Old 5th August 2013, 18:08   #7876

What would a 09 Linea 1.4 NA with genuine 28k miles in good condition fetch? The car is in Baroda
Old 5th August 2013, 21:29   #7877

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

A friend of mine is looking for a used XUV500 here in Nashik. What would be a good price for a very well maintained 2012 W8 FWD variant with about 19K kms on it?
Old 5th August 2013, 22:54   #7878

My friend is looking for a car with a upper budget of 2L. He primarily wants to learn driving using this one + also would use this for the next 3 years before upgrading.

We saw this ad -

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...i/Esteem.html/

I personally felt this to be a good deal though can be negotiated a bit.

What other options can he try out?

Old 5th August 2013, 23:11   #7879

Originally Posted by callvvijay View Post

My friend is looking for a car with a upper budget of 2L. He primarily wants to learn driving using this one + also would use this for the next 3 years before upgrading.

We saw this ad -

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...i/Esteem.html/

I personally felt this to be a good deal though can be negotiated a bit.

What other options can he try out?

Thats a extremely high price for a 7+ year old esteem.
Actual price should not be more than 1L.
Old 5th August 2013, 23:34   #7880

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Thats a extremely high price for a 7+ year old esteem.
Actual price should not be more than 1L.
Akshay, I think 1L would be way too low for an Esteem - at least in this part of the country. Just browsing through the classifieds section in our site would let you know the prevailing trend for Esteem. Though it can be argued that what we see is a seller's quote, we cannot take too much out of a good car too.

And, the carwale valuation also suggests around 1.6L for this. However, I wanted to check with folks out here who would be having first-hand experience.

Last edited by callvvijay : 5th August 2013 at 23:37.
Old 6th August 2013, 11:30   #7881

If your friend wants a second hand Car within Rs. 2 lacs who wants to learn driving & keep this car for next three years, then I will simply suggest to look for 2006 / 2007 Maruti WagonR, Hyundai Santro or Maruti Alto.

These car will hold good for next 3 / 4 years. I will also suggest to avoid sedans more than 6 years which are available for less than Rs. 2 lacs.

Old 6th August 2013, 12:29   #7882

My friend is looking for a car with a upper budget of 2L. He primarily wants to learn driving using this one + also would use this for the next 3 years before upgrading.....What other options can he try out?
Ask him to go for a used Nano. He's likely to get one for <2L, moreover it'd probably still have warranty (+extended warranty maybe AMC too), that should work out economical while learning, coz the damages wouldn't cost anything much even if not covered u/d warranty. That too if he wants to use it for the next 3 years, he'd be carefree of the overall cost of ownership. Else, IMO overall an OLD Esteem would quite surely have niggles propping up now and then.
Old 6th August 2013, 14:41   #7883

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post

If your friend wants a second hand Car within Rs. 2 lacs who wants to learn driving & keep this car for next three years, then I will simply suggest to look for 2006 / 2007 Maruti WagonR, Hyundai Santro or Maruti Alto.

These car will hold good for next 3 / 4 years. I will also suggest to avoid sedans more than 6 years which are available for less than Rs. 2 lacs.

Thanks Jignesh! The same thought process here too - regarding WagonR/Santro. Alto (I own one) will be a bit cramped for his physique.

We checked out the Esteem today and it looked okay. But, 1.9L was a bit steep for that.

Now, my friend is thinking of increasing his budget to 2.5L ONLY for Swift and i10. Lets see how it goes.

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi View Post
Ask him to go for a used Nano.
Else, IMO overall an OLD Esteem would quite surely have niggles propping up now and then.
Thanks for the suggestion and yeah, would be a hassle-free drive for any learner.
Old 6th August 2013, 17:09   #7884

hey guys.I am looking out for a used petrol car for my mom and sister. My budget is around 2.5 to 2.8 max.Am only interested in Maruti.

I wanted to know about the market rate for maruti cars so I just checked out the nearest true value dealer and got the following quotes for(without haggling).

1. 2010 alot k10 vxi -first owner with ~25555 kms on the odo. price 2.60 lakhs
2. 2010 alot k10 vxi - first owner with ~10000 kms on the odo. price 2.75 lakhs
3. 2009 ritz vxi - first owner with ~63000 kms on the odo. price 2.95 lakhs
4. 2008 wagonR vxi -first owner with ~50000 kms on the odo. price 2.55 lakhs

with petrol prices ever rising and generally poor resale value of petrol cars( my 2011 petrol figo was evaluated at 2.35 lakhs by ford), are the above mentioned prices ok? Will i be able to get a swift or a ritz below 3 lakhs?? and if yes which year model should i expect?

thanks in advance.
Old 6th August 2013, 23:35   #7885

Originally Posted by rambo1o1 View Post

1. 2010 alot k10 vxi -first owner with ~25555 kms on the odo. price 2.60 lakhs
2. 2010 alot k10 vxi - first owner with ~10000 kms on the odo. price 2.75 lakhs
3. 2009 ritz vxi - first owner with ~63000 kms on the odo. price 2.95 lakhs
4. 2008 wagonR vxi -first owner with ~50000 kms on the odo. price 2.55 lakhs

with petrol prices ever rising and generally poor resale value of petrol cars( my 2011 petrol figo was evaluated at 2.35 lakhs by ford), are the above mentioned prices ok? Will i be able to get a swift or a ritz below 3 lakhs?? and if yes which year model should i expect?

thanks in advance.
This, I feel, is called as Apples-to-Oranges comparison.

Not to offend you, but Figo in petrol has a pathetic resale value. So, the quote you got for your car is not only because of the ever-increasing petrol prices. It's heavily contributed by the car in question too.

On the other hand, Marutis enjoy a formidable resale value. The prices you have got seems to be okay only to me - a 10k-25k reduction would do good - like Ritz & W-R on the higher side and K10 on the lower side.

callvvijay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2013, 14:16   #7886

Anyone looking for a used Brio VMT? I've got a 2012 April model for sale in Delhi/NCR with 9000kms on it. PM me if your interested. Swapping it out for a Polo GT.
Old 7th August 2013, 15:35   #7887

VW Polo 1.6 for sale in mumbai, DN-09 Registered. 2 year Old. 20000km.
Buying a polo GT. Pm if interested

Last edited by anarchy_99 : 7th August 2013 at 15:37.
Old 8th August 2013, 21:28   #7888

Guys
Sold my 2010 March i10 - Kappa Sportz ( pre-face lift ), run 32900kms for 3.1lakhs today at Chennai. Insurance was valid till March 2014

I got an indication from the forum that the price range would be 3.2-3.4. I had quoted in the higher band and settled for this price since I got a genuine buyer. I think it was a decent deal for both parties. Car was in very good condition with interiors almost as good as new. This also reflects the overall quality of Hyundai interiors - I must admit.
Old 9th August 2013, 14:00   #7889

Originally Posted by ZinFluent View Post
A friend of mine is looking for a used XUV500 here in Nashik. What would be a good price for a very well maintained 2012 W8 FWD variant with about 19K kms on it?

Can anyone please help out with this? Also, if there is any particular aspect to look out for or a checklist while buying a pre-owned XUV500?
Old 9th August 2013, 15:11   #7890

Originally Posted by ZinFluent View Post
Hello ZF,
Is your friend buying from a dealer or individual?
If it an individual, then a fair price should be around 12-12.25L & if it's a dealer then around 12.75L.
As for issues of XUV, there have been reports of brake pads & ICE related issues. Do check for it.

This thread will help you:-http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...solutions.html

BTW, how much is seller quoting?

Varun
powertrain is offline   (1) Thanks