Old 12th November 2009, 15:27   #1231

First of all get the Service record to authenticate the Mileage proof. All meters can be tampered easily to reduce the mileage to fetch better value.
Old 13th November 2009, 09:58   #1232

Correct Price for a 2006 Wagon R

Hi folks,
I have a offer for buying a 2006 Wagon R LXi , 23000 km run Its in a fair condition , have been driving it since 2 days, looks fine and justs need a regular service to be in a fit condition , its white in colour .
What would be the correct price to pay for it ?
Old 13th November 2009, 10:09   #1233

Check out maruti true value prices in your area for a similarly aged wagon r via Home | Maruti True Value Prices quoted there would usually be higher than if you're buying from an individual, so reduce around 20k from truevalue price for the approximate price you should pay.
Old 17th November 2009, 10:31   #1234

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
First of all get the Service record to authenticate the Mileage proof. All meters can be tampered easily to reduce the mileage to fetch better value.
Recently I visited the second hand car market and heard that most car meters are tempered, strangely most had 50-65 k reading!

Is there any authentic way to tell that meter has been tempered with and alternatively if there is none, can someone tell me if a high mileage petrol engine is better than diesel engine and why?
Old 17th November 2009, 10:35   #1235

Need advice in Buying 2004 Merc M Class

I am writing for my friend.
He just want to buy a 2004 Merc M Class 270 CDI .
It’s cloaked 80 k kms
The price they quote is 16 lacs
It’s a single owner car and not so abused one we guess

I like to know whether it’s a good deal.
We don’t have much idea about the maintenance cost.
Gurus please help us to make a decision
Old 17th November 2009, 16:03   #1236

Originally Posted by cijo View Post
It’s cloaked 80 k kms

16 lakhs for a 5 year old M Class is not a bad deal at all. The only problem : Its a W163 first-generation M Class. Simply put, one of the worst Merc SUVs ever made. A mid-life facelift improved matters, especially in the area of quality. This M Class you are speaking about was produced toward the end of the model year, hence initial niggles should have been solved. Still don't expect an entirely trouble free experience. Get it checked by an authorised Merc workshop. If your friend absolutely must have a Merc SUV, its a good price. If he doesn't need an SUV, I would highly recommend a late model E Class instead (slightly bump up the budget).
Old 17th November 2009, 16:21   #1237

Price check: 2004 Endeavour 4X2 - 1.2Lac Kms - Good condition (Serviced recently + Tyres like new + No accidents)
Old 17th November 2009, 16:40   #1238

Originally Posted by cijo View Post
It’s cloaked 80 k kms

I owned a ML350 also a 2004 MB India import, for 4 years. Absolutely trouble free and dependable, But, Thats it. She was very bouncy, lack of power with the 350 engine in there and guzzled fuel. Sold ultimately only because of the confused SUV qualities it possesed.
MB INdia imports were in 2004 but were all 2003 manufacture face lift version, better than the first launch version.
Old 17th November 2009, 16:44   #1239

Guys, even i also require a helping hand from any one of you. The model is HONDA CITY-EXI, Model 2004, KMs run- 58000. The owner is quoting aorund 3.8-4L. If i buy this i will be 3rd owner for this car. Is the price justifiable. The first owner has sold this through "first choise" to the 2nd owner and from then onwards i think the 2nd onwer has done aroun 3-4k kms(since he is next to my door,i have seen him). Is the price justifiable
Old 18th November 2009, 10:16   #1240

Need some help. My brother in law has been quoted about 1.2 lakhs for a 2001 Accord. I do not have any clue of the condition of the car or the ODO reading yet. Just a quick ball park of what a 2001 Honda Accord should be worth ? Any ideas ?
Old 18th November 2009, 10:25   #1241

Originally Posted by Seeler_Rebeiro View Post
Need some help. My brother in law has been quoted about 1.2 lakhs for a 2001 Accord. I do not have any clue of the condition of the car or the ODO reading yet. Just a quick ball park of what a 2001 Honda Accord should be worth ? Any ideas ?
This is a good deal unless the car has been abused and has lot of problems. Get the car checked by HondaASS and go for it.
Old 18th November 2009, 10:45   #1242

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
This is a good deal unless the car has been abused and has lot of problems. Get the car checked by HondaASS and go for it.
Thanks. Will go to see the car on Sat, at a farm house near Naigaon in Thane near Mumbai.
Old 18th November 2009, 12:52   #1243

Price check for Safari

My second post on the forum.

What should be the right price of a Tata Safari 4x2 EX DiCOR 2.2 VTT registered in Gurgaon

Year : Jun-2008
Kms Done : 21,000
Extended warranty is there.

I haven't seen the car yet but as per owner its scratchless.Please advice

Ijeet
Old 18th November 2009, 15:59   #1244
evo

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Price check: 2004 Endeavour 4X2 - 1.2Lac Kms - Good condition (Serviced recently + Tyres like new + No accidents)
7 Lakhs in Calcutta, though it was 2-3 weeks ago when I saw something in the classifieds.
Old 19th November 2009, 00:47   #1245

The petra 1.6 i asked about is sold even before I could meet the seller
! And guess what after buying it for 1.8 lacs the buyer has the audacity to put the ad in same website with same details for Rs 2.6 lacs.

Now I have come across a Baleno Lxi 2006 run for 43k kms (probably meter tempered)but the drive was not that good, i think the clutch was bad as it was shuddering in first gear and back gear. I am going to take the car to maruti dealer soon for checkup . Please advice what should I look for particularly while diagnosing the car?

Tyres were also past their prime and may need a replacement soon. They were appollo accelere. I could not find dot code for finding date on them, does this brand has dot coding or something else? Could someone having apollo tyres confirm it please? Please also suggest a price range for this car.