Old 18th August 2014, 11:12   #9676

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
If your BIL is not very tight on budget and could stretch for another 1.7 lakhs, tell him to go for the new City by all means. With that extra money he will:
  1. Get the satisfaction of owning a brand new car, just out of the showroom.
  2. As you have mentioned, he will get a full 2 years warranty, so complete peace of mind.
  3. He is getting the 4th generation City and not the 3rd gen.
  4. Couple of years down the line, when he is going to sell his City, he will fetch a good price as he would be the first owner. For the used car he will be the second owner and obviously the selling price would take a bit. So the 1.7 lakhs extra that he would be spending now, could easily be recovered.
Completely agree with autoindian. For 1.7 lacs more he is getting an all new generation of the city. I think he should go with the latter.
TB16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2014, 11:28   #9677

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by KING DYSP View Post
.... I am personally thinking of Swift and Ritz. If there are any other kindly suggest...
Pick up a Ritz if you find one (provided you are OK with the looks). Personally, I would pick a well maintained Swift over a Ritz.

And yes - try to avoid dealers; individual sellers are a better bet.

Originally Posted by ToyotaFan View Post
...A used swift D within 4 lakh would have done a lot of running and at 100km a day it won't last very long before it starts giving trouble...
Originally Posted by itsashishsharma View Post
...For sure a used Swift would start giving trouble in no time...
A well maintained Swift can easily last upto 1.5L kms with regular service & replacements. Can't really understand your statement on the reliability aspect. Things can go wrong on ANY car which is ill-maintained.

Originally Posted by KING DYSP View Post
...I have come through these 2 cars(Both Bangalore Registered)::

1. Ford Figo 1.4 LXI Feb 2011,
42 K kms,
...3.8 Lakh.

2. Ford Figo 1.4 Titanium Aug 2011,
26 K kms,
..4.9 Lakh...
Get option 2 for a 4.5L and you should be good. A slight premium for a lesser run (almost 50% lesser kms in this case) is always worth. Extended warranty is a bonus and also tells the owner is NOT a miser and cares for the car.
swiftnfurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2014, 11:43   #9678

We are looking to sell our Alto. How much can I expect for it?
Car : Alto LX
Manufacture Date: 2008 March
Place: Bangalore
KMs run: 50,500 KM
Single owner
Insurance valid till March 2014
Minor scratches on the body coming from typical city driving.
Always serviced at MASS.
Things that need immediate attention - tyres need replacement.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Last edited by flycatcher : 18th August 2014 at 11:45.
Old 18th August 2014, 11:55   #9679

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by flycatcher View Post

We are looking to sell our Alto. How much can I expect for it?

Car : Alto LX

Manufacture Date: 2008 March

Place: Bangalore

KMs run: 50,500 KM

Single owner

Insurance valid till March 2014

Minor scratches on the body coming from typical city driving.

Always serviced at MASS.

Things that need immediate attention - tyres need replacement.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Probably 1.5 to 1.6 lakhs.

Maruti true value quoted ₹1.32 lakhs for my Father in law's Alto 2005 sept. Run 58000 Kms in Bangalore.
Plus ₹ 10,000 for exchange if we were going to buy a new car from Maruti.

Sent from my iPhone using Team-BHP

Last edited by Arjun Reddy : 18th August 2014 at 11:57.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2014, 15:08   #9680

Originally Posted by Arjun Reddy View Post
Probably 1.5 to 1.6 lakhs.

Maruti true value quoted ₹1.32 lakhs for my Father in law's Alto 2005 sept. Run 58000 Kms in Bangalore.
Plus ₹ 10,000 for exchange if we were going to buy a new car from Maruti.

Hi Arjun, which true value was this? I went to Kalyani Motors. I was quoted ₹1.2 lakhs. Since I am looking to book the Celerio AMT. There was no offer of any other additional discounts.
Old 18th August 2014, 15:11   #9681

Originally Posted by flycatcher View Post
Hi Arjun, which true value was this? I went to Kalyani Motors. I was quoted ₹1.2 lakhs. Since I am looking to book the Celerio AMT. There was no offer of any other additional discounts.
This was last month at Mandovi Motors True Value at Basaveshwarnagar.
Contact I dealt with is Sathish +91 98-80-912413

Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2014, 18:39   #9682

A friend of a friend is offering me his ANHC, 2008 model. Done just around 50k Kms, used mostly for the daily office run. He's asking for 3.5 lakh.

I have a few doubts:

It was originally a company lease, so if I buy it , I'll technically be the third owner. How much will it affect its resale?

Does it make sense to go for a six year old car? I mean I need something which is hassle free since I'll use it for my daily office run and plan to keep it for as long as possible.

What are the known long term issues with the ANHC?

I was planning to buy a new swift/i20 till this option came along. Though a second hand car is much cheaper, I am a little worried about the time, effort, money and headaches in terms of maintenance.

Is it worth it?

Please advice. Thanks
Old 19th August 2014, 19:00   #9683

@Naru, IMO it is a good buy, no such deal breaking issues with this car. But since its going to a 3rd owner car you can bring down the price a little more. 3 Would be great. And with 50K on the odo you can comfortably drive another 70K. Only get to know how much you need to spend on major services at 80K, which is normal. And what is the present condition of tyres, changing them will set you back by 20K. This must be the second battery so it will run may be 1-2 year max. Battery is not that expensive, about 4-5K. So 3L it should be.
It will certainly be better than the Swift or i20 for sure, you will enjoy owning and driving it for sure. It holds its resale pretty well but since you will be the 3rd owner may fetch a little less down the years, doesn't matter as you plan to keep it on long term. In another 4 years you may lose half of it, and that's good.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2014, 19:28   #9684

How much is the reasonable price to sell a 6 months old less than 1000 km driven Ford Ecosport Diesel Titanium (Optional pack) car in a perfect showroom condition? Please share your thoughts as I am planning to sell mine and I am based out of Coimbatore.

Last edited by ece2k2 : 21st August 2014 at 19:30.
Old 27th August 2014, 19:53   #9685

Hi guys,
Have heard that the chevy Cruze resale value is real bad. How much will I have to pay for a 2012 model (166 bhp version) that has done about 20-22 k?
Old 28th August 2014, 16:28   #9686

I have been offered Rs.3.75L for my Punto 90HP (Kerala registration) which is 4 years old (2010 July) and has done 52K kms. There are a few scratches on the rear bumper, but otherwise the car is fine - just came back from the 4th year service. Is this a fair valuation?
Old 28th August 2014, 17:28   #9687

Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
I have been offered Rs.3.75L for my Punto 90HP (Kerala registration) which is 4 years old (2010 July) and has done 52K kms. There are a few scratches on the rear bumper, but otherwise the car is fine - just came back from the 4th year service. Is this a fair valuation?
Yes absolutely. I am getting only 1.75 for a similarly used figo
Old 28th August 2014, 19:47   #9688

Originally Posted by ece2k2 View Post
How much is the reasonable price to sell a 6 months old less than 1000 km driven Ford Ecosport Diesel Titanium (Optional pack) car in a perfect showroom condition? Please share your thoughts as I am planning to sell mine and I am based out of Coimbatore.
Just curious, why are you selling the car?
And why such low mileage?
Old 28th August 2014, 20:03   #9689

Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
Just curious, why are you selling the car?
And why such low mileage?
My usage has reduced a lot (just 15 to 20 km a day) over the last couple of months. Maintaining 3 cars (Linea Tjet, Swift Diesel and Ecosport) is becoming a pain too - so decided to sell off the Ecosport with a minimal financial hit.

Last edited by ece2k2 : 28th August 2014 at 20:05.
Old 28th August 2014, 21:42   #9690

Originally Posted by aditto View Post
Yes absolutely. I am getting only 1.75 for a similarly used figo
Is yours a petrol car ? Even then I feel this is very low.