Old 16th January 2020, 16:35   #13636

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Hi All

I am planning to look at used CSUV in Bangalore. I do have a bike for my needs but need a 4 wheeler for city and short trips to my hometown.

I have narrowed my choices down to the ford EcoSport titanium plus AT. This would be my first car (would have preferred the TDCi but since my dad and sister should also be able to drive it I am gravitating towards the AT).

I am assuming that most people in Bangalore would have got this car for short office commute and with a NA engine and a TC gearbox this should be a fairly reliable car for some time to come.

Could fellow members please help with pointers on the expected price that would be fair for something like a 2018 Titanium plus AT (so I can avoid the 17 inchers on the 2017 model) run about 15k to 20k kms.

Also, I had a doubt on whether it would be prudent to go for cars registered in the company name. Last year I had missed out on a ford fiesta 1.6s since I was afraid of the issues that might come to transfer the car from company to me. But it seems in Bangalore this is not uncommon so wanted to know whether it's advisable to go for something like this.
Old 17th January 2020, 00:47   #13637

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
This just caught my eye. If your car required a gas topup the chances are high that there's a leak somewhere in the system, or a failed cooling coil / compressor. So - I am willing to bet that inside of two or three months the cooling will go down again, and you then end up having to strip the dashboard to get at the AC and fix whatever it is.

Don't do it at a Honda dealer, check for a good AC specialist in your city and go there, TBHP might have recommendations.
Hi Hserus,
The thought had crossed my mind but as the car is under extended warranty with Honda I decided to take a chance and go ahead with the purchase.
Actually, there are so many things to check when buying pre-owned that it get's really tiring. Difficult to find really trustworthy dealers.

Thanks for your inputs.
SS
Old 18th January 2020, 18:38   #13638
JLN

Feb 2017 s cross 1.6 alpha. 29000 Kms run. Excellent condition. Bangalore. First owner. What is a good price. Owner asking 9.75 lakhs.
Old 18th January 2020, 19:14   #13639

Similar request like above. Looking for a used S-cross.
What is a good price for a 2015-16, 50-60k run, fairly good condition DDIS320 in Bangalore? Particularly Zeta and alpha variants. Few online listings asking 6.9 to 7.5 lakhs.
Old 19th January 2020, 20:11   #13640

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
Well, I may be wrong but the way I see, you are not getting real benefit in purchasing a not so popular used car in the BR-V. The BR-V may not see daylight post 2020, keeping that in view the market price shouldn't be that high AFAIK.

The City on the other hand is a safer bet discounting the ground clearance, extra seats and few features. Due to its omnipresence it's easier to live with and easier to leave as well. At 5'ish it could be a good deal if all is well. Also, it should be more efficient than the BR-V on the highways due to its design.

All the best and take a call weighing both heart's and mind's say.
Hi jetsetgo08,

Thanks for your inputs. Agree with all of them.

Problem is ingress and egress from the City/Ciaz/Vento is a big issue for me as I am on the "healthier" built side and have a back problem. Should have mentioned this earlier.
I tried getting into a neighbor's City yesterday and it was not easy. Actually getting out was even more difficult.
I am also concerned about the BR-V being discontinued but then again, that could happen with any car which does not sell wellin the market today
The price tag and the Kms run is another concern. My limit is usually 25,000 Kms.
I have to give him an answer tomorrow and honestly don't know what to do.

Other option is a Jazz CVT but not sure about it's capabilities on the highway and on broken/bad roads.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

SS
Old 19th January 2020, 20:56   #13641

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post
I finalized on the Jazz CVT at 5.85L after doing a check up at a Honda ASS and brought the car home yesterday.
Hi jetsetgo08,
Other option is a Jazz CVT but not sure about it's capabilities on the highway and on broken/bad roads.
I am kind of confused . Didn't you already get the jazz CVT sir?

Last edited by ampere : 21st January 2020 at 09:19. Reason: compacted quoted post
Old 19th January 2020, 21:53   #13642

Originally Posted by JithinR View Post
I am kind of confused . Didn't you already get the jazz CVT sir?
Yes. I did. But that's for my son and that car will stay in Bombay. My wife and I spend most of our time in Goa -usually driving up and down.

SS
suzuki san is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2020, 22:15   #13643

Yes. I did. But that's for my son and that car will stay in Bombay. My wife and I spend most of our time in Goa -usually driving up and down.

SS
I am six feet tall and have a large belly so what did I do but get a top end Scorpio.

It has an upright posture and fairly comfortable if a bit narrow seats .. try that and check if it works for you, else an XUV

In the Hondas, see if you can find a CRV
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th January 2020, 23:00   #13644

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
I am six feet tall and have a large belly so what did I do but get a top end Scorpio.

It has an upright posture and fairly comfortable if a bit narrow seats .. try that and check if it works for you, else an XUV

In the Hondas, see if you can find a CRV
Hi Hserus,

Thanks for the input but I have absolutely zero faith in Mahindra and/or Tata products - especially out on the highway where help is hard to come by.

I am actually quite happy with the BR-V. I really liked it. I just feel the price is a bit high for a 30k Km run car. That too, not a high selling model.
However, if nothing else crops up, I may just go for it.

My requirements are :
1. HAS to be Automatic. This is non-negotiable. TC preferable. Next is CVT.
2. Petrol preferred. Diesel is next option. Not interested in CNG.
3. Capable of carrying at least 2 large suitcases and 2 cabin bags.
4. Enough power to keep up with fast moving traffic and to climb the ghats when fully loaded with above mentioned luggage and 2 to 3 (healthy)adults.
5. Good ground clearance.
6. Reasonable fuel efficiency.
7. Known and reliable brand with easy access to spares and service.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

SS
suzuki san is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 08:21   #13645

My 2013 Ecosport Titanium TDCi done 92k kms needs replacement. OLX shows quotes between 4.5 to 5lacs. Still returns 14kmpl in city and has zero rattles. Of courst has the usual battle scars from having been driven in traffic. Exchange quoted has been 4lacs. Am asking for 4.5lacs which the dealer is finding hard to match. What would be the fair price as obv quotes 3.75lacs to 4.5lacs.
Old 20th January 2020, 09:47   #13646

Hi guys,
We're thinking about purchasing a Hyundai i10 November 2010 (Type 2) car. We found a second owner, grey coloured one with about 60k on the odo. The owner has listed the car for 1.5L, what would be a good price to pay for the car if everything is in order?

Thanks in advance!
sibot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 13:34   #13647

The price tag and the Kms run is another concern. My limit is usually 25,000 Kms.
I have to give him an answer tomorrow and honestly don't know what to do.
The only other option within the budget vicinity could be the Ecosport AT, but I am not sure if you are comfortable with a Ford. Creta AT would be pricier.
Which implies, given your requirements BR-V seems to be the right choice.
The car might be around for a little while. If it's possible try to poke the dealer with a renegotiated quote (preferably in person) and wait for him to get back. You could as well buy the car at its price as long you are sure to hold it for a long time.

I don't have prior experience but for highways I would assume Jazz would be more taut and sorted as City/Jazz share the same underpinnings, whereas Amaze/Mobilio/BR-V are based on the ligher Brio platform.

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
Am asking for 4.5lacs which the dealer is finding hard to match. What would be the fair price as obv quotes 3.75lacs to 4.5lacs.
IMHO, 4.5L is a fair price if the car is mechanically sorted. The dealer will clock back the odo and sell it for 5L after giving the car a cosmetic makeover. On the other hand try looking into Olx to buy cars of the same vintage, my guess is none of them would be advertised below 5L.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 17:05   #13648

Thanks everyone in advance.

What would be fair price for a 2011 Passat (regd. 2012), second owner and run 88k kms? With service history and is in good condition. The car seems to have had bit of usual issues like sensors changed etc., nothing unusual.

Asking price is around 7L.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 20th January 2020 at 18:25. Reason: Fixed typos.
Old 20th January 2020, 17:57   #13649

Thanks for the input but I have absolutely zero faith in Mahindra and/or Tata products - especially out on the highway where help is hard to come by.
If you go to smaller Indian towns out on the highway I will flat out guarantee that you will get far more Mahindra and Tata dealerships than Ford or Honda.

Roadside assistance is the least of your concerns. Both Mahindra and Tata have a sizeable number of over the counter parts available in automotive stores compared to Honda, Ford or Hyundai.

I have traveled 35k+ km on highways last year, had a check engine light once due to a cut turbo hose. At that place, the nearest Ford dealer (for if I had taken my earlier ride a Fiesta) would have been 170 km away and compared to that, there was a Mahindra dealer within 20 km.
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 18:00   #13650

Hi all, I have come across a used Punto Abarth which has clocked 45000 kms and is in very good condition. Owner is willing to give it away for 5.3L.

It's a 2016 vehicle, no accidents, insurance is still active. Has new Continental tyres. Can you please help me understand the best price for this car?

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 20th January 2020 at 18:28. Reason: Fixed typos.