Old 5th May 2009, 19:01   #736

What Car?

Hey Guys,

I'm planning to buy a used car in Chennai and my budget can stretch to about 5 Lacs. I plan on keeping the car for atleast next 3-5 years. As of now, i am exploring Corolla and Swift... and OHC ZX Vtec if i am lucky. Getting many OHC ZX Gxi for the price though.

Have seen a couple of cars lately through TSM (dealer here), please give your opinion on the same.

Corolla H5 55,000 KM 2004 Model Asking 5 Lacs
Swift Vxi 16,500 KM 2005 Model Asking 3.2 Lacs
Swift Vxi 18,000 KM 2006 Model Asking 3.5 Lacs

Please advise..
Old 7th May 2009, 09:00   #737

People, what would be a good price for a decently maintained 2002 Accent GLS in Bangalore? The individual I'm in talks with is asking for Rs.2.4lakhs.

Also was the Lancer ever available in a light bronze color from the company in 2001? Coz I have a dealer here who has a 2001 Lancer up for grabs at Rs2.6 lakhs, but I'm not sure if it is a company color...
Old 8th May 2009, 16:05   #738
vinfriend

M800 1992 model for 35K, good deal?

M800, 1992 model, AC not working, 2 six months old radials, 1yr old battery, interior is not so good. is it good buy for 35k in kerala? plz help.

Old 8th May 2009, 18:35   #739

Difficult to tell with this limited information but do check if FC has been done since it would have expired in 2007. Also check for rust since it is from a coastal area.
Old 8th May 2009, 18:38   #740

Santro Xing XO - May 2007 - 3 L reasonable ?

Hi Team,

Can you please help me in purchasing my 1st car. I saw a car of Santro Xing Xo - Limited Edition - May 2007, Just run 4500 Kms, Real Earth Color,
All 4 power windows, fog lamps, dvd player, rare wipe quoting 3 lakhs?
Car is in excellent conditions, couple of minor scratches. Is the price reasonable ? I am in bangalore and new Santro GLS costs here 4.1 lakhs on raod without discounts.
Old 8th May 2009, 21:45   #741
vinfriend

How many times/years a car can get re-registered? The 1st registration is for 15yrs then get it re-registered for another 5yrs. My doubt is how many yrs this re-registration process can continue. If I maintain it in good condition, what is the limit of Fitness Certificate and re-registration period in years.

Old 9th May 2009, 10:17   #742

As of now, for personal cars, as far as I know, if the car is in a good roadworthy condition, there is no limit. I know a friend who has done it three times already, so that would be a total of 30 years !
Old 9th May 2009, 12:44   #743

Originally Posted by vinfriend View Post
M800, 1992 model, AC not working, 2 six months old radials, 1yr old battery, interior is not so good. is it good buy for 35k in kerala? plz help.
The price is OK. Have you driven it ?

How many times/years a car can get re-registered? The 1st registration is for 15yrs then get it re-registered for another 5yrs. My doubt is how many yrs this re-registration process can continue. If I maintain it in good condition, what is the limit of Fitness Certificate and re-registration period in years.
No limit in India yet !
Old 9th May 2009, 18:40   #744
oss

Any idea about how much would a used Corolla Altis cost in the market?
I am looking for the G or GL model.
Old 11th May 2009, 01:26   #745

Ford Ikon ZXi 1.6 Nxt Mar 2005

Folks,

Need help!

I am looking for a used car in Bangalore with a budget of around 3 lacs. I will probably keep this buy for 1-2 years.

Can I go ahead with the following used car?

Ford Ikon 1.6 ZXi Nxt

Make- Mar 2005
ODO- approx 30k
Fully loaded all OEM including ICE.
Comprehensive insurance - till mar 2010
Accident Free - some dents on right door and routine scratches.
Single owner
Company owned car, fleet managed so I am confident of the service history.
Interiors have been very well maintained and the drive was really smooth.
No rust or oil leaks under the hood.

Damage - 2.8L ( Final price after a lot of haggling)
--------------------------------------------

I will be driving around 1000kms in the city every month mostly with AC on and very occasional long drives.

I would like to sell it after 1-2 years and not lose a fortune in maintainance and resale.

Is this a good deal? advice!!

Naresh

Last edited by Swift_ICE : 11th May 2009 at 01:45. Reason: Adding more information
Old 11th May 2009, 18:37   #746

Please help me. I am waiting for the expert advice here. thanks.
Old 11th May 2009, 18:56   #747

Try bargaining a bit i think 2.5 if all the details mentioned above are packa. How are the tires? This should give you an indication of kms run.

Check for the silencer corrosion, this will cost you around 15k for replacement and iKON's are notorious for this. Also do get it check through an authorized dealer before you cut the cheque.
Old 11th May 2009, 19:39   #748

Thanks Jaggu,
The tires are fine as in makes it evident that the odo wasnt tampered.
Silencer corrosion, havent checked specifically. Just checked casually under the bonnet and everything seemed fine.

Do you have any idea about a mechanic? I had called up metro ford and reached a mechanic, he said they do only ford assured. That would be of great help.

Price again I dont think he will come down to 2.5, so I will probably drop the deal.

Naresh
Old 11th May 2009, 20:02   #749

You can take it to Metro ford and request them, i think they can do a quick check and let you know if all is well. This is the best option since they would know what to assess for this make. Otherwise any competent mech can do an overall check and give you an opinion.

Silencer, just look under from rear and inspect the big silencer box, thats the first to erode. Regarding price do check with others also am not an expert in price evaluation
Old 11th May 2009, 21:10   #750

Originally Posted by Swift_ICE View Post
Folks,

Need help!

I am looking for a used car in Bangalore with a budget of around 3 lacs. I will probably keep this buy for 1-2 years.

Can I go ahead with the following used car?

Ford Ikon 1.6 ZXi Nxt

Make- Mar 2005
ODO- approx 30k
Fully loaded all OEM including ICE.
Comprehensive insurance - till mar 2010
Accident Free - some dents on right door and routine scratches.
Single owner
Company owned car, fleet managed so I am confident of the service history.
Interiors have been very well maintained and the drive was really smooth.
No rust or oil leaks under the hood.

Damage - 2.8L ( Final price after a lot of haggling)
--------------------------------------------

I will be driving around 1000kms in the city every month mostly with AC on and very occasional long drives.

I would like to sell it after 1-2 years and not lose a fortune in maintainance and resale.

Is this a good deal? advice!!

Naresh

Buy it with your eyes closed. I have owned & driven a 1.6L Ikon zxi 2002 to 2005. It is brilliant to drive but has a bad drinking habbit..if you can live with that, it is a great car.

Footnote: when you sell, don't expect the earth for it.

Last edited by Ricky_63 : 11th May 2009 at 21:12.