Old 28th June 2010, 00:30   #1966
MX6

All those cars you've mentioned are having high mileage. Try for a newer Ikon. As your budget is 1.5 lakhs, you can get a newer ikon with a rocam engine.
Old 28th June 2010, 08:31   #1967

Thanks JLN.

The dealer offered us a price of 1.8L.But we haggled a bit and settled the price for 1.95L. Is it a good deal ?
Old 28th June 2010, 10:04   #1968

Originally Posted by Buffetfan View Post
Balenos are pretty reliable cars - My 2005 Baleno has not cost a lot to maintain till now - of course if you have an accident or change something than it is another story.

Of course the esteem parts would be way cheaper but then the Baleno is so much better to drive and provides significantly more space and comfort compared to the esteem.
There is a reason i did not recomend a baleno, when its your first car the smallest problem bothers you and you end up taking it to the mech and here is where the saga begins, my mech replaced the entire suspension when my dad took the car to him complaining a slight wobble, that time we were new to the car and we believed him. The baleno is as expensive as a ford when it comes to maintnance, one of my friends recently changed his suspension along with the steering rake of his ikon and the overall bill was 50K, a steering rake for ikon costs 19k and a for a baleno it costs 26k, the bumpers in an ikon cost 9k each and for a baleno it is in the same range, the consumables are also very expensive in case of a baleno, the esteem is very cheap to maintain, the lovering arm cost 900 each and the rake is 4.5k. Its a car if nicely driven will only ask you for a oil change a year and the fuel bills will make put a smile on your face when you compare if with others, an ikon 1.6 is a gas guzzler and returns a millage of 9 and the story is -+ 1km foir baleno, where as an esteem will no matter what return a millage of 15+.

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
All those cars you've mentioned are having high mileage. Try for a newer Ikon. As your budget is 1.5 lakhs, you can get a newer ikon with a rocam engine.

Ikon is very heavy on pocket after a certain age, its better to stay away from a used ford(read ikon and escort)

Pramod
Old 28th June 2010, 15:08   #1969

Found a dec09-jan10 Silver Ritz Vdi with 6k on odo here in Nagpur,Dealer asking 5 lacs( new one
on-road is 5.7).Is it a good deal ?
Old 28th June 2010, 19:06   #1970

Guys need help on the price of a Zen A/T 1997 model with just around 50k on the odo. The car is in excellent shape.
Old 28th June 2010, 19:44   #1971

Originally Posted by agspins View Post
Found a dec09-jan10 Silver Ritz Vdi with 6k on odo here in Nagpur,Dealer asking 5 lacs( new one
on-road is 5.7).Is it a good deal ?
Generally maruti cars demand a high resale value. I suggest you look for a new car (Ritz VDi). If you insist on the used Ritz, settle for 4.7-4.75L after an inspection. *general rule is to avoid dealers*
Old 28th June 2010, 19:59   #1972

Out of the three and the mentioned mileage and year of manufacture I would certainly go in for the Baleno.
Old 28th June 2010, 20:12   #1973

Why not a Accent?
it will come within your budget.
it is reliable.
it is still in Production.
spare part prices are cheap.

it doesnot handle pretty well,but it does the job well,and it aint a slouch either.
Old 28th June 2010, 20:27   #1974

Dear Mzone- A friend was faced with this dilemma till last week.
Problem-Budget of 1.5 lakh and needs to buy a sedan.
Choices- Esteem, Ikon 1.3/1.6, Baleno or Honda city type 2.
Helped her with a lot of R&D.
The Ikon is a drivers car and a person even with not much driving experience can tell the difference. The Ikon puts smile on your face till you see the needle movin to the E mark, faster than expected. The cost of spares are prohibitive too.
The costs of spares of Baleno are quite steep although being a Maruti.
We finally zeroed in on Honda City type 2 and Esteem.
Honda City type 2 version with its low slung driving position makes it a good drivers car, its said that ownership is tough to give up. It can be easily modded too.
Esteem is a complete VFM car, fuel efficient, spares are cheap.
I would suggest if you could also look at a Honda City 1999-2003 the price ranges between 1.5- 2.5 lakhs here in Mumbai.

Last edited by kavesh55 : 28th June 2010 at 20:29.
Old 28th June 2010, 21:43   #1975

What's the right price for a used Corolla?

Hello all.
I am new member and this is my first post.

I am looking out to buy a used Toyota Corolla in Bangalore. I am planning to use it for 3-4 years. My requirements are:
- Corolla H2 or H5, 2005 September onwards
- Run less than 50,000 km
- Single Owner, accident free, clean service records
- Budget: 5.5 lacs.

What price should I be expecting them at?

I came across a H1, 2005 December, run 27k. He is quoting 5.2 lac. This is from an individual. What do you think is the fair price for this?

Also I saw an H5, 2004, run 87 k from a dealer. He is quoting 5.25.

I am looking for your guidance.

Thank you.
Shrinivas
Old 28th June 2010, 21:57   #1976
AWD

Toyota's generally command a good resale price due to the no-unwanted maintenance & super-reliability.

27k is just nothing for a Corolla, the engine wouldn't even have opened up fully. I'd say go in for this one, provided the meter is showing correct reading.
Old 28th June 2010, 22:15   #1977

h1 is very basic not even cc.i would suggest try and find atleast h2
Old 28th June 2010, 23:31   #1978

Originally Posted by sureshkishore View Post
Guys need help on the price of a Zen A/T 1997 model with just around 50k on the odo. The car is in excellent shape.

90K to 105K. Nothing more than that. Good 97 zens go for around 65-75K but this car has not clocked much. Plus its an AT model. Still try to bag it for around 90K.

Last edited by YC.BALENO.CHD : 28th June 2010 at 23:33.
Old 28th June 2010, 23:45   #1979

Generally maruti cars demand a high resale value. I suggest you look for a new car (Ritz VDi). If you insist on the used Ritz, settle for 4.7-4.75L after an inspection. *general rule is to avoid dealers*
Not really interested in one, as its not spacious and even if i go for one will surely get a new one.I asked bout it as just came across it today.Overall vehicle is in good shape.
Old 29th June 2010, 09:03   #1980

Originally Posted by sureshkishore View Post
How do you know it is only 50k genuine ? Is it from directly the owner ?

Tough to figure out a 13 yr old car doing only that much, more so if its being available from a 'dealer'

They'll clock the odometer backwards, as well as make the car 'appear' so good you will feel it is in excellent shape. Get it evaluated properly.

Nothing more than 80k is what I think.