Old 9th October 2019, 16:46   #13366

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Looked at a few elantra petrol’s SX variant MY 2018. Around 12k kms run, going for around 11 L. Is it a good buy? Planning to swap it with my vento
Old 9th October 2019, 18:18   #13367

Originally Posted by speedfreak01 View Post
Looked at a few elantra petrol’s SX variant MY 2018. Around 12k kms run, going for around 11 L. Is it a good buy? Planning to swap it with my vento
Fair enough as the owner is losing close to 50% its OTR price assuming it is an automatic. But, beware of the single digit FE.
Old 10th October 2019, 07:29   #13368

Now this is what I call terrific resale price. And this is also the reason why to some extent Toyota is able to get off by pricing the Innova so steeply. You get most of that money back when you sell the vehicle (apart from Delhi NCR now due to the NGT factor).
Both the time we sold our Innova's we got 50% of the purchase value. But Toyota has taken too much advantage and priced the Crysta Exorbitantly
indian21r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2019, 10:13   #13369

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
Folks - what would be a fair price to give for following -

- BMW 320d M Sport 2017 model HR Reg 14k kms done, Warranty till 2019
- BMW 320d M Sport 2018 model KA Reg (manufacturing 2016) 19k kms done, Warranty till 2020
- BMW 320d M Sport 2017 model TN Reg 22k kms done Warranty till 2019

Hi Buddy,
Congratulations on your new car.

I am looking for a similar car. Can you please share approximate price that one may expect them for?

Thanks in advance
Old 10th October 2019, 12:11   #13370

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
Fair enough as the owner is losing close to 50% its OTR price assuming it is an automatic. But, beware of the single digit FE.
Fair enough or a steal! Why so much discount?
Old 10th October 2019, 14:31   #13371

Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
Fair enough or a steal! Why so much discount?
Maybe coz its a slow seller and has been badly hit after the launch of civic and octavia facelift.
Old 10th October 2019, 17:43   #13372

Originally Posted by indian21r View Post
We just Sold our Toyota Innova for Rs 7.5 lakhs. Purchase price was Rs 14.5 lakhs

7th Year Nil Depreciation Insurance valid till July 2020
I am really surprised to see that you have a "Zero Dep" insurance in the 7th. year. I have been given to understand that as per IRDA rules, "Zero Dep" insurance is only valid for the first 4 years and, if no claim made in those 4 years, then an additional year is possible. Definitely NOT 7 years. Kindly clarify. Regards,
SS
Old 12th October 2019, 07:40   #13373

I am looking to buy a used Ertiga and going to test drive one today.

The dealer is quoting 8.25 lakhs for Maruti Ertiga SHVS VDI 2017 model, with 32K Km's in odo. Is this a fair price ?
Old 12th October 2019, 11:12   #13374

Originally Posted by Amith_kumar View Post

Please excuse me for my silly question. I shall be highly grateful if you can please help me with the dilemma I am in.

I am planning to to buy a 0-3 years old BMW X1 or 3 Series (Diesel). My budget is anywhere around Rs 30 Lakhs (though can be extended if required). Now, while going through various threads I found that even BMW is offering discounts running in many lakhs on older models. This has put me in state of confusion.

Most people suggest that we should go for pre-owned luxury cars as they depreciate a lot in their initial years. I am a complete novice in this area. Any help would be highly appreciated.

IMO, 0-3 year old cars are still expensive. There is a steep fall in value between 3 and 5 years in BMWs. I think a brand new 3 series or X1 base model will set you back by at least 35-40 lakhs even after all the discounts (there may actually be very little discounting for 3 series now given the G20 has just been launched). A 2 year old base X1 may come for 25-27 lakhs, but you can probably get a nice 2014 or 2015 3 series for under 20 which is a sweet spot in my view.
84.monsoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2019, 11:28   #13375

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
IMO, 0-3 year old cars are still expensive. There is a steep fall in value between 3 and 5 years in BMWs. I think a brand new 3 series or X1 base model will set you back by at least 35-40 lakhs even after all the discounts (there may actually be very little discounting for 3 series now given the G20 has just been launched). A 2 year old base X1 may come for 25-27 lakhs, but you can probably get a nice 2014 or 2015 3 series for under 20 which is a sweet spot in my view.

Thanks a lot for your reply. I highly appreciate it.

Being new to these luxury cars, I wanted something which has warranty and service package. That was the reason I was looking for comparatively newer cars. Any idea how I could prevent myself from surprises in 3-5 year old cars. I mean, anything specific I should look for?
Thanks one again for your help.
Old 12th October 2019, 13:33   #13376

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post
I am really surprised to see that you have a "Zero Dep" insurance in the 7th. year. I have been given to understand that as per IRDA rules, "Zero Dep" insurance is only valid for the first 4 years and, if no claim made in those 4 years, then an additional year is possible. Definitely NOT 7 years. Kindly clarify.
Zero Dep insurance can be availed till 7th year IIRC. Not sure if they will further extend it or not. I am currently having Zero Dep cover for my 3 series which is in its 6th year and I am sure it can be availed for another year.

Originally Posted by speedfreak01 View Post
That is abnormally low price for the Elantra. Given that it returns poor FE and is not the segment favorite but still it is too sweet a deal to be true. Be very careful in buying this as you may never know what you really getting into.

Originally Posted by Amith_kumar View Post

Being new to these luxury cars, I wanted something which has warranty and service package. That was the reason I was looking for comparatively newer cars. Any idea how I could prevent myself from surprises in 3-5 year old cars. I mean, anything specific I should look for?
Thanks one again for your help.
Unable to PM you due tot he Newbie status. Would you care to share your Email?

Last edited by drmohitg : 12th October 2019 at 13:58. Reason: adding quoted post.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2019, 13:48   #13377

Zero Dep insurance can be availed till 7th year IIRC. Not sure if they will further extend it or not. I am currently having Zero Dep cover for my 3 series which is in its 6th year and I am sure it can be availed for another year.

Unable to PM you due tot he Newbie status. Would you care to share your Email?

Thanks a ton for your help. My email id is amit.narera@gmail.com
Old 12th October 2019, 14:05   #13378

Hello BHP,ians ! Is a Vento tsi AT run for 28k odd km worth to buy for 7.5L in Chennai ? Its 2016 model . Im not sure whether its average quote or on higher side ? I have not seen the car , just wanna read some experts pulse here before going to see it!
Old 13th October 2019, 14:03   #13379

I am looking at a mid-2018 Hyundai i20 Asta petrol. It is a CVT and has run for 7,500 km. The owner is selling because he is moving to onsite. He is quoting 7.9 lakhs for it. What should I quote for it? I have still not seen or driven it but if everything is normal, then what should I quote?

Last edited by catchjyoti : 13th October 2019 at 14:04. Reason: Added the fact that it is a CVT
Old 13th October 2019, 15:21   #13380

Hello all! I came across a Hyundai Elite i20 with the following details:

Manufactured: Dec 2014
Fuel: Petrol
Variant: Sportz
Transmission: Manual
Kilometers: 47000
State of Registration: Telangana

The car is reasonably well maintained with no major scratches or dents on the exterior. The tyres have been recently changed (< 500km). The dealer is quoting Rs. 5.4 lakh for it.

Is this a fair price considering that the prices of used cars in Hyderabad are a bit on the higher side compared to most other parts in the country? If not, what should be the right price for this car?

Appreciate any help, thanks in advance!