Old 25th November 2005, 16:44   #16
F50

Originally Posted by Dippy

Skoda Sophiya
This is one car Drifter would love to buy!!!
Old 25th November 2005, 16:44   #17

I want what Skoda's smoking...
Old 25th November 2005, 17:12   #18
Max

sheesh, laura if pronounced in Hindhi is not the GOOD word.

They should have higherd some Advertising agency to find suitable name.

well, I heard humour Intel paid 5 millions to a company to search for its processor name. Condition was name should not be vulgar in all religions and communities on earth and should not discuss or heart anyone's feelings.

After extensive research and all they came up with Pentium.
Old 25th November 2005, 17:20   #19
Joz

This car will soon find its name featured among the popular case studies on branding blunders in the car industry - with the likes of Chevy Nova in Latin America, Pajero in Spain, Ford Pinto in Brazil.

With even Autocar pointing this out, i am sure the guys at Skoda are well aware now. Wonder if they would change the name.... its still not too late.
Old 25th November 2005, 17:26   #20

Originally Posted by Boom Shiva
I want what Skoda's smoking...
My PJ: And i want her. The one with skoda

I hope its a rumour..things should not go wrong for Skoda after all this hardwork..

Another PJ and am unstoppable today

Morpheus asks..Neil! what did Oracle say abt Skoda's Laura ..tell me
Old 25th November 2005, 17:33   #21

Originally Posted by Joz
This car will soon find its name featured among the popular case studies on branding blunders in the car industry - with the likes of Chevy Nova in Latin America, Pajero in Spain, Ford Pinto in Brazil.

With even Autocar pointing this out, i am sure the guys at Skoda are well aware now. Wonder if they would change the name.... its still not too late.
Laura sure will find a place on the book of blunders. Even if they change the name to something else, there is still the issue with pricing. I'd rather buy a Honda Accord V6 for that price.
Old 25th November 2005, 18:10   #22

Maybe George W. has considerable influence over Skoda India.
18 lakhs and they dont even offer standard leather upholstery. (I have seen a test vehicle with cloth interiors.).
Old 25th November 2005, 18:17   #23

Originally Posted by sajo
Maybe George W. has considerable influence over Skoda India.
18 lakhs and they dont even offer standard leather upholstery. (I have seen a test vehicle with cloth interiors.).
maybe coz it was a test car. at 18 and no leather ! no way!

had to edit coz....i read read my post !

18, no leather and her name is Laura!

Last edited by jkdas : 25th November 2005 at 18:19.
Old 25th November 2005, 18:21   #24

Originally Posted by Max

After extensive research and all they came up with Pentium.
eggsactly. The conv would be more like....

a: "which car dude..?"
b."laura.."
c."abey nahin batana to mat bata, gaali mat de"

Dope does not cut it - its ignorance!

Last edited by zenx : 25th November 2005 at 18:23. Reason: forgot the spl effects
Old 25th November 2005, 18:26   #25

Originally Posted by Max

Originally Posted by zenx
eggsactly. The conv would be more like....

a: "which car dude..?"
b."laura.."
c."abey nahin batana to mat bata, gaali mat de"

Dope does not cut it - its ignorance!

Hey please stop this guys!!.. i just cant laughing... arent we going wayyy off topic here..
Old 25th November 2005, 18:29   #26

16.9 lac for the top end version not the base .

Haha , thats what i did first when i was told the name "Laura" from one of the Skoda officials on phone recently .

However guys , i haven't read the dec ACI yet but i ve all the information you guys are looking for :

1) Yes the new A5 ll be known as the Skoda Laura .

2) It ll be priced at 16.9 lac (x showroom ) New delhi .

3) This is NOT going to be the base version ,it ll be the TOP END version and 'll ve all the goodies you find in the current octavia L&K ALONG WITH MANY MORE which were unheard of ....

4) Engine displacement : 1896 cc (PD) shelling out 103/4 bhp .

Now this is the best of all :

5) The car 'll be having the DSG GEARBOX ,not the plain manual .

And after the launch of this version , Skoda India ll soon be bringing the lower end versions .
For eg , the manual version of the above would cost you atleast 1 lac cheaper than the DSG Gearbox .

Well, i ve heard a lot about the fabolous VW DSG Gearbox espically from our own Team-bhpian "Amit" and he is the right person who can tell us more about the same .

Where are you buddy and what do you say , is "Skoda Laura" worth the sticker price cos after all it belongs to the same VW family .....

Last edited by Beemer : 25th November 2005 at 18:35.
Old 25th November 2005, 19:54   #27

hmm so its gonna be aroun 16 lacs huh...well i would say still too much for a skoda....accord or camry anyone????? anways they better get the new gen accord really soon here...why does honda do this all the time....!
Old 25th November 2005, 20:47   #28

Just like HH Karizma is derived from Karishma Kapoor, Laura is derived from Lara Dutta. Definetly the HH guy jumped ship to Skoda.
Old 25th November 2005, 21:32   #29

This is what happens when you rest on your Laurels....

Nice jokes, guys - if this is a lemon we'll soon have more of these floating around.

Beemer - if Skoda plans to sell the older model alongside there's NO WAY they can maintain the prices you've mentioned. If not, then 16.9 for the Top Variant makes a bit ot sense because the base model will probably start at 14....
Old 25th November 2005, 21:43   #30

Originally Posted by Beemer
4) Engine displacement : 1896 cc (PD) shelling out 103/4 bhp
This is still the old 1.9 Octy engine with a PD type injection, torquey but more noisy. At least they should have given the new 2.0 16V engine. Not worth the money. Anybody know which petrol engine we are getting.