Team-BHP - The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

-   -   The "USED" Car Price Check Thread (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/93778-used-car-price-check-thread-728.html)

What's the good price for an August 2014 Tata Zest XT Diesel (~9L+ OTR here in Blr) which has run 28,000 km?

Took a brief test drive today (in traffic) and
1. Overall outer body seemed ok - no dents or scratches; everything seem to be in order inside as well
2. Suspension felt decent without any issues (roads are bad here now); clutch seemed alright.. Pretty light; Same with the steering.
3. Trip A (1200km) and Trip B (2800km) avg FE was showing 12/12.1kmpl only
4. Gear shift is easy, but very notchy.. Felt very loose (not sure how to describe it - not as tight as the shifter should be ideally; implies abused?) I had experienced similar feeling with my cousins nano twist(which has run 25k km) few weeks ago when I tried it for the first time. - concern???
5. Tyres seem to be OK without any uneven wearout
6. Engine noise was on he higher side inside the cabin even with Windows rolled up - concern???
7. Biege color. Looks like it will always appear eternally dirty :( Car was back from service 2-3 days back and it looked dirty (also blame the rain & slush all around these days)
8. Silver AMC covered - 500rs was the 3rd service bill. No extended warranty. Insurance covered till August 2016.

Is this a good candidate for buying? If yes, what is the best price to offer?
Also, anything significant that we should check/be worried of??

A 2011 model of a Skoda Rapid is offered for sale at 4.5 lac. Outlining her details below:

- Petrol, manual transmission
- 2011 make
- 26,000~ kilometers run
- Ambition variant (among others, has ABS and 2 airbags)
- service history available, no untoward ailments recorded.

Is this offer palatable?

Originally Posted by null (Post 3855756)
What's the good price for an August 2014 Tata Zest XT Diesel (~9L+ OTR here in Blr) which has run 28,000 km?

Decided to dump it after more than one feedback on its "no resale value". It seems its difficult to sell it again for a decent price as per our local mechanic. Paying a bit more for a Vento/Rapid would make more sense that buying this considering the brand value involved.

Back in a dilemma on whether to buy a used car or a new one now :(

Originally Posted by Swapnil4585 (Post 3856642)
A 2011 model of a Skoda Rapid is offered for sale at 4.5 lac. Outlining her details below:

- Petrol, manual transmission
- 2011 make
- 26,000~ kilometers run
- Ambition variant (among others, has ABS and 2 airbags)
- service history available, no untoward ailments recorded.

Is this offer palatable?

I'd say the price is a little high for a petrol skoda but where is the car?
I'd advice you to look for a Vento instead. Vw's future seems to be better than Skoda.

Originally Posted by FINTAIL (Post 3850765)
Given the light weight of the M800, and if the Suzuki F10A / G13B (i.e: The Suzuki engines used in the Maruti 1000/Esteem) is tuned properly ( You know what I mean :D ); I think sub 10 sec is possible.

The car in any case would be a hoot to drive; that's for sure! :D

Here's a related thread; http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...f10a-swap.html

I thought Engine swaps were illegal ( unless its endorsed in the RC book and I dont know how easy thats possible ).

I checked this car on the Kerala RTO site and still mentions 796 CC.

So I've been looking for a used petrol sedan and came across a lot of cars ,which got me confused between the Verna and Vento!
We have a running of not more than 8500kms per year and the car will be a common car for everyone in the family

I'm getting a 2012 Verna VTVT SX 1.6 which is driven about 60,000kms (it's a top end model with push to start button) for 5.15L!

Theres another Verna (same model without push to start ) driven 23,000kms with service record and 3rd party insurance ! Asking price is 6.10(I'm still negotiating )

The other option is a Vento Highline petrol AT which was a VW factory vehicle and got registered as 1st owner in 2014 and has been driven about 22,000kms (the car has an unused Tyre and has brown leather seat covers ,also has a bumper to bumper insurance valid till sept 2016 ). The owner has agreed to sell it in 5L

I need a recommendation from you'll whether to go for the Verna or the VW Vento!

And other options are open !
Thanks guys!

apart cost of living with either of Korean or German, prefer VW Vento TSI AT, 5Lakhs is good deal. Ask more about car history.

Smiles to cherish, Miles to go!!!:thumbs up

The Vento if you want something that handles well and appreciate the high-speed stability on highways. The Verna if you want to be more sure of trouble free maintenance. That said, popular cars from popular segments like the C2 sedan segment you are looking at, command a pretty respectable resale value. You may find more value in a used car buy, if you look at cars from the D1 segment instead. For example, a 2010 Corolla Altis with about 60k kms on the odo may just be a slight stretch away and trust me that will outperform any C2 segment sedan in terms of build, feel, power, refinement, comfort, ride and because it is a Corolla it also comes with legendary reliability (even a 5 year old used corolla would be more reliable than a brand new anything ;) ). Don't just look at figures on paper, go and check out a few cars to decide for yourself :)

Originally Posted by acejash (Post 3857239)
Theres another Verna (same model without push to start ) driven 23,000kms with service record and 3rd party insurance ! Asking price is 6.10(I'm still negotiating )

The other option is a Vento Highline petrol AT which was a VW factory vehicle and got registered as 1st owner in 2014 and has been driven about 22,000kms (the car has an unused Tyre and has brown leather seat covers ,also has a bumper to bumper insurance valid till sept 2016 ). The owner has agreed to sell it in 5L
I need a recommendation from you'll whether to go for the Verna or the VW Vento!

Thanks guys!

Would not recommend the 60,000 km Verna. Is the 23 K Verna also a 2012 model?

The Vento seems to be the best bet. But is it a Vento TSI or the previous Gen 1.6 L Vento with the 6 speed AT box? Since you say factory vehicle and got registered in 2014, I assume it is a 2013 make prev gen Vento AT.

Would not recommend the 60,000 km Verna.
+1 to that.
Irrespective of how reliable a car is, it needs huge investment for replacement of parts at such figures in the odo. The principle price may be less but then you might need to invest to maintain a top notch condition.

I think you should go for the other verna. Its a good VFM product. Moreover, you are also getting a very detailed report of it which should provide peace of mind.

The choice between Verna and Vento is what I would say is a fight between head and heart. stupid:

May I ask why not Honda City? You'll find great examples and they're extremely reliable.

You may find SX4's at even lower rates. The car depreciates fast. Being a suzuki, it'll be easy to maintain but it drinks more than the other cars in segment. If it'll be used by multiple people, you'll have better GC.

Or as IshaanIan says, buy a Corolla. It'll simply be way better as it's a segment above. You'll also have no problem with maintenance due to it's legendary reliability.

Theres another Verna (same model without push to start ) driven 23,000kms

Buy the newer Verna even if it's more expensive. City ride quality is good WARNING: Verna's (pre 2014) has the bouncy, nervous highway ride.

The other option is a Vento Highline petrol AT

I'm guessing this is 6 speed TQ unit. It'll have low FE, be difficult to maintain as spares may not be available. I'm not too sure you should buy this car unless you're clear with the details.

Originally Posted by ravivrt (Post 3857281)
VW Vento TSI AT, 5Lakhs is good deal.

I'm thinking that he's referring to the 6 speed TQ unit. The one that was mated to the 1.6 petrol.

I'm getting a 2012 Verna VTVT SX 1.6 which is driven about 60,000kms (it's a top end model with push to start button) for 5.15L!

Between both the Verna options, the car with the lower odometer reading does indeed command a minimum 50,000 INR price premium. The first 60,000 option will get to its 80,000 (expensive) service a lot sooner than you would with your 8500/year running with Option 2. That said, if Option 1 has covered most of its odometer reading on highways it would probably be as tight as Option 2.

Also, from what you have posted, Option 1 (60,000 kms) is the SX Opt trim whilst Option 2 (22,000 kms) is SX. The Option pack comprises of curtain airbags, chrome handles, start stop button and one more difference that I cannot recall.

Thanks guys!

See if you can find yourself a top spec 2011+ Civic which came with the sunroof, can't go wrong with one ;)

Thank you so much guys. I'm taking the VW vento out of option. And I'm negotiating with the Verna(23,000kms) to come down to 5.35. Also going to see couple of Corollas tomorrow ! Basically my budget is max 6L! Hence, the limitations !

Originally Posted by landcruiser123 (Post 3857404)
May I ask why not Honda City? You'll find great examples and they're extremely reliable.

Honda City i would want to go for the new one ! But again it's out of option !

Mod Note: Please avoid quoting the entire post.

Originally Posted by anand_lukose (Post 3856755)
I thought Engine swaps were illegal ( unless its endorsed in the RC book and I dont know how easy thats possible ).

I checked this car on the Kerala RTO site and still mentions 796 CC.

Engine swaps are very much illegal, as of the moment.

In the past, though, they were rampant. I know of umpteen, innumerable instances when Ambassadors were fitted with the ''Matador'' engine- a.k.a the Mercedes Benz OM616.

I am getting a 2014 Ertiga Anniversary Edition. VXI CNG. 17000km done, through Maruti Suzuki Authorized Showroom. The owner of the car exchanged it for a Ciaz. The car is in great condition and the showroom guys have serviced and maintained it well. They're also offering 3years-40000km warranty on it (The usual company given on a brand new car). In this case how much is the car worth?

They're asking ₹6.5L for it.

Apologies in advance if I have made any mistakes in the description.