Old 28th June 2011, 10:50   #3181

Re: Need advice on buying a used 2004 bolero (Rs3lakhs)

Not worth 3L as Vikram mentioned.

Major works which you might have to do in the near future:

Suspension Overhaul
Timing Belt and all other belt replacements

Other than the above mentioned ones, check for electricals, clutch plates, etc.,

Rajesh
Old 28th June 2011, 11:40   #3182

Thanks for the quick response guys.
@comfortablynumb - Thanks for the indicative price. I did check the used car section of carwale but didnt see the price evaluator !! Thanks once again.

@2500cc - I'll keep those things in mind. In fact I read your thread about purchasing a bloero in the morning itself before posting mine!! Thanks!!
Old 28th June 2011, 12:37   #3183

Originally Posted by sinhead View Post
Hi guys,

I am considering buying a used Bolero GLX (2004), xdp, run 95,000 kms.
I know the person selling it, & know that that vehicle is well taken care of.

Two tyres are almost bald. Though grooves are there, but I'll need to replace them immediately. I'd prefer to change all four though.

Alternator has been repaired once recently since it refused to start once day, and some pump settings got done - both from lucas. (i dont know exactly which pump - pardon my ignorance).

Price quoted is 3lakhs.

I have been reading bolero threads on team bhp & read a lot of praise for this engine.

But, I would like to know -
1. What problems should I be prepared for, for a Bolero this old ?
2. Which crucial parts will require immediate attention / replacement, so that I can set aside a minimum buffer to take care of these expenses.
3. Should I expect timing belt replacement since it is already at 95K ?
4. I intend to keep it atleast for another 3 to 4 years. I understand that it
will not be niggle free ownership, but I dont want to be visiting the workshop every 10 days either.
5. I wont be using it for commuting to work (since I work from home), so it'll be regular city usage & atleast one highway trip / long drive every month.

Hope to get some good advice from the experts.

& Thank you Teambhp for this wonderful forum, which makes Car-mags unnecessary & useless.
Let us have some observations feedback
What was the smoke quality ( black/white)
Engine temp after you drive few kilometers
Any noise when it crosses some bad patches ( concave/convex)
Any additional noise from engine bay.
Rust area
Let me know we can visit the classic motors Noida for a detail feedback
svpatra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th June 2011, 12:57   #3184

Re: CAR Registration charges for buying CD registered SX4

Hey can anyone give me details of Registration charges for buying SX-4 which have been registered with a "CD" No.

Car Mileage: 18000Kms
Asking Price: 8000USD.
Old 30th June 2011, 14:23   #3185

Originally Posted by Subaro123 View Post
Asking Price: 8000USD.
Sorry this is generally an Indian forum. We can at best give you prices here. Not much idea about US or other markets.

Though you can try the forums from those countries.
Old 30th June 2011, 14:26   #3186

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Sorry this is generally an Indian forum. We can at best give you prices here. Not much idea about US or other markets.

Though you can try the forums from those countries.
He is asking about a diplomat's car being sold in Delhi for 8k USD with CD number plates. Means, he needs to re-register the car.
Old 30th June 2011, 15:14   #3187

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Yes i am exactly asking the same what mukesh is referring to. What I have to pay as a registration charges? Will it be same as the normal registration or else there would be some additional duties on the car as well.
Old 30th June 2011, 21:45   #3188

Guys I have one query. While buying a used car what governs the asking price:
1. The current OTR price of a new car - which in many instances has increased over the time since the cars original OTR at the time of purchase.
or,
2. The original OTR price what the owner paid.

For example what should be the price for a Corolla Altis Diesel GL model, 2010, 20000 kms on the odo? The ex-showroom price at the time of purchase was around 1 Lac less then the current OTR price of the same model.
Old 30th June 2011, 23:12   #3189

Drmohitg, it oughta be 2. If someone is pulling the 1 over you, tell him you want, then, all the features of the current version as well. that should take things straight to number 2!
Old 1st July 2011, 09:29   #3190

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Drmohitg, it oughta be 2. If someone is pulling the 1 over you, tell him you want, then, all the features of the current version as well. that should take things straight to number 2!
No it is never 2, it is always 1 (unless features have been added on, which has not been the case for a lot of cars). Why will someone decide his sale price based on what he paid for it? He will see the current price in the market and set the price accordingly. For example a Swift VDI used to cost 5.7 lakhs on road bangalore 3 years back. Today it is 6.37 lakhs. That three year old swift will still command a resale value of 4.5 lakhs
Old 1st July 2011, 10:47   #3191

Originally Posted by radiokidb View Post
No it is never 2, it is always 1 (unless features have been added on, which has not been the case for a lot of cars). Why will someone decide his sale price based on what he paid for it? He will see the current price in the market and set the price accordingly. For example a Swift VDI used to cost 5.7 lakhs on road bangalore 3 years back. Today it is 6.37 lakhs. That three year old swift will still command a resale value of 4.5 lakhs
thats what i said too.
if you want to sell a 2k6 model fiesta, you gotta take into consideration if the 2nd value being quoted is based on list price of an sxi with ABS, or without it.or if the stereo is mp3 compatible or not.
went through that.
Old 1st July 2011, 14:38   #3192

Guys I have one query. While buying a used car what governs the asking price:
1. The current OTR price of a new car - which in many instances has increased over the time since the cars original OTR at the time of purchase.
or,
2. The original OTR price what the owner paid.

For example what should be the price for a Corolla Altis Diesel GL model, 2010, 20000 kms on the odo? The ex-showroom price at the time of purchase was around 1 Lac less then the current OTR price of the same model.
Has to be 1 (the current OTR). So if you find that taxes have increased (like in Delhi last year) or if the current OTR is higher (a la Cruze) prices for used ones will increase. Similarly if current OTR goes down (because of heavy dealer discounts or price correction by the company itself) then prices for used ones also drop (ask any Honda City owner who bought his/her car 3 months ago ).

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
thats what i said too.
if you want to sell a 2k6 model fiesta, you gotta take into consideration if the 2nd value being quoted is based on list price of an sxi with ABS, or without it.or if the stereo is mp3 compatible or not.
went through that.
Typically acessorized cars command little premium in the used car market (unless you find a appreciative buyer looking for the exact same features). That is why top-end models depreciate more than others in the line-up.
Cesc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st July 2011, 22:08   #3193

So in the current scenario if I am looking to buy an Altis Diesel, then the used car price for last years model when it was launched should be considerably less right as a new version with slight tweaks here and there has been launched. The major difference is surely the addition of the touch screen ICE by Toyota. But even the minor tweaks with the Front grille and the Lights should be enough to label last years model as old right?
Old 6th July 2011, 08:41   #3194

Guys, please me with the used car price for the following two models-

Both cars based in Cochin.

1. Honda Civic 1.8V (July 2007), 49000 on the odo, asking 7,95,000.

2. Ford Fiesta 1.4 SXi ABS (Dec 2008), 60000 on the odo, asking 5,75,000.

I am upgrading from 2006 Swift VDi. Present requirement is for a sedan with airbags and ABS. This will be mostly driven by my parents.

Old 6th July 2011, 10:21   #3195

Originally Posted by kevintomin View Post
Both cars based in Cochin.

2. Ford Fiesta 1.4 SXi ABS (Dec 2008), 60000 on the odo, asking 5,75,000.
I remember a 1.4Sxi ABS/Airbag Jan/2010 with 15000km, was offered for 6L about a month back, in Cochin.

IMO, this price is high considering its mileage and, since its in COCHIN. Think its quoted high as diesel cars, have become the latest trend, there.
Twiny is offline   (1) Thanks