Old 27th June 2012, 10:47   #4981

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
Suggestive price for 2005 Maruti 800
- second owner. - new tires, seat covers & batteries. - Car is in good condition & well maintained. - 80k+ kms run
Hello Ninjatalli,

The indicative price of 2005 Maruti 800 could be in range or Rs. 80,000 to Rs. 1,00,000 depending on the condition of Car.

But are you thinking to buy a vehicle that has already done 80,000 kms?

Old 27th June 2012, 11:17   #4982

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello Ninjatalli,

The indicative price of 2005 Maruti 800 could be in range or Rs. 80,000 to Rs. 1,00,000 depending on the condition of Car.

But are you thinking to buy a vehicle that has already done 80,000 kms?

No boss.
A colleague is selling his car. Currently he's getting quotes for 75-85k so I guess your estimate is quite correct.
Old 27th June 2012, 12:38   #4983

Originally Posted by suv100 View Post
D1 segment petrol car resale value has come down by almost 60%. Really who would buy a fuel guzzler like the civic for even 8 lakhs at a time when petrol price is going through the roof?
Slightly off topic, but putting it here in case it helps someone who is genuinely pursuing the Civic.

Civic is not that much a fuel guzzler as made out to be. Normal city driving will easily fetch 10kmpl and on highways it gives you around 13-14kmpl.
And another thing that is noticed is, you dont have to be very sensitive to your driving habits, the mileage wont change much even you rev it at times.
And all this with the tons of space and comfort it offers.

Going by the description put on the query, 8.30 will be a good offer to take. And if you like the car, take it. Civic is one car which is hard to sell as well as hard to get in used cars market. (Am talking about low mileage, well maintained ones)
Old 27th June 2012, 13:20   #4984

Originally Posted by sarathlal View Post
someone who is genuinely pursuing the Civic.

Civic is not that much a fuel guzzler as made out to be. Civic is one car which is hard to sell as well as hard to get in used cars market. (Am talking about low mileage, well maintained ones)
On this topic of Civic, I see that in Kolkata, Civics in fabulous condition of years 2007, 2008 are available for as low as 4 L.
Would it make financial sense to buy in Kolkata and transfer it to the place of choice?
Even if the transfer costs a lakh I think a 2008 Civic for 5 L with only 30-40k km on the clock is a fine deal. Or am I missing something here?

What does the TBhp brains trust have to say?
Old 27th June 2012, 14:22   #4985

Re: An upside to the petrol price hike : Used car residuals CRASH

Guys, keeping these recent developments in mind, what price could I buy a Type 2 v-tec for in Chennai?
Old 27th June 2012, 15:43   #4986

I was looking to buy a used car in the budget of Rs. 1.5 lacs.

Though I would love to buy a Palio 1.6 or Mitsubishi Cedia or the Old Honda City and can extend my budget a little bit if I get a car in great condition.

Please let me know of the ideal price of these cars.

Also if there are other suggestions in this budget. My requirements are - Good FE, good resale value, good AC and if possible, good power.

Please note that the above mentioned requirements are not valid with the above mentioned cars
Old 27th June 2012, 15:52   #4987

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post

Though I would love to buy a Palio 1.6 or Mitsubishi Cedia or the Old Honda City and can extend my budget a little bit if I get a car in great condition.

Please let me know of the ideal price of these cars.

Also if there are other suggestions in this budget. My requirements are - Good FE, good resale value, good AC and if possible, good power.

Please note that the above mentioned requirements are not valid with the above mentioned cars
For around 1.5 L, you won't get a city or cedia, But you can get palio 1.6.

City will be in the range of 1.7-2.0 for 2001-2002 models, Cedia will be somewhere around 3 L.

Palio will be around 1.4-1.5L. In your budget you'll only get Palio, out of the cars mentioned by you.

Other then palio, I want to reccomned you other cars too :-

1- Esteem

2- Accent

Both of the above cars will be available for around 1.5 L, Plonk a CNG kit in it and you'll be a happy man

Good luck with your decision.

Sameer
sameerg001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 15:58   #4988

Originally Posted by suv100 View Post
D1 segment petrol car resale value has come down by almost 60%. Really who would buy a fuel guzzler like the civic for even 8 lakhs at a time when petrol price is going through the roof?
I really do not think there is ANY mass market car in the Indian market whose value will depreciate by 60% in <=2 years - irrespective of the fuel it runs on. A clean 2010 Civic V-AT with just 17k on the odo will find plenty of takers at 8L.

Re. it being a fuel guzzler - that statement is highly subjective. It returns an FE of 10+. IMO that does not warrant a tag of a fuel guzzler if you compare FEs of cars in this segment.

Originally Posted by fiestarry View Post
Even if the transfer costs a lakh I think a 2008 Civic for 5 L with only 30-40k km on the clock is a fine deal. Or am I missing something here?
If you are thinking of transferring it to Bangalore then you are obviously missing the approx 18% road tax. And that road tax for pre-owned cars is NOT calculated based on your purchase price but a fixed depreciation schedule. By the time you are done with RTO and transportation and registration of the car you would have paid nearly 2L extra. At 6L you can get a 2007 Civic in Bangalore itself

Last edited by Cesc : 27th June 2012 at 16:02.
Old 27th June 2012, 16:19   #4989
evo

Originally Posted by yash.giri
I have an offer of 2.3 lakhs for a petrol getz from a known person.

Model: 2005
Kms run: 65000
Owners: 2(So i will be buying third hand)

I have seen the car and it is in good condition.
Is it a good deal? What is the max that can be paid for this deal?

Please suggest.
2.3 is not a good price for the Getz. You are basically paying 50 percent value for a 7 year old car thats out of production.
Old 27th June 2012, 17:17   #4990

I have an offer for a 2011 Linea T-Jet for Rs 8 lakhs, in Bangalore
only around 7000 kms.

Is this a good offer considering the good discounts that one can get on T Jet and T Jet +
Old 27th June 2012, 18:21   #4991

Originally Posted by Ajith-s View Post
I have an offer for a 2011 Linea T-Jet for Rs 8 lakhs, in Bangalore
only around 7000 kms.

Is this a good offer considering the good discounts that one can get on T Jet and T Jet +
As I posted earlier too, a dealer here in Gurgaon is offering brand new T-jet for 7.2 L OTR.

Considering this, The deal you're getting is not good enough

Sameer
sameerg001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 18:29   #4992

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
I really do not think there is ANY mass market car in the Indian market whose value will depreciate by 60% in <=2 years - irrespective of the fuel it runs on. A clean 2010 Civic V-AT with just 17k on the odo will find plenty of takers at 8L.

Re. it being a fuel guzzler - that statement is highly subjective. It returns an FE of 10+. IMO that does not warrant a tag of a fuel guzzler if you compare FEs of cars in this segment.
I agree - I have a Civic and am extremely happy with the mileage. It constantly gives me 10-10.5 in city and atleast 14 on the highways...
reddevilgautam is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 18:47   #4993

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post
Hello Prashant,

The best Cars in your Budget would be WagonR & Santro.

These Cars can give you good mileage, good driving position & as everyone these are one of the most reliable vehicles on Indian Roads.

Jignesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2012, 20:02   #4994

@sesc If you check some prominent used car websites you can see 2008 to 2009 model 1.8 VATs at prices between 7.7 and 10 lakhs, with 25k to 30k on the odo and in the market since January this year remain unsold. I wonder why there are no takers even for that price. Well if any one wants to spend 8 lakhs on a 1.8 V AT, good for him.

Last edited by suv100 : 27th June 2012 at 20:07.
Old 27th June 2012, 20:24   #4995

All right let's see:

1) 2008/09 is not 2010
2) 10L is not 8L
3) 25k-30k on the odo is not 17k
4) Much more importantly - the used car websites you looked at will not show deals that were closed. A 2009 V-AT that got sold for 8L or a 2008 V-AT that sold for 7L? They will only show a 2009 V-AT that did not get sold at 10L or a 2008 V-AT that didn't find a buyer at 8L.

So if someone finds a good condition, less used 2010 V-AT at 8L - GOOD for him.