Old 22nd May 2017, 08:56   #12016

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Build is far better than the Vista/Manza. If you maintain it well, it will definitely last long.
You are confusing this with the Tigor/Tiago. Zest has a 4 cylinder engine
My mistake. So Zest is the Manza successor. Thanks for the correction.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2017, 11:57   #12017

Thanks for quick responses.

Am ex-PuntoMJD/swift/scorpio user for 7yrs.

Car must have good ride quality, handling, suspension, steering feedback, build quality.
Service network must be good compared FIAT
Normal service expenses
Good Engine
Usage 60% City and 40% Highway
Even though i have 1 lakh + driving exp need ABS/Airbag
Quick to manuovere in city and highway
Monthly usage 1000kms + Once in 3 months Highway
Budget < 5L
Mileage <50000kms

I have shortlisted below cars:
1) Honda Brio VMT (4L-4.5L - 2013 to 2014 models)
2) Honda Amaze Diesel V (4.75L - 5.25L - 2013 to 2014 models)
3) Ford Figo Diesel Titanium (4.25L-4.75L 2013 to 2014 models)
4) Tata Zest & Bolt Diesel/Revotron XMS/XT (4L-5.5L 2014 to 2015 models)
5) Punto MJD 75/90hp remapped Dynamic/Emotion (4.25L-5.5L - 2013 to 2015 models)
6) Ford Fiesta 1.6 or TDCI Titanium (2010 models - 3L)
7) VW Polo 1.6 Petrol (5L - 2013 )

Please advice.
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:19   #12018

Originally Posted by blackstallion76 View Post
Ford Figo Diesel Titanium (4.25L-4.75L 2013 to 2014 models)
How many Km done ?

Among the list i think Ford Figo Diesel ticks all the boxes . The 1.4 TDCI is a gem and its a well built hatch with great handling .
karanraheja is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:24   #12019

Originally Posted by karanraheja View Post
How many Km done ?

Among the list i think Ford Figo Diesel ticks all the boxes . The 1.4 TDCI is a gem and its a well built hatch with great handling .
33000kms done. Compared to MJD, should I be worried anything on TDCI.
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:28   #12020

33000kms done. Compared to MJD, should I be worried anything on TDCI.
TDCI is quite a reputed engine . I think it should be trouble free upto 1 lac km. Go for it .
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:32   #12021

TDCI is quite a reputed engine . I think it should be trouble free upto 1 lac km. Go for it .
Shortlisted both Ford Figo 2013 33000kms run 4.25L & Punto MJD 2015 75hp run 27000kms 4.5L. This is where i am finding difficult to finalize. Both has abs airbag. I have gone through threads of TDCI vs MJDs. I am happy either of them. But, anxious if Punto 90HP would be better if at all i remap it.

With my usage not sure if I have to go for diesel. Hence, leaning on Brio/Zest/Amaze. BTW, how is Polo 1.6 Petrol.
Old 22nd May 2017, 12:52   #12022

Shortlisted both Ford Figo 2013 33000kms run 4.25L & Punto MJD 2015 75hp run 27000kms 4.5L. This is where i am finding difficult to finalize. Both has abs airbag. I have gone through threads of TDCI vs MJDs. I am happy either of them. But, anxious if Punto 90HP would be better if at all i remap it.

With my usage not sure if I have to go for diesel. Hence, leaning on Brio/Zest/Amaze. BTW, how is Polo 1.6 Petrol.
Where TDCI scores over MJD is no turbo lag and thats a boon in city traffic and you have mentioned 60% of your usage to be in City .

I have not driven the Polo 1.6 P so cant really comment much.
Old 22nd May 2017, 13:12   #12023

Where TDCI scores over MJD is no turbo lag and thats a boon in city traffic and you have mentioned 60% of your usage to be in City .

I have not driven the Polo 1.6 P so cant really comment much.
Does it mean that Honda Brio/Amaze are not good handlers and not highway capable cars. Any owners pls advice.

Yes, compared to Figo/Punto they may be behind on ride quality/handling/steering feedback.
Old 22nd May 2017, 13:17   #12024

My suggestion is to go for Figo among all the cars you mentioned. I might not be surprised if we hear the news of Fiat winding up its car business next
Old 22nd May 2017, 13:33   #12025

Does it mean that Honda Brio/Amaze are not good handlers and not highway capable cars. Any owners pls advice.
Brio/ Amaze are decent cars , when it comes to ride and handling they cant come close to the Figo/ Punto. I own the Amaze D and its a decent car for city usage but its diesel engine is too noisy and interiors are quite average.
Old 22nd May 2017, 14:04   #12026

Brio/ Amaze are decent cars , when it comes to ride and handling they cant come close to the Figo/ Punto. I own the Amaze D and its a decent car for city usage but its diesel engine is too noisy and interiors are quite average.
1. Figo ZXI 1.4 does not come with ABS. But, how is the braking in non-abs versions of Figo.
2. There are few 2012 Fiestas 1.6 & TDCI. How are these compared to Figo. Is it the same 68HP engine on tuned up engine.
3. How is 1.6 Engine if needed for Fiesta Petrol. Impressed with few threads of ownerships.
Old 22nd May 2017, 14:59   #12027

Yes, compared to Figo/Punto they may be behind on ride quality/handling/steering feedback.
Brio and Amaze are quite capable city cars and highway cars as well. OK they are not speed demon sort of cars but very decent if you want to cruise at 100 odd kmph.

The steering is very light and responsive - ok, not as snappy as the hydraulic power steering in an older Figo or Punto, because these are electronic power steering.

The one problem Brio / Amaze have is the front seats are narrow and with limited lumbar support, and no integrated headrest. Figo / Fiesta are much more comfortable that way.

The petrol amaze has a much more refined engine than the diesel variant.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2017, 15:08   #12028

We have both the Fiesta 1.4 Duratec and Figo Duratorq diesel in our family and extended family. I get to drive them both, quite often.

1. Figo ZXI 1.4 does not come with ABS. But, how is the braking in non-abs versions of Figo.
I would suggest a car with ABS any day. Don't know why, but the Fiesta(not the Figo) has excellent brake feel even without the ABS.

2. There are few 2012 Fiestas 1.6 & TDCI. How are these compared to Figo. Is it the same 68HP engine on tuned up engine.
Please decide if you need a diesel/petrol. Do not expect more than 11kmpl/15kmpl in city/highway from the 1.6.

The Tdci engine is the same in Figo/Fiesta. City:14kmpl/Highway:19kmpl

3. How is 1.6 Engine if needed for Fiesta Petrol. Impressed with few threads of ownerships.
The 1.6 petrol is in a different league of cars. I can clearly vouch, no other car in india(including punto/linea), can beat the Fiesta in terms of handling, steering feel. The heavy steering gives the input of every undulation on the road to the driver, like a go-cart. Depends on whether you like it or not. All this at a little compromise in the ride quality(linea/punto are marginally better in this aspect). The Figo diesel, in comparison is a little less fun to drive.

Cons with all first gen. Figo's/Fiesta's -
1) Clutch is a little heavy for prolonged city driving in heavy traffic(both petrol & diesel).
2) Ground clearance can be an issue on bad roads esp. when fully loaded.
3) If you are tall, you might feel the lack of under thigh support esp. in the city.

Last edited by jetsetgo08 : 22nd May 2017 at 15:14.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2017, 16:43   #12029

I am planning to sell my 5.5 years old Alto K10. Below are some details

1. Mfd : Nov 2011 , Registered : Dec 2011
2. Detailed Service History available ( Always serviced at MASS )
3. Accessories added : Pioneer HU with 4 JBL Speakers
4. Reason for sale : Booked new car
5. Car is non accidental
6. Kms Covered : 42000
7. Running on stock tyres and battery. Sufficient thread left ( due to sedate driving and no aggressive braking )
8. Kms left for next service : 4000

Value as per Carwale : 1.99 to 2.19 L

Value as per OBV : 1.67 to 1.77 L

- how much can i expect for this car?
- Should i try selling on OLX/Quickr/Team-bhp before going to Maruti True Value or Cars24?
- If i get the valuation from Maruti TV or Cars24 , for how much time is it valid?
Old 22nd May 2017, 17:13   #12030

Originally Posted by Sushil.H View Post
I am planning to sell my 5.5 years old Alto K10.
Value as per Carwale : 1.99 to 2.19 L
Value as per OBV : 1.67 to 1.77 L
As a buyer, I would be extremely happy to get a car of this vintage at any of the aforementioned prices.

As a seller, I would be expecting around ₹2.75lakhs and would happily part with it for ₹2.5lakhs.

Don't let it go for anything less than ₹2.25lakhs. I think even TruValue will easily offer you this price.
dailydriver is offline   (2) Thanks