Old 18th March 2025, 07:06   #15976

Infractions: 0/3 (20)
Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by Sumedik View Post
What is a decent price for a Polo 1.0 TSI Highline AT bought in Novermber 2020, is owned by first owner and has been serviced regularly? I have not seen the service history yet though.

The car has run 39000Kms approximately.

The owner has mentioned that front bumper has been replaced. How big a red flag is this?
Ideally, A price of around 6 lahks to 7 lahks would be a good deal depending on how well it is maintained and what condition it is in, however considering the front bumper replacement, it is best to check with insurance/VW showroom about the details of the accident it was involved in and if any other parts were replaced as well. If it is just a minor accident with just the bumper being replaced, it isn't such a big red flag, however, do investigate the matter.

Considering the replacement, I would say a price closer to 6 lakh would be good, provided the accident was minor.

In the south VW Polos are generally in high demand and you can see price north of 8 lakhs for such models, but in Kolkata, the 7 lakh range seems to be the ballpark.
Old 18th March 2025, 08:28   #15977

This is a useful calculator for knowing the price of a used car,
https://www.omnicalculator.com/finance/car-depreciation
Old 18th March 2025, 08:33   #15978

Originally Posted by Sumedik View Post
What is a decent price for a Polo 1.0 TSI Highline AT bought in Novermber 2020, is owned by first owner and has been serviced regularly? The owner has mentioned that front bumper has been replaced. How big a red flag is this?
I have the exact same car (from 2022). My wife has poor front left clearance and has hit a small tree stump and a big rock on front left bumper side. Both times bumper was replaced by VW. Generally just bumper replacement will be a small hit as these are meant to collapse and tear easily. Anything major would have had more parts replaced.
7 L is a good price I feel for this car which has done low miles. The engine and gearbox are reliable and are great fun to drive.
Old 29th March 2025, 18:18   #15979

What should be a good price for a 2018 first owner Ecosport S (top variant) Ecoboost petrol MT? The car has done 50 K kms and is available at 5.55 L at a local dealer near me.
Old 30th March 2025, 10:02   #15980

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
What should be a good price for a 2018 first owner Ecosport S (top variant) Ecoboost petrol MT? The car has done 50 K kms and is available at 5.55 L at a local dealer near me.
The negotiable price should be 5.0 lakhs; changing tyres and the battery and a few minor mechanical repairs are expected expenses at this juncture.
Old 31st March 2025, 05:51   #15981

Originally Posted by bijims View Post
You should expect at least 3.50 lakh for your car assuming it's in very good condition, your cousin's car should get at least 6.50 lakh assuming it's in great condition as well.
Originally Posted by Ragavsr View Post
2-2.5L for the 1.94L run specimen and 5-5.5L for the other one.

I would say those ranges are extremely optimistic. The market doesn't value cars run 200k very well and for good reason that most owners simply don't spend on the required upkeep.
Thanks for the inputs guys. My cousin has sold off his 2017 City ZX iDTEC yesterday for 6.8L and looking forward to buy an EV now.

He bought this car for 8.4L in Jan 2023 and used it for 2 years and 45k Kms and sold it off at a loss of 1.4L.

Now, waiting for mine to sell it off soon and have already got a quote of 3.5L considering that my car has run close to 2L Kms (1.95L Kms to be precise) though my dad told me to wait till June and, also, the same cousin is suggesting me to retain it as my car now sees nearly zero usage due to me moving to USA more than 1.5 years ago and will fetch peanuts if I sell it off now. Another plan that my dad has in his mind is to sell off this car within my relatives.

Also, had spent nearly a lac on this car mechanically last year by replacing the clutch plates, engine timing kit assuming that we'd be keeping for another 10-20k Kms before letting go of.
Old 1st April 2025, 20:30   #15982

Originally Posted by deehunk View Post
The negotiable price should be 5.0 lakhs; changing tyres and the battery and a few minor mechanical repairs are expected expenses at this juncture.
Isn't 5 or 5.5 a figure too good to be true? I was surfing OLX and all the S models were priced at 7.75L+ in Pune and Mumbai region.

I got in touch with the first owner of the Ecosport in question and he said he exchanged it with a Honda dealer where he went to buy the 5th gen city. He sold it at 4.25L and at that time the Ecosport had the MID screen gone kaput. The dealer must have fixed it now, as it doesn't show any error. The fixing cost with Ford is 25K.

About the car, the first owner has fantastic feedback about it. Just sold it because of increasing family members and since he had the dream of buying a Honda City

Last edited by 07CR : 1st April 2025 at 20:35.
Old 1st April 2025, 21:23   #15983

The prices quoted on OLX or similar platforms are never the actual selling price; who would risk their money on Ford vehicles that have been used for 7-8 years? The exchanged vehicles are sold to CARS24 and Spinny by the dealership, so the same car will be sold again with a 10-15% margin.

Last edited by deehunk : 1st April 2025 at 21:27.
deehunk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2025, 17:20   #15984

what would be a fair price for 2022 BMW X3 petrol which has done 50K kms?

Last edited by gaurav371 : 3rd April 2025 at 17:24.
Old 4th April 2025, 15:03   #15985

I have kept price for My HR98 Slavia 1.0 Style AT 2023 at 12.75L, Is it fair ask? I am getting lots of dealers response but not many end users, dealers are offering in range of 12-12.2. I am looking for close to 12.5. Do you guys think its a fair price for 22K driven Slavia with Zero Insurance claim till date.
Anki_252hp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2025, 16:29   #15986

Infractions: 0/3 (20)

Originally Posted by Anki_252hp View Post
I have kept price for My HR98 Slavia 1.0 Style AT 2023 at 12.75L, Is it fair ask? I am getting lots of dealers response but not many end users, dealers are offering in range of 12-12.2. I am looking for close to 12.5. Do you guys think its a fair price for 22K driven Slavia with Zero Insurance claim till date.
Yes, This is a fair ask, and you shouldn't sell for anything less than 12.5 lakhs, even Spinny is offering 11.56 lakhs for such make of a Slavia, and they are selling such makes in Haryana for over 13.5 lakhs, so yours is a fair price as far as direct dealings with interested sellers are concerned.

I hope you have listed the car on a few platforms, notably OLX, Cardekho, Facebook Marketplace and the like.

Skoda cars are not necessarily the most popular or hot-selling cars, so I guess deals are hard to come by, especially considering the recent price slash on Skoda 2025 models. If it were a Maruti or perhaps even a Hyundai, I guess you would have ended with a good deal by now; moreover, it's a sedan and sedans are the flavour of the market nowadays, so you need to be patient, but that doesn't mean you have to sell at a low price. Wait for a while and keep firm on the 12.5 lakh mark, you should get a deal
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th April 2025, 09:55   #15987

I am looking to pick up a 2023 or 2024 Thar Petrol Automatic, run around 10-15k km.

What are the expected prices in Pune for both RWD and 4x4?
Old 15th April 2025, 16:48   #15988

Hello Everyone,

I'm looking to sell my single-owner 2014 BMW 320D Sportline, Mumbai registered. It has been driven 60k. Do you have any thoughts on what the price range should be, or where I could get a real estimate for the car?

Thank you.
myM5 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2025, 14:26   #15989

Hello everyone,

I've been looking for a used diesel compact sedan for my father. He currently drives a 2009 Swift which recently crossed 3 lakhs kilometres and showing signs of age impacting reliability.

Came across a immaculately maintained 30k kms run 2020 Amaze vx diesel from a owner directly. Quoted price is 8.3Lwith new set of tyres changed recently. Has perfect service record.
Spinny quotes upto 7.4L for a similar car. In west Tamilnadu, it's becoming hard to find a well-maintained low run cars cheaper than this.
Please share your thoughts.

Are there any reliable vehicle inspection services around Coimbatore? Has anyone used cars24 for vehicle inspection?

Last edited by clickdilip : 16th April 2025 at 14:53. Reason: Additional details, formatting
clickdilip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th April 2025, 12:39   #15990

As someone who's looking to replace his 15 year old car, does it make sense to buy a 2019-2022 model year used cars today? Given the shift to e20 fuels, what would the life be like with these bs4/bs6 cars? Cars post 2023 are priced unreasonably high in the used car market, making it more logical to buy a new vehicle instead.

Also, as someone who was last in the market for a used car around 2016, I have noticed a significant drop in people having pride and joy in their car ownership. Most of the vehicles I come across today are borderline abused and neglected, almost as if they were bought with the intention of being used for a few years and eventually get exchanged for a newer vehicle at the dealership.
kedar3223 is offline   (1) Thanks