Old 20th July 2011, 00:18   #241

re: Honda Brio - Small car for India - unveiled!*UPDATE* SCOOP Pics Pg.23

Originally Posted by katpasin View Post
wondering if it was an End of Line for Jazz.
Me too. I think Honda should let go of Jazz and focus more on Brio. Jazz is yesterday while Brio is tomorrow. Also, Honda screwed up with Jazz. First, priced it steep and then this correction or clearance sale. I see a similarity here with Getz. But Hyundai killed it while still it was selling in almost same numbers as Jazz is now. I think Honda should bury Jazz and move on.
Old 20th July 2011, 00:20   #242

Originally Posted by RavenAvi
I am sure they are re-positioning the facelift Jazz into the premium segment to take on the Swift, Liva, Polo etc., and the Brio could give the i10 and the Wagon R/Estilo segment a run for it's money. The least they can do is be competitive till Honda brings in it's diesels by 2013, which is not too far off either.
Correct me if I'm wrong but the Jazz is not to be positioned as a Liva Competitor.

And Brio will be basically placed above WagonR / Estilo etc which are not really perceived as 'aspirational' cars (no offense)!

-Brio takes on Ritz and i10 and Beat etc
-New Jazz takes on New Swift, Polo, Punto, Fabia, i20, et al
Old 20th July 2011, 03:51   #243

Originally Posted by katpasin View Post
wondering if it was an End of Line for Jazz.
Originally Posted by pgsagar View Post
Me too. I think Honda should let go of Jazz and focus more on Brio. Jazz is yesterday while Brio is tomorrow. Also, Honda screwed up with Jazz. First, priced it steep and then this correction or clearance sale. I see a similarity here with Getz. But Hyundai killed it while still it was selling in almost same numbers as Jazz is now. I think Honda should bury Jazz and move on.

I beg to disagree - Jazz is a very capable car with a lot of life left in the line - the only thing it needs is sensible pricing which IMO Honda has learned the hard way. A correctly priced Jazz is one of the best cars one can buy.
blackasta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th July 2011, 09:57   #244

Originally Posted by abhi413 View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but the Jazz is not to be positioned as a Liva Competitor.
The "cash discount" offer on the heels of the Liva launch suggest otherwise. I think Honda will price it's facelifted Jazz's Base model somewhere around Liva's top-end model, giving prospective customers a mouth-watering option.

Originally Posted by abhi413 View Post
And Brio will be basically placed above WagonR / Estilo etc which are not really perceived as 'aspirational' cars (no offense)!

-Brio takes on Ritz and i10 and Beat etc
-New Jazz takes on New Swift, Polo, Punto, Fabia, i20, et al
Ritz - Maybe. I think Jazz will be repositioned to take on the Ritz/Swift.
i10, Beat - Definitely.

While most of Maruti's low-cost offerings are not aspirational, they serve as an example of Brio's target segment - 3.99L to 5.5L.

The facelifted Jazz will come in at 5.99L and extend to 7L (for the AT, if they bring it).

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
I beg to disagree - Jazz is a very capable car with a lot of life left in the line - the only thing it needs is sensible pricing which IMO Honda has learned the hard way. A correctly priced Jazz is one of the best cars one can buy.
+1.

I am pretty sure and confident that the Jazz facelift will be priced at 5.99L onwards. That should be a great price.
Old 20th July 2011, 10:15   #245

Why kill Jazz to accomodate Brio? I dont get that at all.

Brio at 3.99 onwards till 5.5
Jazz at 5.99 onwards till 7.5
City at 7.5 onwards..

Makes perfect sense!
Old 20th July 2011, 10:57   #246

With the new Swift coming with extra features and all, Maruti has to increase the price which will push it on to the Polo/I20 category. I am not sure that is a good strategy but that's how it looks like.

The Ritz will be positioned a segment below to take on I10/Figo/Beat etc.

Frankly, Liva top end at 5.99 Lakhs is a joke. Nobody will buy it. It has some side skirts and superficial stuff. People considering the Liva will buy the second or third model, not the top one.
Liva actually is a competitor to I10/Ritz etc and not to Polo/I20. It can't be, just because of a T badge.
And comparing Liva with Jazz does not make any sense.
Only cars which can be compared to Jazz are I20 and Polo and I am sure that the new Jazz base variant will be priced at par with I20/Polo top end variants.

SO, my predictions are -
Brio - 4.5 to 5.5L
Kazz - 6 to 7 L
City - 7.5 L and above.

And Brio does not conflict with Jazz in any which way. It is a different segment altogether.

In markets like Thailand and Singapore, Jazz is priced 50% higher than Brio and 10-15% more than ANHC.
But, that does not hold good there.

Last edited by adimicra : 20th July 2011 at 10:59.
Old 20th July 2011, 12:10   #247

Originally Posted by Equus View Post
Brio at 3.99 onwards till 5.5
Jazz at 5.99 onwards till 7.5
City at 7.5 onwards..
If Honda really comes up with these figures then it really WILL bounce back.
Old 20th July 2011, 21:15   #248

big question would be Honda's spare/accessories cost... from the forums have learnt that City's fog lamps costs 28k and Jazz's alloys costs 45k... would Honda get the part prices to reasonable levels now?
Old 21st July 2011, 09:53   #249
PPS

Source - https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...&type=1&ref=nf

Honda Brio - Small car for India - unveiled!*UPDATE* SCOOP Pics Pg.23-278393_10150320225670605_597770604_9864400_1479412_o.jpg
PPS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2011, 11:45   #250

Nice scoop pic,especially you can compare the size with the santro infront of it.Looks like a bit shorter than the santro.The tyres fill up the wheel arches nicely.
Old 22nd July 2011, 10:46   #251

Another spy pic, possibly same source -

Honda Brio - Small car for India - unveiled!*UPDATE* SCOOP Pics Pg.23-hondabriorearleft.jpg

Looks similar in size to the Beat.
Old 28th July 2011, 02:51   #252

Caught a Glimpse of the Brio last week in Thailand.

The Back does not look ugly at all, in fact made me wonder "what hatchback is that"? That is when spotted the Brio with the "H" badge and clicked this picture.

Wasn't able to click any more pictures owing to a deviation that the cab driver took because of the traffic.
Honda Brio - Small car for India - unveiled!*UPDATE* SCOOP Pics Pg.23-dscf1458.jpg  

amit_2025 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th July 2011, 06:56   #253

Originally Posted by amit_2025 View Post
Caught a Glimpse of the Brio last week in Thailand.
Nice pic there Amit. As you said, the rear end of the Brio does not look so bad as it looked in concept form when it was first unveiled. Having said that, I wouldn't call that a good-looking rear either. In fact, from the rear three-quarters, the profile perfectly matches with that of the Chevrolet Beat. So, it's clear that we have to compromise on one inherent Honda quality in the Brio - 'Stunning Design'. But, people will hardly complain if the Brio is launched for a price less than 5 Lacs.
Old 28th July 2011, 11:13   #254

True, the rear design is not bad at all. Actually, to me, it looks new with a lot of glass in hatch, may be, first in class/segment where HONDA is experimenting with it
But, looks good.

One doubt that I have - This car looks like a 2 door coupe converted to 4 door hatch. The rear door is that small ! May be, its just the angle.

But, whatever or however it is, majority of the Indian car buyers wouldnt complain on HONDA and will always feel right if its done by HONDA or any Japanese car. Its only that the experiments are not much appreciated when TATA or M&M trying to do something

Prem.
Old 28th July 2011, 23:50   #255

CONFIRMED NEWS - Brio will be launched during Dusshera and Diwali time!

Mr Jnaneswar Sen, Senior Vice-President, Sales & Marketing, for Honda Siel Cars India -

Right now all our energies are on Brio. We’ll bring it right after September, during Dussehra and Diwali time.

SOURCE - IAB (Honda plans to launch Brio hatchback in October)