![]() | #91 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Not excatly. The i20 was always selling above 4k units average, and after the introduction of the diesel variants, has always been 6k+ units a month. And btw, none of the diesels are in the 5-6 lac range, the base era is 6+ OTR. Quote:
![]() An d i really dont think its hard for manufacturers to find out what sells here, a good diesel hatch with a good engine, and decent FE will sell well, provided the A.S.S is decent, and the car is sanely priced. As ford has found out with the figo. If you are charging a premium, the Indian consumer is willing to pay it, provided the car has the equipment, fit n finish and good support, like Hyundai has done with the i20. Fiat provided an average car, with below par quality and doubtful A.S.S, the result of which is shown in the sales figures. If Fiat wants to grow in India, it should improve its A.S.S, and most importantly, quality. | ||
![]() |
|
![]() | #92 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: Cochin/Bangalore
| ![]() Well said Jay!!!! I wonder why people are surprised to see the i20 sell. @vsk2009- Your opinion on your fellow countrymen seems to be very bad. IMO the people buy what they want according to certain parameters they set. If that means they are ignorant, then God BLESS!! Please tell me which cars according to you should be selling more and why. |
![]() |
![]() | #93 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: chandigarh
| ![]() I'm quite surprised with wagon R's numbers. They keep going up each month. Now if Maruti introduces Wagon R (K10) Duo that will increase the figures by another 10-15%. I seriously think maruti should introduce diesel engine option in wagon R (Fiat's 1.2 ltr anyone?) and price it a segment lower than ritz and swift, i.e. around Rs 4.5 lacs,that would set the cat amongst the pigeons, Vista and figo! |
![]() |
![]() | #94 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Reg i20's "surprise" sales numbers, as a former Hyundai owner, I have always been delighted by their service mentality coupled with availability and price of spares. The main issue I had with them is that they tend to produce "boring" cars, bar the Accent (which remains my first love!) With the i20, they have successfully tackled even that malaise. I am thrilled for them. Let it be a warning to other manufacturers not to take their consumers for granted. |
![]() |
![]() | #95 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2009 Location: Thrissur
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() |
![]() | #96 | |||||||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Sure is. However, not by the margin that we had predicted. Fact is, the Cruze is proving to be a formidable competitor despite a brand that doesn't come anywhere close, and only a single engine (versus the petrol & diesel options in the Altis). The rumoured upcoming Cruze petrol will only widen the Chevy's appeal. Quote:
I am also (pleasantly) surprised, primarily due to the i20's premium pricing. 6+ lakh rupee hatchbacks have never really met with such success in a market that has traditionally thought of equivalently priced "sedans" as being superior to "hatchbacks". The i20 gives the buyer the quality, space, equipment and after-sales experience that he is looking for. | |||||||
![]() |
![]() | #97 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
Here in Chennai a major Hyundai dealer doesn't even have petrol i20 TD car and yet manages to sell around 40 units per month!!! If people make a decision after a TD, Chevy Uva 1.2 will steal 30% of the i20 sales, atleast in the metros. Believe me, UVA does everthing better than i20 including a class leading AC, rear seats with centre arm rests, plus a super silent cabin. And why is it selling only 200 units ? Don't tell me Chevy *** is an issue. They offer 3 year cashfree ownership. The dead steering is not hype sir. it's the truth. Last edited by Daewood : 4th October 2010 at 11:38. | |
![]() |
![]() | #98 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Coimbatore
| ![]() Expected rally on the Alto front! Surprised to see the numbers for Bolero Are the Volkswagen people still yet to stabilize their production line. they have pretty big waiting list, not capitalizing on their orders is a sad thing. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #99 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: Pune
| ![]() Yep i agree. However must say that most of the people i have met who drove an i20 and punto would say that ," i20 steering is smooth and better" ![]() The smoothness is referred to how easy you can wrigle out in a b2b traffic where a spot can be lost in a nanosecond. |
![]() |
![]() | #100 |
BANNED Join Date: May 2007 Location: BLR MCT
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() I am not sure if this has already been answered in the thread. The 30k+ for the Alto, is there a breakup of the 800cc and the 1L engine sales? looks like a 66%(800cc) 34%(1000cc) split in sales. |
![]() |
![]() | #101 |
BANNED Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Bengalooru
| ![]() +1 and ![]() ![]() Another under-selling car is Jazz. Its time for Honda to get 1.4 Jazz and steal the thunder from i20. |
![]() |
![]() | #102 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
1.4 will not help Jazz sales in any which way. The 1.2 engine of the Jazz is best-in-class. It is extremely smooth and adequately powerful. The only reason Jazz does not sell is the price. Nothing else! Mind you the 1.2 motor of the I20 is no great performer. People do not buy the I20 for its power. Last edited by adimicra : 4th October 2010 at 14:44. | |
![]() |
![]() | #103 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Can we have the petrol/diesel split of all the models? |
![]() |
![]() | #104 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | ![]() Small correction in the Micra numbers. They've been updated to 1,183 (from the earlier 1,170). Only about 1/3rd, some cities & towns even less. Then, out of those who do test-drive, how many know *what* to look out for? Cars in India sell on brand / looks / reputation more than anything else. Of course, we can argue that how a vehicle performs (over a short / long ownership period) builds its reputation. Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #105 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |