View Poll Results: How would you spend your 30 lakhs?
Brand new C Class, 3 Series or A4 58 17.26%
Pre-worshipped E Class, 5 Series or A6 36 10.71%
An assortment of cars and / or bikes 214 63.69%
Other (please specify in your post) 28 8.33%
Voters: 336. You may not vote on this poll

Old 27th October 2010, 16:57   #121

A fully loaded Honda Jazz, and a worshipped OHC VTEC (something along the lines of what GTO had). Invest the rest in a house so that I've a parking space for more than one car, and use the rest of the money I've left for the maintenance and upgrade costs for the two. I guess I'd love to give the Cruze a try too, but that would push the budget over 30... but, when I can afford a garage worth 30L, just wonder about the amount of loan I'd be eligible for...

Last edited by kanuj : 27th October 2010 at 17:06.
Old 27th October 2010, 23:57   #122

Although I Voted for New BMW 3 series. But surely a cocktail of cars is definitely more sensible.

1) Ford Figo 1.4D (mid Variant) - For short trips nearby,Family. (5L)
2) Vento Diesel Highline + Powerbox +16" (10L+1=11L) Just for me. Regular use.
3) Laura 1.8 TSi 6speed manual. (14L) Only when the Mood Kicks.
Old 28th October 2010, 00:00   #123

This is a bit unconventional,but I would go and get a pre-worshipped 1998 Jaguar XKR.

I genuinely love that thing and I would die of happiness if I could buy one...
Old 28th October 2010, 10:30   #124

I would pick either of them, in order of preference.
  1. BMW 320d.
  2. Laura DSG + Scorpio AT 4wd.
  3. Laura TSi + a diesel hatch + a Superbike.
  4. BMW CE + Thar/Gypsy.
  5. Superb TSi + Scorpio SLE.
  6. Vento + Fortuner.
  7. Vento + Endeavour AT.

Last edited by .anshuman : 28th October 2010 at 10:32.
Old 28th October 2010, 10:55   #125

An assortment would be good:

1) A Pre worshipped Skoda RS- 5 Lacs
2) Brand New Fiat Linea MJD - 9 Lacs
3) Kawasaki Ninja New - 3 Lacs
4) Tata Safari - 8 Lacs
5) TVS Apache RTR 180 - 0.8 Lacs

Balance on Maintenance and Fuel bills.

I would prefer a mix and match of cars from all sectors--Sedans(Prefer them over Hatch), SUV and a good powerful Bike for long drives. The RTR for short local trips.
Old 28th October 2010, 11:10   #126

My 2 bits worth....

Thanks for this opportunity to visit dreamland.... My garage would be:

1. Honda Unicorn (for daily use) - Rs. 65,000
2. Yamaha RD 350 modified as a cafe racer - (Rs. 2,00,00 approx)
3. Ducati GT 1000 - Rs. 12,00,000
4. Honda Civic 1.8 iVtec - Rs. 15,00,000

....now to get back to work....
Old 28th October 2010, 11:51   #127

BMW 3 series 320d
OR
Harley Night ROD
Old 28th October 2010, 14:15   #128

By Chance I already have the same Garage:

1 Brand new Corolla Altis: ~ 14 Lakhs
Second Hand Grand Vitara AT ~ 8 Lakhs
One MM 55O XDP ~ 3 Lakhs

That makes 25 Lakhs

Now with another 5 lakhs remaining I'd like

a good Second hand Wagon R for 2-3 Lakhs
And a Gypsy 4x4 Mpfi for ~ Rs 3 lakhs.
EDIT: and last if I save 5O thousand then a good second hand black Bullet bike

Last edited by Ym-enjn : 28th October 2010 at 14:20.
Old 28th October 2010, 14:44   #129

30 lakhs, hmmm.........
1. i have got to have the superb dsg (pre owned) - 2009 model (15lakhs).
2. pre owned civic MT (6 lakhs). then mod it with all the goodies (4 lakhs)
3. pre owned litre superbike(5 lakhs - probably have to wait another 3 years before it fits the expected price).
Most importantly, somebody tell me from where am i going to get that 30 lakhs. damn these dreams.....so close, yet so far.
Old 28th October 2010, 14:57   #130

I choose C. My mix will be:

1. Royal Enfield C500 - 1.5 lakhs
2. Used Accord - 6-8 lakhs
3. Tata Safari 4x4 - 12 lakhs
4. Swift -5 lakhs

rest of the money for accessories and maintenance
Old 28th October 2010, 16:44   #131

Option C:
1. Pre-worshipped Laura 1.8 TSI (For Sunday mornings)
2. Pre-worshipped X-Trail (For mile munching)
3. i10 Auto (For wifey)

Retain my STD350 and start restoring the Pearl Yamaha
Take 500D Volvo to work (Those who commute on ORR daily will know what a bliss this option would be)
Old 28th October 2010, 16:49   #132

First of all thanks to the moderator for such a nice thread to start.

In a 30 L budget i would like to have the

1) The hottest hatchback possible - So that even easy to move in traffic with attention, power & style.

2) Would like to have a Jeep originally restored but slightly modified for practical use.

3) A 500cc/600cc+ Sports bike for commuting in free-revving mood.

4) A Type 2 Honda City modified as Jitu Suri has i would envy that.
or a massive SUV to conquer both on road & off road fun.

This would be an ideal 30L garage BTW have procured item 1 & 2 waiting-searching for a suitable item 3 & 4 also.
Old 28th October 2010, 17:33   #133

My choice would be

Used BMW 320d
New Honda Jazz (8L)
Royal Enfield Classic 500 (1.5L)
Upcoming Honda CBR250R (2L)
Old 28th October 2010, 17:51   #134

the only car i would buy if i have 30 lacs is a 1 or 2 years old BMW 530D and add it to my existing garage. OR maybe a Toyota Prado
Old 28th October 2010, 18:13   #135

What is the world is a pre-worshiped car ?
Its not an term I've seen in the industry.

Anyway here is my list.
  • RD 350
  • RXZ - with engine/gearbox from its Malaysian avatar.
  • YZF-250
  • A single seater (LGB Swift ? Rolon will be too exp I guess)
  • Nano
  • Fiesta 1.6S + tarox + miltec exhaust
  • Ninja 250 (but Preferably a Yamaha twin available in India)
  • Xenon/Scorpio - with Bilstein's + a tuning box
  • MM550 with Power Steering and A/C
+ and old Beamer or Merc if I can get one.