Old 28th February 2011, 13:10   #391

Re: SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)

Originally Posted by neerajtrehon View Post
some disheartening news though... friend of mine also confirmed that the front isvery "sumo-ish" and the back resembles a banged up indica .... am not sure of the last bit though ......
I can contradict this in all possible ways, as my source had actually worked on this project . Its quite different than the Sumo or Sumo Grande; the rear definitely misses the spare wheel and will depend on the final styling bits (plastics) they put on the rear. But one thing is sure that its much better than a 'banged up indica'.
Old 7th March 2011, 18:20   #392

Originally Posted by AutoNoob View Post
I can contradict this in all possible ways, as my source had actually worked on this project . Its quite different than the Sumo or Sumo Grande; the rear definitely misses the spare wheel and will depend on the final styling bits (plastics) they put on the rear. But one thing is sure that its much better than a 'banged up indica'.

I sure hope you contact is right... ... Any confirmation on the first 2 items though?
Old 8th March 2011, 08:35   #393

Originally Posted by dr.abhijeet View Post
whats with the bulge on the bonnet??
Thats just the wind under the cloth. I too has the same question on my mind initially till I saw the shape changing in the pics. Since the vehicle was moving the wind was getting into the cover giving it a bulge
Old 8th March 2011, 08:48   #394

Originally Posted by neerajtrehon View Post
Got some info from a very very reliable source....

1) The Merlin will be out by June End
2) Price range will be 10-13 lacs for all models

some disheartening news though... friend of mine also confirmed that the front isvery "sumo-ish" and the back resembles a banged up indica .... am not sure of the last bit though ......
If the above info is correct .Then The pricing department has gone nuts in Tata.

They seem to have started living on cloud 9 after the JLR acquisition, First the Aria and Now this.
Old 9th March 2011, 21:08   #395

Here is another rendering of Merlin. This is from SRK - IAB.

Old 9th March 2011, 21:14   #396

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
If the above info is correct .Then The pricing department has gone nuts in Tata.

They seem to have started living on cloud 9 after the JLR acquisition, First the Aria and Now this.
Exactly! The Aria which was one of the most eagerly expected cars in India was simply overpriced to say the least. I was looking forward to the launch of the Aria and i am sure like me, it has come like a really big disappointment.
The current Safari which starts at 7.75 lacs, sounds like a really good option. But with the new merlin if it is priced between 10-11 lacs, I think they will lose many of the potential Safari buyers.

And even the TASS is not as reliable as other companies like Maruti. The should seriously reconsider their pricing.
Old 9th March 2011, 21:23   #397

SRK'sMerlin rendering is some what reminding previous 3.0L Dicor grill. Merlin can be felt afresh only if its interior quality, comfort and safety features are enhanced substantially in line with Aria as compared to existing Safari.

OT:
I am disappointed With TATA on thier ARIA for two things 1) 2-3 lakhs over pricing across all variants 2) NO Automatic transmission yet.

Tata must do a price correction and provide A/T on Aria as option on all variants.

TATA must start the trend in Indian auto industry to offer its customers to have an option to choose Automatic transmission. Only TATA can change the market dynamics being a true indian company.
Old 10th March 2011, 12:41   #398

^^^
Yeah ,and having the widest complete range.
It's ridiculous to see that they are the (maybe)only company not to give an A/T option in at least one car.
To me the SRK IAB rendering seems just a current Safari with new brash grille and new bumper. Even the most visible change in the scoop pics; the headlight is not shown in the rendering.
Old 11th March 2011, 17:22   #399

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
^^^
It's ridiculous to see that they are the (maybe)only company not to give an A/T option in at least one car.
Whoa! That is so true except maybe trade partner FIAT but they too have 500 and Bravo.

Last edited by akhilesh51 : 11th March 2011 at 17:23.
Old 22nd April 2011, 20:28   #400

Found this on the web, dont know if someone has already posted these.. if so then mods please do delete the post.

Plus if you feel that i may have infringed on copyright laws please delete as well thanks .

Pics and more info in the below link:

2012 Tata Safari Merlin: New spy shots and info!

The front looks sharp and boxy like the land rovers of today

SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)-tata1.jpg

SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)-tata2.jpg

SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)-tata3.jpg

This pic below kinda reminds me of the BMW X3

SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)-tata4.jpg

All in all i guess we wont be getting an all new safari after all, just a facelifted one. lets hope there are more drastic changes under the body than there are outside it. (Suspension, brakes, steering upgrades please Mr. Ratan Tata)

Last edited by amrisharm : 22nd April 2011 at 20:33.
Old 22nd April 2011, 20:34   #401

From the pictures posted above, its appearing to be a big let down. I wish they could ape a few things off the landrover stable.Afterall , aren't they legally allowed to be 'inspired' by Jag designs?
Old 22nd April 2011, 21:34   #402

@amrisharm, the pics you have posted have been posted earlier. Also, the link which you have provided is about 4 months old.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 22:16   #403

Originally Posted by condor View Post
@amrisharm, the pics you have posted have been posted earlier. Also, the link which you have provided is about 4 months old.
Oops my bad. Did not realise the new safari had been re-christened the Tata Merlin. For others like me who are not yet aware of this, here is the link below. I know

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...placement.html

Last edited by amrisharm : 22nd April 2011 at 22:17.
Old 12th May 2011, 07:03   #404

While on the way to Pune Airport yesterday, I saw this car parked on the side of the road. I definitely think this is the New Safari / Merlin as I saw the same car an hour before taking this picture when it was flying in the opposite direction preceded by two Manzas and followed by two Arias all with temporary registration numbers.
SCOOP Pics: Next Generation Tata Safari(Pg 8 for new pics)-new-tata-safari.jpg  

Old 12th May 2011, 10:33   #405

No this not like the new SAFARI.
I think it may be the new Mahindra SUV or Force SUV. ( i may be wrong )
The wheel is different.