bring in a few changes, good for the consumer overall!
Old 11th August 2010, 23:07   #32

Awesome info GTO, and VW has priced it very smartly, entry level should be below entry level ANHC and urge Linea/Fiesta petrol buyers to go for VW but high end is also quite cheap compared to ANHC top end. I guess in bangalore Vento top end would be around 10.3 OTR
Old 11th August 2010, 23:09   #33

Superb pricing. For all the people thinking Honda is going to reduce pricing. Na-a! I don't think so. Eagerly awaiting the report.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:11   #34

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Achtung Baby!

oops, achtung city!

thats a cracker of a price tag. Honda, danger is looming at your bread and butter model. Time to launch your city limited edition that I saw last week.
Hope for a City X, priced 40 k above V model!
Old 11th August 2010, 23:11   #35

Man that is fantastic pricing. Honda should be very worried after this.

The Polo 1.6 undercut the Jazz and took away even more of Jazz sales. The Civic is getting outsold by the Altis and the Accord is struggling against the Superb and Fortuner.

Honda has their work cut out for them and it's about time.

I am impressed with the VW pricing.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:14   #36

This is an excellent pricing for VW in India.Im sure the competition will be stiff in this segment.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:18   #37

<setting up my jaw!>This is seriously killer pricing!! Honda in fix for sure! I am now more interested to see what Honda would do about this!!
Old 11th August 2010, 23:18   #38

Specifications of trendline and highline FYI

http://www.bsmotoring.com/news/volks...-prices/2414/2

Competition has made sure that the old adage holds true - What goes up, must come down! Poor Honda!

First the i20 bulldozed the Jazz, The Superb trumped the Accord, the Fortuner broke all records leaving the CRV nowhere, the cruze and the corolla ate up the civics market share and now the Vento will pull the carpet below the city...

whats Honda's answer to this mess theyve found themselves in!? Im sure there are alot of emails with words like "limited low price edition" , "i-DTEC Diesel" , "Honda Small", "Odyssey" moving back and forth!

Last edited by acidkill : 11th August 2010 at 23:33.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:31   #39

Want the full test report?
Are you putting it up today? Should I stay up?
Old 11th August 2010, 23:37   #40

I am glad that I had booked a Diesel highline last month very soon after the initial launch. I had booked it on the condition it was 100% refundable in case I was not happy with the TD of the car. The ET news channel was reporting that VW would start delivering the cars from 6th September. Will get in touch with dealer to find out when the TD vehicle would be available.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:40   #41

After the hatchback crowd, the fun starts in the mid-size arena, and vento is the only car which looks upmarket worthy of taking fight to ANHC. So waiting eagerly for the Vento test report,GTO.
This is an interesting product in one of the anticipated category.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:40   #42

I think the car is properly priced. Its amazing - Honda has priced the City so ridiculously high that appropriate prices now seem like 'killer' deals.

I do think the difference between the Highline MT & AT could have been narrower - say abt 75 - 80K at best instead of the current 1 lakh approx.

@GTO: I hope your TD has some specific focus on the AT as well and lots of comparitive notes with the City.

All in all though given the current pricing landscape thanks to Honda, VW has done the job well on the pricing front !!

If anyone gets hold of on road prices Mumbai please do post these as well.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:42   #43

6.99 for a 1.6 L sedan is damn neat....Its so within reach !

Man, for once I feel I should have waited just a wee bit more and just maybe I would have bought my first big car instead of a hatchback !
Old 11th August 2010, 23:46   #44

1.6L Petrol Highline : 823,500
Now this is the car I want to TD! 8.23L for a loaded German sedan is insane. I hope long waiting periods don't play spoilsport here.

Want the full test report?
Just hit the 'Submit' button, will ya. Or are we waiting till midnight?

Last edited by Gilead : 11th August 2010 at 23:50.
Old 11th August 2010, 23:50   #45

That is really a sweet price. Many will just gobble up this car at this prices. VW - you have done a superb job.

Full test report is due now GTO