![]() | #8341 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Emerging Metro
| ![]() Quote:
One of the main reasons is that as people upgrade their cars the dealers offer good offers and exchange bonus and try to cash in on the high demand that exists for used cars especially Maruti make. Even some Maruti cars are not favourites with the buyers. Estilos are not in great demand. I saw a 2006 Estilo on offer for Rs 1.95L In Kerala, the asking rate of similar models of Santro Xing is in the region of Rs 2.2L. Last edited by rajeev k : 26th October 2013 at 13:33. | ||
![]() |
|
![]() | #8342 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: NH209
| ![]() Team! Need help to evaluate a Ford ikon tdci 2010 model, run 79k km. This is in Coimbatore. |
![]() |
![]() | #8343 |
BANNED Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: NCR
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() Hi @rajeev k I believe when you have company owned second hand market this is bound to happen (also refer Toyota's case). The cars are good but the company is able to raise the market value of the cars because of their support & fleecing (at times). One has to be careful how to spend wisely rather than follow the herd &/ or perceptions. BTW the 7 years old Estilo @ Rs.1.95 is again daylight robbery for a model that's is discontinued. I, however, hope we are not going off topic with this discussion. |
![]() |
![]() | #8344 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Edinburgh, UK
| ![]() Guys, i am looking at the used market to buy a i10 Kappa2 Automatic. Kappa2 was launched is 2010. So preferably 2010 or later model. Would it be a good idea to get a used Automatic? would it cost a lot to maintain/service? What should be a good price to look for? Carwale says 3.5L for a car in good condition, but do not see any listing below 4L |
![]() |
![]() | #8345 | |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Edinburgh, UK
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #8346 |
BHPian ![]() | ![]()
I can tell that there is no extra cost to servicing or maintaining the automatic. I use a same. No not seen that D mode blinking issue in any of my automatic cars till now...2 Hyundai, 1 Honda & 1 Maruti (the Maruti 800 was quite pathetic though with other issues like a tendency for the Torque convertor blades to break! But it was an ancient model too) Last edited by anks_at : 26th October 2013 at 14:50. |
![]() |
![]() | #8347 | |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2012 Location: Mulund ,Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
Actually, I narrowly missed a Nov2010 Vx at about 7.5 Lakhs,in Feb 2013, due to my bad negotiation skills.I ended cursing myself .This time I did not want to miss this deal. This piece had low running, my favorite color( pearl White),Extended warranty,Good upkeep, so grabbed this Safari at seller's quote . It had to be Safari, nothing else would do. ![]() Regards, Abhay. | |
![]() |
![]() | #8348 |
Newbie ![]() Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]()
Thanks CARDEEP.. I came across a seller, lady driven 2008 WagonR which has run 30k KM with plush interiors, and she is quoting 2.7 lacs. I am thinking of negotiating on this one. I am yet to inspect the car. Have arranged a Maruti mechanic to come along for inspection at her convenience. Suggestions? |
![]() |
![]() | #8349 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Virar(Near Mumbai)
| ![]() Bhpians One query. I have seen a classified online for Palio 1.6, Stile, 2007 year, just 25000. When I enquired at Fiat ass they informed it was last serviced at ASS in January 2011 at 21000 odo reading paid service. Yet to see the car or talk to owner. This shall be My first car. Can less driven cars pose problems. What should be checked in this case. |
![]() |
![]() | #8350 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
At the minimum the batteries can be in a bad condition. The tyres may have dead spots/hard spots (I m not sure what they call it exactly), & things like brakes can be rusted etc. Check things like door hinges for rusting, noises etc. If the owner skimped on replacing engine oil timely, despite less use, the engine might not be in a great condition too. I am sure others here will give you a better answer, but yes be careful of buying a less used car unless the owner has still maintained it properly. If its properly serviced & maintained then its still good. In the car you mention above - last service Jan 2011 (almost 3 years!), doesnt sound good! Last edited by anks_at : 26th October 2013 at 17:16. | |
![]() |
![]() | #8351 | |||
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Liverpool/Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
1. 1.5L Engine 2. Amazing handling and grip. 3. Electrically foldable and adjustable mirrors. 4. Alloys. 5. Obviously much more spacious. Can go on and on. No way someone can pay 1.5L for a 10 year old Alto. | |||
![]() |
|
![]() | #8352 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]()
Buying an automatic car from used car market increases the risk by 100 percent. New cars atleast have warranty to take care of lemons, but in used market no such assurances. It's good as long as car works fine, in my case the car was a lemon with no warranty. If you like automatic and plan to keep for long time, go for new vehicle. |
![]() |
![]() | #8353 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Check the service history thoroughly, contact the service garage too. A lemon will probably have a substantial "extra" service history. With a new car you will just have to risk it as much as with a used car regarding having a manufacturing defect. Obviously, you have to be careful when getting a used car, but that pays. | |
![]() |
![]() | #8354 | |
BANNED Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: NCR
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() Quote:
![]() PS : Please refer the below link which says Rs.2.25 lacs is the best quote for this car: http://www.carwale.com/used/CarValua...=25884852&vt=1 Last edited by CARDEEP : 26th October 2013 at 18:47. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8355 | |
Newbie ![]() Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() |
![]() |