View Poll Results: How would you spend your 30 lakhs?
Brand new C Class, 3 Series or A4 58 17.26%
Pre-worshipped E Class, 5 Series or A6 36 10.71%
An assortment of cars and / or bikes 214 63.69%
Other (please specify in your post) 28 8.33%
Voters: 336. You may not vote on this poll

Old 25th October 2010, 15:23   #31
MCR

I would like a mix of vehicles;
1. A Ford Endeavour / Captiva for family usage (18 L).
2. A Pre-worshipped Honda Civic (8L).
3. A Tata Nano Lx for utilitarian needs (2L).
4. 2 lacs cash kitty for ICE + services + other needs.
Old 25th October 2010, 15:23   #32

Thanks GTO, for opening a relevant debate at the right time!!
voted for option C.

i would buy a mix of new and pre-worshipped cars/bikes.

1> Pre-Worshipped Civic-2008~ 10 lacs-for the occ. long-distance trip
2>New ford Figo TDCI-Titanium~ 6 lacs -workhorse/city use
3>New i10 Automatic~6 lacs -for the wife
4>New Tata Nano ~ 2 lacs - for city use when parking's a headache
5>pre-worshipped superbike~ 6 lacs - balm for the soul

I think i've got all my bases covered!!
Old 25th October 2010, 15:24   #33

Option C

My present garage pretty much says it all !! (let's leave out the A4, shall we)

01. Pajero for the SUV forever feeling
02. Turbo Charged Swift for the fun & city use
03. W 124 - always wanted it
04. Skoda Octavia - Workhorse, low fuel bill, built like a tank to transport the kids

Old 25th October 2010, 15:29   #34

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Im sorry but it would only be one car for me. If I have one nice car sitting in my garage I would not be able to convince myself to use the inferior car.

>>>

A Desert Island thread - terrific for day dreaming.
Agree with akshay, impossible to force myself to drive the inferior one.

Here's my short list ( option C, obviously) for Bombay, to go with what I have curently:

1. Used 530d/A4 3.0 TDI ( for driving and doing Bombay-Delhi in a day)
2. New Indica Vista petrol (for the milk/vegetable runs)

Hang on, but how to get hold of those two additional parking slots?

Old 25th October 2010, 15:29   #35

I choose option C

And my shopping cart will have the following:
1. A pre-owned convertible like a Mazda Miata/Toyota MR2 Spyder (~8 lacs)
2. A well maintained/restored classic OR modern classic like a VW Beetle OR W-124 respectively (~7 lacs)
3. A brand new Mitsubishi Cedia Sport in Yellow. Period. (~11 lacs)

Now let me see which banks have the dumbest security provisions!
Old 25th October 2010, 15:32   #36

I always had bought second hand cars
My wish list goes like this

Elantra or optra magnum Diesel which i currently own for trumping most germans on highway ( petes box of course) ( 5 - 6.5 Lakhs)
Captiva to get the SUV feel ( 10 lakhs)
Turbo charged petrol swift ( 5 lakhs- after mods)
Old Accord with body kit (9 to 10 lakhs)
Alto for wife

That will probably be my ideal garage
Old 25th October 2010, 15:49   #37

I chose option C and here's the list:

1. Used current gen Honda CRV 2.4 - 16L (we are talking b'lore here okay!):- A mile muncher and a great driver's car, good for touring.
2. Brand new Fiesta 1.6S - 9L :- maximum bang for buck, ideal vehicle for driving to work and short journeys over the weekend
3. Used palio 1.6 GTX - 2L :- good for mods and thrashing

That sums up to 27L. The balance 3L, I'll use up for buying fuel for all these guzzlers!
Old 25th October 2010, 15:50   #38

My vote will be always for option C.
My wish list will be:
1. Ford Endeavour (18L) (Brand new)
2. Tata Nano LX (2L) (Brand new)
3. Premier Padmini 137D (around 50K) (used)
4. Mahindra MM550 4x4 XDP (around 3L) (used)
5. Yamaha R15 (1.1L) (Brand new)
6. Yamaha RX100 (around 30K) (used)
7. Suzuki Access 125 (60K) (Brand new)
8. Remaining money for restoration of Padmini & MM550 & also ICE in Endeavor & Nano.
(This will be my ideal dream garage)
Old 25th October 2010, 15:51   #39

Assortment seems to be the preferred flavor for TBhp.

A two year old BMW 525i (18L). Mind blowing drop. Just had to let it go for my cousin wanted it more than me, he bought it. Next time it will be me.

ANHC Daily driver need to trick it soon. (10)

Because I am dreaming, I can get a liter superbike or even a SUV for distance travel
Old 25th October 2010, 16:02   #40

Here is my wish list.

Ford GPW-5L
Isuzu Trooper-5L
LR Defender-5L
Land Cruiser ( 60-70 series)- 5L
Nissan Patrol (Y60)-5L
Mitsubishi Pajero (First Gen-LWB)-5L

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 25th October 2010 at 16:02. Reason: Edit
Old 25th October 2010, 16:07   #41

Originally Posted by Ash_vtec View Post
@PlatzdaTurbo: Not a fan of the used car/bike scene i see Some good offers do come up once in a way...
That is exactly why i said improvise
Why opt for a used one when i am more than happy with a smaller car with the same engine ? (Laura) especially when it helps me get that juicy 1000cc bike.

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
The A4 was only a bit smoother riding on the road. + you get bragging rights, same engine as a Q7.
eh ? 3.2 ? Not really. The Q7 3.0tfsi petrol comes with a supercharged 300~hp unit. The one on the 3.2tfsi on the other hand is an older (comparatively) 265hp unit.
Old 25th October 2010, 16:07   #42

A pre cared Mitsubishi Outlander, for extended family trips and outstation drives.
A Honda Jazz for in city runs
A Premier Padmini - would love to buy back the one I sold in a hurry
A Yezdi Roadking for me on lone weekends.
A Bajaj Avenger for office commute - eco friendly and and hassle free.
Old 25th October 2010, 16:10   #43

Had I 30 Lakhs to spend,

1. Used ANHC (AT) - (I'm guessing for around 6-7 lakhs)
2. i10 (AT) - 6 lakhs

Both reliable and long lasting cars. Had the Fortuner come in AT and Petrol, I would have definitely put it on this list.

As for the rest of the money, I'd keep it for mods, ICE, upkeeps costs etc.
Old 25th October 2010, 16:18   #44

Voted for option C.

My list -
- a pre-worshipped Honda Accord V6. Surprised no one mentioned it.
- a pre-worshipped Honda Jazz
- a pre-worshipped Toyota Fortuner
Old 25th October 2010, 16:19   #45

voted for option c
1 used toyota fortuner if i can get one for family and my leh trip with family
2. punto 90 bhp or honda jazz city car and for wifey
3. kawasaki 650r which i hope is coming next year. for my occasional long rides to the hills