Old 23rd January 2013, 17:34   #6511

Need inputs on what would be a fair price for a 2009 December Superb 1.8TSI single owner, automatic with 52000 on the odo. the car is well maintained based in Bangalore. Asking price is 12.25L inclusive of insurance. Is 10.5 a good estimate?
Old 23rd January 2013, 17:38   #6512

Originally Posted by suneet_ag View Post
Need inputs on what would be a fair price for a 2009 December Superb 1.8TSI single owner, automatic with 52000 on the odo. the car is well maintained based in Bangalore. Asking price is 12.25L inclusive of insurance. Is 10.5 a good estimate?
Your estimate is pretty good as it is in Bangaluru. But i would advise you to stay away from TSI automatics. The gearbox will fail for sure.
Old 23rd January 2013, 17:39   #6513

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Around 10L would be a fair price in Bangalore. However be thorough in your inspection of the car and pay particular attention to the transmission. I am sure you are aware of the DSG issues on the Superb AT petrol. Take a good test drive and if possible get it scanned by the dealer for any transmission related fault codes.

@agambhandari - I wouldn't say that the transmission will 'fail for sure'. Sure it is problematic but a good portion of the transmissions on Superbs do last. If not for the transmission the car would be worth at least 12-13L and it is only because of that the resale is so poor.

Last edited by Cesc : 23rd January 2013 at 17:42.
Old 23rd January 2013, 17:47   #6514

I think a fair asking price would be closer to 10 than 11 for this spec Superb. You do know that the TSI DSG is heavily prone to mechatronic failure. You should certainly get a scan done before taking the leap of faith. Is the car under extended warranty? That will help immensely.

In case it is not, it would be prudent to set aside a substantial corpus (say Rs. 1.5 - 2 L) for maintenance and upkeep related expenses.
Old 23rd January 2013, 17:50   #6515

Appreciate the inputs guys. I am are of the notorious issues with the DSG, so will make a call only with a thorough check. Any contacts in Skoda Bangalore? not sure what is the process to pull out the service records from the dealer, and how cooperative they will be.
Old 23rd January 2013, 19:06   #6516

Originally Posted by aadithsince1980 View Post
Thanks for the input. What I actually have in mind is a car that can give me the best of both worlds. I've passed the racer-boy stage (Owned a rally prep Esteem, Drag spec Zen in the past). Now me and by better half have just added a bundle of joy to our family
So, the car should be both comfortable and fun to drive. A friend of mine owns a Corolla which has very subtle mods that include Headers (Mild tone). CAI and a neat set of alloys. That's exactly what I'am looking for in a car, which is why I am giving the Cedia and Corolla a serious thought!

Anytime I'm not sure whether you'll enjoy driving the corolla it's a bit too numb but I am completely with you on the Cedia just warning you that it will not be easy to find one in good nick :P I know suggestions can sometimes get annoying, but how about an SX4? It is new enough, good to drive, can easiy be modded, and it's a breeze to maintain. Oh and if you are dead set on getting a car from the entry level D segment, then give the civic a thought too. A new set of wheels and some dampers should keep you out of harms way

Last edited by IshaanIan : 23rd January 2013 at 19:13.
Old 23rd January 2013, 20:05   #6517

Just checked the following from a used car dealer in Hyderabad,

2008 Skoda Fabia TDI Ambient Model (with ABS & Airbags), 57,000 KMs run. Overall condition fair, quoting 4.5 L.

2005 Skoda Octavia 1.9 TDI Elegance Model, 1,12,000 KMs run, condition unknown, quote is for 4.5 L.

Are these prices fair enough to go ahead, for both these no extended warranty and no insurance. Also can I check if the mileage is genuine or not from Skoda workshop ?

Srinivas.R
Old 24th January 2013, 09:58   #6518

I am considering buying a used petrol hatch. I'm based in Gurgaon. Budgeting not more than 3.5-4 lakhs, for something like an 2010- i20 or similar cars of the same age. Can someone suggest a good dealer or a place to start looking?
Old 24th January 2013, 11:19   #6519

I am tinkering with the idea of selling off my Chevy Spark. What would be a fair resale value(in Punjab or Delhi)?
Bought in december 2010
PS model
8000kms on the Odo
Just minor scratches on the body
Old 24th January 2013, 12:07   #6520

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
Anytime I'm not sure whether you'll enjoy driving the corolla it's a bit too numb but I am completely with you on the Cedia just warning you that it will not be easy to find one in good nick :P I know suggestions can sometimes get annoying, but how about an SX4? It is new enough, good to drive, can easiy be modded, and it's a breeze to maintain. Oh and if you are dead set on getting a car from the entry level D segment, then give the civic a thought too. A new set of wheels and some dampers should keep you out of harms way
Hmm, the SX4's design is not to my liking (Personal opinion). Don't like the 'tall boy' stance. I would love to own a Civic, but unfortunately my wallet doesn't feel so heavy Anyway, the search is on and who knows what I'll land up with. Watch this space for more
Old 24th January 2013, 14:10   #6521

Hey!

i am in the process of selling out my honda city (in mumbai/mira raod) and buying a farm friendly vehicle in bangalore/mysore.

For the farm friendly part - have zeroed in on Maruti ECO-

How does a Maruti ECO basic petrol version of 2012(may) for 3.4lacs sound?
its bangalore registration, and run only 5000kms
the owner claims to have added 45K worth of accessories.

some guidance please...
Old 24th January 2013, 15:56   #6522

Originally Posted by sriswe View Post

2005 Skoda Octavia 1.9 TDI Elegance Model, 1,12,000 KMs run, condition unknown, quote is for 4.5 L.
Be careful of this one guy. The mileage tells me the timing chains are about to be replaced. So, if your prepared for that additional 1lac or so that will go into getting it serviced, should a be a good buy.,
Old 24th January 2013, 22:03   #6523

Hello folks,
I am on a lookout for an Old Zen. What should be the fair price of Maruti Zen Lxi, 2003 model, the car has done 72,000 kms. The dealer is quoting 1.18 L and the condition of the car looks good. Thanks in Advance.
Old 24th January 2013, 22:50   #6524

I am planning to buy a CITY ZX for my dad and needs advice from you on the price front.

What are the price ranges for below options

2007-Vtec - 40k km - 2 Owners
2006 50000km 2 owners
2007 59000 1 owner

Also let me know mileage I can expect from city ZX and vtec.

Will the maintenance be expensive?

Old 24th January 2013, 23:52   #6525

Originally Posted by khaleelda1 View Post
For the farm friendly part - have zeroed in on Maruti ECO-
Why not consider a Fiat Adventure for high ground clearance, sturdy build, lot of space for farm friendlyness or even Indigo Marina. Just a suggestion.