Old 16th January 2018, 15:36   #12541

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

I had purchased an Alto LXi in 2009 for Rs.3.04 L.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...lto-spice.html

Well it did give us it's share of troubles and we ended up selling it but not before I managed to fix all the issues. We got a resale of 2.00 L after 2 years. My wife still keeps cursing me for selling it. I'm still in touch with the guy who bought it and thinking of buying it back. It was still in good condition when I last saw it a couple of years ago. I just told him I wanted it back and he said he'd think about it as he's retired and the car is just kept as a spare car at home.

I'm estimating it has run not more than 70K based on his usage pattern (was used by his daughter when they just bought it). I'm sure I can use my convincing skills to persuade him to let it go. How much should I offer him? Similar aged cars on OLX are quoted 1.25 - 1.60 L.

I know I will have to offer him a bit extra so he can't resist. Kindly suggest a good offer to make.

Last edited by ampere : 25th January 2018 at 00:38. Reason: spaced to add readability
pedrolourenco is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2018, 15:44   #12542

Folks,

Kindly advise what should be a good price for a 2008 Grand Vitara. Below are the details:

Model: Nov 2008
Variant: 2008 , 2.0 MT
Color: Silver
Owner: Second Owner
Fuel: Always been on Petrol, no CNG kit installed ever.
Mileage: 62000
Service Histroy: Available and completely serviced at Maruti Service
Condition: Excellent and owned by an enthusiast

Thanks in advance
Old 16th January 2018, 16:09   #12543

Originally Posted by revved_up View Post
Folks,
Kindly advise what should be a good price for a 2008 Grand Vitara.
I would suggest close to 2L, it has another 5 years to go, please check for expenses (tires, oil and other stuff) right after the purchase before you sign the dotted line.

Good Luck.
Torquedo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2018, 17:07   #12544

Originally Posted by pedrolourenco View Post
Similar aged cars on OLX are quoted 1.25 - 1.60 L.
I know I will have to offer him a bit extra so he can't resist. Kindly suggest a good offer to make.
1.8L, if you want to make an offer that he can't reject.

Jokes apart, I got 1.65L including exchange bonus from Truevalue for my 96k run 2009 Alto Lxi in June 2017. The usual quotes I got from other dealers were ranging from 1.2L-1.35L. So, anything about 1.4-1.5L can be considered a very good quote, if the car is mechanically good. If possible, please head over to nearest truevalue to find out the price range in your area.

Note:- Don't know why, but resale values of cars(esp. diesel) in Hyderabad are probably the highest in the country.

Last edited by jetsetgo08 : 16th January 2018 at 17:09.
Old 18th January 2018, 07:31   #12545

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
Someone I know got a 1.8 TSi superb in Chennai at 6.75 lakhs. Done 46k kms. 2010 model - same as yours. By the price you got, looks like he paid more.
Probably a figure around Rs 5 Lakhs would have been ideal considering the low mileage. Even if it is in immaculate condition the prices is higher. If Chennai suffers from rust issues the prices should be lower than Hyderabad
Old 21st January 2018, 18:45   #12546

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
Someone I know got a 1.8 TSi superb in Chennai at 6.75 lakhs. Done 46k kms. 2010 model - same as yours. By the price you got, looks like he paid more.
I am looking to let go of my 2011 1.8 TSI AT Superb, 90k driven, First Owner, taken care of like a baby since day 1. Its a mind over heart decision because of the daily parking issues, Hoping to find the right home for this baby. It would be great if some BHPian would be interested. OBV was showing a good price but much cheaper options are available on CarDekho and all, little confused about what could be a good price for the same.
Also has anybody tried Cars24 and is it worth a try?
Old 24th January 2018, 10:56   #12547

Hi Folks,
I am looking to sell my car, since I moving abroad for long term :
  • Baleno (Ray Blue), Nov 2015, petrol, manual, 10k kms.
  • Comprehensive full second service done just last month (including wheel balancing)
  • Comprehensive insurance taken with zero Depreciation cover applicable till Nov 2018.
  • Full floor carpet done, and stitched seat covers. Door guards, side guards all done.

What's the best price to expect?
As a true team - bhpian, car is in immaculate condition

Last edited by ampere : 25th January 2018 at 00:39. Reason: Formatted
Old 24th January 2018, 17:45   #12548

My friend wants to sell his Toyota Etios Liva Vx Petrol Manual. Bought in Dec 2012.
Kilometers so far 12,000 approx. Registered in Mumbai.

What is the best price my friend can expect for this vehicle.
Vehicle is not used much and is always serviced at Toyota service centre.
He intends to go in for a Compact SUV and the showrooms are offering him 1.5~1.75L which he feels is too low.
Online evaluators are saying it should fetch 2.5~3.0L which he feels is too optimistic.
He wants a ballpark figure so he can approach independent second hand dealers.

Old 24th January 2018, 18:54   #12549

Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
He intends to go in for a Compact SUV and the showrooms are offering him 1.5~1.75L which he feels is too low.
Yes, he is right. They are lowballing.

Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
Online evaluators are saying it should fetch 2.5~3.0L which he feels is too optimistic.
No, he is wrong. It is very much an ideal price for a car that is just 12,000km old. Although Liva petrol isn't a quick mover, I would suggest to sell it to an "individual only" through any of the office classifieds or other ad portals like OLX, Quikr, Carwale, team-bhp. It might take about a month or two, and he can decide based on his urgency. It would be a real pity if a well maintained low mileage car ends with a greedy dealer.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th January 2018, 20:57   #12550

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
No, he is wrong. It is very much an ideal price for a car that is just 12,000km old. It would be a real pity if a well maintained low mileage car ends with a greedy dealer.
@jetsetgo08 Thank you for your prompt reply.

The news that the Etios Liva can fetch upto 3.0L will be music to my friend's ear. Will suggest that he try to find an individual buyer on his own or use various online sites rather than depending on the car showroom chaps who will lowball him. My friend is not in too much of a hurry, seems partial towards the facelift Creta, HR-V or the rumoured Toyota Rush.

Since there is no news yet about their launch, he has sufficient time to do his research and offload his vehicle. Yes it is a shame that he hasn't used the vehicle much. Hope he treats his next vehicle better.
Will update this thread as and when he goes through with his sale.

Thanks again jetsetgo08

Last edited by ampere : 25th January 2018 at 00:38. Reason: formatted
Old 25th January 2018, 02:36   #12551

How about a 2015 Polo highline 1.5TDI run about 34k kms for ~5.5lac. The car seems to be well maintained in pictures. Would be making a visit very soon. The only downside I feel is lack of extended warranty.
Old 25th January 2018, 11:52   #12552

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

My 2010 March Black color Toyota Fortuner was sold last week for 8.6 lacs to a dealer.

Delhi Registration. 1.20 lacs kms. The most important point according to the dealer was that my car had all original paint including the bumpers, which he told me, are usually repainted due to the nicks in our traffic.

It was sold from dealer to dealer and in the end I got my money via bank transfer.

Last edited by car_crazy1400 : 25th January 2018 at 11:54.
car_crazy1400 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2018, 11:39   #12553

If anyone could respond to this it would be of great help.
thanks
abhishek

Originally Posted by abhik897 View Post
Hi Folks,
I am looking to sell my car, since I moving abroad for long term :
  • Baleno (Ray Blue), Nov 2015, petrol, manual, 10k kms.
  • Comprehensive full second service done just last month (including wheel balancing)
  • Comprehensive insurance taken with zero Depreciation cover applicable till Nov 2018.
  • Full floor carpet done, and stitched seat covers. Door guards, side guards all done.

What's the best price to expect?
As a true team - bhpian, car is in immaculate condition
Old 26th January 2018, 12:13   #12554

Originally Posted by abhik897 View Post
If anyone could respond to this it would be of great help.
thanks
abhishek
Can you specify which variant you own ?
Old 26th January 2018, 12:16   #12555

Originally Posted by sankdeshmukh View Post
Can you specify which variant you own ?
Sorry to have missed out on that, its Alpha (1.2lt),manual, petrol
thanks