Old 12th August 2010, 10:03   #91

What's everyone going ga ga about? This illustrates once again how we as consumers are being taken for rides.
If we need to spend close to 10 large ones to get a semblance of features, and then are forced to buy a sedan to boot, it is clearly a case of the manufacturer creating the divides.
If VW were serious, the 1.6 hatch would not be the same with just a different engine. At that cost, it makes more sense to go for the Trendline Vento petrol instead.
Even the Vento has failed to rectify certain omissions : even the Auto doesnt have a dead pedal. And there still seems to be no sign of a USB/Aux in.
The Fabia has a boot light for crissakes. Why does one have to buy the sedan to get it in the VW?

Last edited by crackingride : 12th August 2010 at 10:05.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:04   #92

GTO, giving us this little piece of cheese to get all excited & then not posting !!!??? Yeh acha nahin hai !!

Waiting & waiting & waiting some more for "the review" !

This is going to be a game changer. Though in the Petrol version I think the ANHC will outpace & outperform the Vento. It is the diesel version which will be worth looking at !! It is the 25kg torque that has me all worked up. Hopefully the diesels will be as fuel efficient or better than it's competition.

Cheerzzz
Old 12th August 2010, 10:08   #93

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
Exactly on what grounds are they putting these respective cars to shame? Civic is a much bigger and a more powerful car, Vento is not even in the same league!
Spoke too soon I guess; the tech spec is what I meant, but even then, Civic & Cruze are more powered (132 & 150) compared to 100+ ps of Vento. Probably Verna should be more apt for the competition.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:09   #94

Yeah wish the diesels are more efficient just like the Polo.
And now i feel the premium factor attached to VW is coming down.
It's now truly becoming a folks wagon.
VW is on it's way in understanding the mindset of Indian folks.
Killer pricing i would say.
Eagerly waiting more details.
By the way when is it getting launched officially for bookings ?
Old 12th August 2010, 10:15   #95

Hopefully a good handling package coupled with decent power!

In that case, the ANHC definitely slips out of the list of cars I would consider. Just want to see how the Linea T-Jet performs against the Vento.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:15   #96

I saw the car (most probably the same car ) that GTO is talking about. Though I know looks are subjective but I liked the front straight lines that the car has to offer. It did look a mean machine to me.

The black and Beige interior quality and the finish looked good but was a little bland. (maybe I am used to seeing the same in my Aveo again and again)

I have a couple of pics of the car but I have a feeling GTO will be coming up with something special again hence will refrain from posting them in this thread

I'm standing next to a production white VW Vento in North India right now.
. GTO if you still in "the City in North India" would love to meet you.

Old 12th August 2010, 10:19   #97

Happy :)

Happy. Really Happy!

More options for the buyer now. And well priced too!

Kudos to VW!
Old 12th August 2010, 10:21   #98

Originally Posted by deky View Post
I saw the car (most probably the same car ) that GTO is talking about. Though I know looks are subjective but I liked the front straight lines that the car has to offer. It did look a mean machine to me.

The black and Beige interior quality and the finish looked good but was a little bland. (maybe I am used to seeing the same in my Aveo again and again)

I have a couple of pics of the car but I have a feeling GTO will be coming up with something special again hence will refrain from posting them in this thread

. GTO if you still in "the City in North India" would love to meet you.

hey derky,do you mean the car has arrived at sanghi VW jaipur.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:23   #99

1.6L Diesel Highline : 923,500

This means the Onroad price will be less than or around 10 Lacs. Seems to be good for car with good diesel engine.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:24   #100

WOW ! now that's sensible pricing for me! Within most people's realistic expectations ( including mine ) Well Done VW. Selling a prospective good product at a great price implies striking gold in the market! I hope it sells really well so Honda looses complacency ! Theyv gotten highly annoying !
Old 12th August 2010, 10:25   #101

Booking started at Chennai. Amount is 75000/-

Display car available at Radisson. Will be available in show room after 2 days or a week.

Waiting time (max) is 2 months

All info above is oral and given by salesman

NOTE: Polo wait time is still 3 months and confirmed by same salesman. He said its expected to come down

Last edited by druva : 12th August 2010 at 10:28. Reason: added note about polo
Old 12th August 2010, 10:25   #102

Originally Posted by montoo View Post
hey derky,do you mean the car has arrived at sanghi VW jaipur.
I dont know if today it has arrived there but yesterday evening it was displayed at a hotel in Jaipur and coincidentally it was a white one too that GTO has mentioned.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:31   #103

Where are they going to position the Polo 1.6 in terms of pricing ?

6.99 L is killer but it's the base version and could be deprived of features.

But yes - the City is going to get a shock of it's life !

Time to line up for the Polo 1.6 ----- GTO, do update with the 1.6 Polo TD asap.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:38   #104

As per the specification it seems, only the HighLine offers the VFM on both petrol and diesel. However, Vento will get rid of CITY, Fiesta ,SX4 and Verna for sure.Let's conclude everything after reading our GTO's review.
Old 12th August 2010, 10:51   #105

Great pricing and position by VW.
Now the ANHC and Verna will feel the heat.
by specificetion / price...seems that, still the SX4 is VFM car.