Old 27th September 2011, 10:16   #916

re: Tata Merlin - Safari replacement? *UPDATE* Uncovered Pics on Pg 90

Center pin has been a source of financial woe and metal grief for lot of safari owners
Was the 'Metal' grief an unintentional pun?

That apart, I am still curious as to why Pal says it will not do numbers despite the numerous improvements. I understand the "flat-out over bad roads" thing will reduce and this is more like a soft-roader.
Old 27th September 2011, 11:08   #917

Originally Posted by n.devdath
By ARB do you mean ARB lockers or ARB sourced differentials?
I think he means Anti-Roll Bars at the front and rear. Pal, correct me if you meant differently.
Old 27th September 2011, 11:36   #918

It is disappointing to hear that suspension travel has reduced. Comfort over bad roads was the USP of Safari.

Other improvements are definitely great. Guess Merlin will also get the dual mass fly wheel thingy.
Old 27th September 2011, 12:03   #919

Originally Posted by architect View Post
That apart, I am still curious as to why Pal says it will not do numbers despite the numerous improvements...
I think only a completely new product will help improve sales for Safari. The planned improvements in Merlin will only help in meeting and maintaining possibly 1.5/2k units per month figures but not more than that. With most of the shape of the vehicle still retained Merlin launch will only be looked as a minor refresh inspite of multiple mechanical improvements, new chasis, etc.

Last edited by the VTEC guy : 27th September 2011 at 12:05.
the VTEC guy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th September 2011, 12:28   #920

Umm I am a bit worried with @PAL saying the new one won't do numbers.

I hope Tatas are not repeating the Sumo blunders

Old 27th September 2011, 13:11   #921

Originally Posted by Pal View Post
I wish i could've given it all before, but since its so close to launch, here's my 2 bit:
What about the so called vent / protusion above the window behind the C pillar ? does that exist ? what is it for ?

Last edited by benbsb29 : 27th September 2011 at 16:15. Reason: Long post quote not required.
Old 27th September 2011, 14:18   #922

Originally Posted by sahakar View Post
Umm I am a bit worried with @PAL saying the new one won't do numbers.

I hope Tatas are not repeating the Sumo blunders

even the current one is not doing the numbers right? I think Merlin will be slightly better in terms of sales thats it.
Old 27th September 2011, 14:41   #923

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
even the current one is not doing the numbers right? I think Merlin will be slightly better in terms of sales thats it.
The current one is actually on life support. Merlin or whatever successor should have been here long time back.

Its actually a compliment to the Safari that its still managing the numbers that it is.

I hope Tatas have some plan. There's no reason why a better Safari should not match or better Scorpio numbers at the least.

Old 27th September 2011, 14:51   #924

The Safari is doing the best numbers of its career this past year. It will not do the Scorpio numbers as its only a proper 5 seater thus only brought by private buyers. Taxi/fleet operators do not see Safari as a practical option and in a way thats a good thing.
Old 27th September 2011, 15:16   #925

The current one is actually on life support. Merlin or whatever successor should have been here long time back.

Its actually a compliment to the Safari that its still managing the numbers that it is.

I hope Tatas have some plan. There's no reason why a better Safari should not match or better Scorpio numbers at the least.

In my honest opinion, i think Merlin will be super flop.

Originally Posted by shortbread View Post
The Safari is doing the best numbers of its career this past year. It will not do the Scorpio numbers as its only a proper 5 seater thus only brought by private buyers. Taxi/fleet operators do not see Safari as a practical option and in a way thats a good thing.
Exactly, agree with you.
Old 27th September 2011, 15:47   #926

Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
In my honest opinion, i think Merlin will be super flop.
I hope its not a flop. Need better competition in sub 10 lakh SUVs.

Old 27th September 2011, 16:03   #927

I doubt Merlin is going to be sub 10L ! If Safari needs better numbers, I guess they need to correct the pricing as well. If they manage to give one decently loaded Merlin variant under 10L, I guess we can look forward to some extra numbers in Safari's kit. More than the 5 seater issues, I guess people stay away from Safari due to the niggles offered for the price.
Old 27th September 2011, 16:06   #928

The recipe for making the Merlin a success is simple for Tata, simply fix the flaws on the Safari. Namely better interiors, bulletproof reliability from day one and if the car handles and drives way better that's an added bonus.

Now from news coming in so far that's exactly what Tata is doing, which is great. The only worry I have now is how will they price it?!
Old 27th September 2011, 16:19   #929

and thats where I see Merlin will go wrong, by pricing base version above 10 lakhs
Old 27th September 2011, 17:21   #930

Even I feel that Merlin may just not achieve what TML would want it to.

Here is what we can assume based on the comments in this thread:

1) Vastly improved internals. If the chassis is Aria derived and other such parts finding their way in the Merlin, then it means at least performance wise this vehicle would be a couple of notches above Safari.

2) Now if the vehicle is a couple of notches above Safari a 10 - 12 lac ex showroom price is not bad at all.

3) Then throw in the general feelers that the forum has received on the quality front - that it would be way above the current Safari in that regard. In which case the price rise looks even more justified.

But the problem is the external shell remains unchanged. And the looks seem to have taken a beating. So the general populace may just ignore it:

Thinking its old wine in new albeit uglier bottle. Given the new mahindra SUV and other options available, buyers may not want to park money on a 'old' SUV (going by the looks)

But for value buyers this maybe a splendid opportunity. So essentially we will be getting almost an Aria ( sans its looks and profile) at a much lower price.

Last edited by rrsteer : 27th September 2011 at 17:23.