Old 9th February 2017, 21:32   #11821

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by p_sajeev View Post
The quoted price is 4.7L, which I feel is on the higher side. What would be a realistic price I can settle for, for this car?
Pardon me, I missed to mention the IndianBlueBook. Although a little too aggressive, it is on par with OBV.

Though, I am yet to see the real impact of demonetization on used car market. An analysis of the same was done by IBB. Following is the link-
http://www.indianbluebook.com/storag...Car-Market.pdf

Last edited by jetsetgo08 : 9th February 2017 at 21:37. Reason: Link Added
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2017, 11:25   #11822

Originally Posted by vickyP View Post
Thanks for your reply!!
I am not really expecting a jack up of price due to these but there were just pointers to consider that the car is well maintained.

As per your experience, you have any ball figure for the pricing?
Accessories never fetch any value for the seller but dealers will make money out of it. Based on my experience of selling cars in Bangalore you can expect a price up to Rs.6.2 lakhs if selling to a dealer.A direct buyer may negotiate for a price up to Rs.7.5 lakhs.

Last edited by deehunk : 10th February 2017 at 11:34.
deehunk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2017, 16:27   #11823

I've been looking for pre-owned 3rd Gen Honda City i-Vtec from long time. Today, I stumbled upon a classified ad on Olx. Only a single picture was shared in that ad.

Upon calling the given number, The lady on the other side mentioned that the owner of a car is a pilot and he is out of country. His supporting staff (Pune Airport custom Service department) is selling the car on his behalf. They ask to me share details like passport photo, Copy of DL and Aadhar. She also mentioned, upon submitting this documents, they will issue a boarding pass, using which I can enter airport premises where the car is being kept, So that I can inspect and TD the car.

If satisfied, I'll have to pay a small token amount to start the paper work and need to do the full payment within a week to the actual owner (don't know how). Immediately, After hanging up the phone, I went again to Olx app to get the Registration number of car and to my surprise, the ad was no longer available.

This all looks little skeptical to me, Any thoughts\experience around it would be really helpful ?

Old 10th February 2017, 17:02   #11824

Originally Posted by Jaeger View Post
They ask to me share details like passport photo, Copy of DL and Aadhar. She also mentioned, upon submitting this documents, they will issue a boarding pass, using which I can enter airport premises where the car is being kept, So that I can inspect and TD the car.
Wow. To be honest I do not have an idea about the protocols in the airports. But, Why a boarding pass? Do the pilots have reserved parking slots beside their planes?

This all looks little skeptical to me, Any thoughts\experience around it would be really helpful ?
Jokes apart. You may be right. Even though highly unlikely, in case they call you back ask them to leave a message after the pilot arrives back.

Last edited by jetsetgo08 : 10th February 2017 at 17:03.
Old 10th February 2017, 18:00   #11825

In all probabilities this is a scam, IMO. Don't just give out your details to anyone and everyone. Also I have never heard that pilots are allowed to park their cars inside the airport. I am not sure about this though. Will check around if I can.

But please be careful with whatever you decide.
Old 10th February 2017, 19:57   #11826

Originally Posted by ayankm View Post
In all probabilities this is a scam, IMO. Don't just give out your details to anyone and everyone. Also I have never heard that pilots are allowed to park their cars inside the airport. I am not sure about this though. Will check around if I can.

But please be careful with whatever you decide.
Going "airside" would require a boarding pass - that is, beyond security check.

There are many many cars floating around in airports - usually used as pilot cars to escort taxiing planes, to transport staff to different parts of the airport etc. You might end up with one of those.
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th February 2017, 18:01   #11827

Hello All,

A friend of mine is looking for a decent Alto K10 in Hyderabad (he's a petrolhead and won't settle for the 800 ��). What price can be expected from local dealers, as well from True Value? He's ok with a 2010 make.

Shreyan
Old 11th February 2017, 20:41   #11828

Originally Posted by shreyan_k10 View Post

What price can be expected from local dealers, as well from True Value? He's ok with a 2010 make.

Shreyan
Hello Shreyan,

A well maintained 2010(~50k km's run) K10 Vxi can be bought for ~1.8 lakhs(irrespective of atrociously high quotes by the dealers). Add ~15k to 1.8L for every successive year after 2010. If possible, search in any of the office portals(e.g. TCS, infy,Microsoft etc.) as Alto's are plenty in the market. W.r.t Truevalue, cars in Truevalue will demand a little premium(~20k additional) as they offer warranty. Sadly, the online portal for truevalue isn't functional and one would have to scout personally.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2017, 21:56   #11829

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
Hello Shreyan,

A well maintained 2010(~50k km's run) K10 Vxi can be bought for ~1.8 lakhs(irrespective of atrociously high quotes by the dealers). Add ~15k to 1.8L for every successive year after 2010. If possible, search in any of the office portals(e.g. TCS, infy,Microsoft etc.) as Alto's are plenty in the market. W.r.t Truevalue, cars in Truevalue will demand a little premium(~20k additional) as they offer warranty. Sadly, the online portal for truevalue isn't functional and one would have to scout personally.
Thanks buddy! Checked few websites like Cartrade/Carwale. Most of them are quoting around 2.5 lacs. Seems they can be brought down to around 2 lacs after some negotiation. Will surely have a look at the portals of software companies.
shreyan_k10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2017, 09:32   #11830

What is the realistic price range / price to pay for a 2008 Mitsubishi Cedia which has run almost 1L KM in Bangalore?
Old 14th February 2017, 11:34   #11831

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Going "airside" would require a boarding pass - that is, beyond security check.

There are many many cars floating around in airports - usually used as pilot cars to escort taxiing planes, to transport staff to different parts of the airport etc. You might end up with one of those.
Is it good to own one of those vehicles, provided it ticks all the mandatory checklist? Would you suggest such car?
Old 14th February 2017, 19:10   #11832

Is it good to own one of those vehicles, provided it ticks all the mandatory checklist? Would you suggest such car?
The normal speed it is driven at is 5..10 kmph for long periods of time due to airport regulations. So crawl at half clutch.

And driven by a variety of drivers. Such cars might end up fairly abused - or they might be in very good condition as there's little chance of dents etc.

As always look at the car and decide.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2017, 11:42   #11833

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
The normal speed it is driven at is 5..10 kmph for long periods of time due to airport regulations. So crawl at half clutch.

And driven by a variety of drivers. Such cars might end up fairly abused - or they might be in very good condition as there's little chance of dents etc.

As always look at the car and decide.
Hi Hserus,

Do you have any idea about the procedure being followed by airport custom authority ? They are asking me to credit a certain amount as a security token.

It will be deducted from the final amount, If I decided to go ahead or else it will be refunded back.

Any pointers would be really helpful ? Planning to check out the car today evening.

Old 17th February 2017, 11:54   #11834

Hi Hserus,

Do you have any idea about the procedure being followed by airport custom authority ? They are asking me to credit a certain amount as a security token.

It will be deducted from the final amount, If I decided to go ahead or else it will be refunded back.

Any pointers would be really helpful ? Planning to check out the car today evening.

This is surely a red flag. Never give any money as 'security token' for checking out the car. This amount is security from what?

Surely smells like a scam here.
Old 17th February 2017, 12:13   #11835

Hi Hserus,

Why don't you write to the related customs authority about this and ask for their guidance? It shouldn't be difficult to find a contact and call / email them about it. And yes, security deposits are surely a scam especially for taking a look at a car.