Old 4th June 2010, 11:45   #1756

They could be Skoda's own cars. MH20 is where they are manufactured. Check if they have 'BC' series in their numbers. If so, then they probably are cars used by skoda employees and also used as press cars. Sure way to check would be the RC books.

Drifter

Last edited by drifter : 4th June 2010 at 11:48.
Old 4th June 2010, 12:39   #1757

Originally Posted by drifter View Post
They could be Skoda's own cars. MH20 is where they are manufactured. Check if they have 'BC' series in their numbers. If so, then they probably are cars used by skoda employees and also used as press cars. Sure way to check would be the RC books.

Drifter

All the cars are from the same series, However I donot recollect the series.
Old 4th June 2010, 19:51   #1758

Originally Posted by zulfikar View Post
hi,
a friend of mine was interested in buying an I10 Auto in Hyderabad

These is a 2009 Aug i10 Sports A/T Blushing red available for sale.
It has done only 8100Kms.
Insurance is going to expire on 6th July 2010.
It has only 1 dent which is not that bad.

The car in general, is very Clean.

SO what should i pay for this car.

Sorry didnt take any pics...
No responses at all????
Old 4th June 2010, 20:02   #1759

^^ What is the OTR price for i10 Automatic ?
Old 4th June 2010, 21:31   #1760
mkh

Ford

Its very interesting to see that people here also post that when it comes to a Ford, buy at rock bottom prices. Though i do know that the feeling of low resale with ford has a lot to do with its notorious past, but what is the scene now? I saw people putting a Fiest S 1 year old at 5.5 lacs??? The OTR price for that in bangalore is 8.5 after all discounts, a 3 lac cut in a year? we are talking about more than 30% in a year!!!! Does this mean that never buy a fiesta or just buy,use and throw??
Old 4th June 2010, 23:40   #1761

Hi, my friend has checked out a used Hyundai Accent Viva CRDi. It is a 2005 model Silver colour car. It has run around 52k kms with LTT and Comprehensive Insurance paid and currently owned by the second owner. It has alloys (did not notice brand, but looked basic). The tyres have very little life left in them, probably around 2-3k. We took a test drive and found the car to be good and smooth. What could be a fair price for this car? The used car dealer has stated Rs 4.25L nego. The car does not have any service records, but was last serviced in Trident Hyundai. This is in Bangalore btw.

PS: Does anybody know a good mechanic in and around Jayanagar/Banashankari area so that we can take him to check out the car?

Addy

Last edited by addyhemmige : 4th June 2010 at 23:43. Reason: added more info
Old 5th June 2010, 00:03   #1762

Originally Posted by mkh View Post
Its very interesting to see that people here also post that when it comes to a Ford, buy at rock bottom prices. Though i do know that the feeling of low resale with ford has a lot to do with its notorious past, but what is the scene now? I saw people putting a Fiest S 1 year old at 5.5 lacs??? The OTR price for that in bangalore is 8.5 after all discounts, a 3 lac cut in a year? we are talking about more than 30% in a year!!!! Does this mean that never buy a fiesta or just buy,use and throw??
I am not sure about the notorious past, and franky know very little about it, but, Ford A.S.S has some issues with expensive spares. I don't know if that has changed. If at all it has then the people's mentality hasn't.

Originally Posted by addyhemmige View Post
Hi, my friend has checked out a used Hyundai Accent Viva CRDi. It is a 2005 model Silver colour car. It has run around 52k kms with LTT and Comprehensive Insurance paid and currently owned by the second owner. It has alloys (did not notice brand, but looked basic). The tyres have very little life left in them, probably around 2-3k. We took a test drive and found the car to be good and smooth. What could be a fair price for this car? The used car dealer has stated Rs 4.25L nego. The car does not have any service records, but was last serviced in Trident Hyundai. This is in Bangalore btw.
Quite frankly I am surprised the dealer quoted sub 5 lakhs for a CRDi.
I would recommend a through check up of the engine and bay area, before even starting to negotitate about the diesel. Next, most people I know of do have the tendency to sell of their diesels after 5 years as they suspect maintenence bills to crop up sooner or later.
If you get it 4L flat it will be great, sub 4L and you'll be noticed for your negotitation skills around here.

So, I hope you cut a better deal and best of luck with the same.

Last edited by prince_pervez : 5th June 2010 at 00:05.
Old 5th June 2010, 00:05   #1763

can anybody help me in finding baleno altura in mumbai or pune.
Old 5th June 2010, 01:10   #1764
mkh

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
I am not sure about the notorious past, and franky know very little about it, but, Ford A.S.S has some issues with expensive spares. I don't know if that has changed. If at all it has then the people's mentality hasn't.
The escort and ikon were vv expensive, hence the image. Most parts were imported. Check out the autocar article that every ford showroom has, the spares are lesser than the city. That way the city spares are highest so that should have the lowest resale! Wonder if those who love the car for its driving pleasure pay a decent price for a used one? Mentality is very hard to change, we know that. Maybe with the figo it will change and people will see ford cars as decent second hand buys
Old 5th June 2010, 11:23   #1765

Originally Posted by mkh View Post
The escort and ikon were vv expensive, hence the image. Most parts were imported. Check out the autocar article that every ford showroom has, the spares are lesser than the city. That way the city spares are highest so that should have the lowest resale! Wonder if those who love the car for its driving pleasure pay a decent price for a used one? Mentality is very hard to change, we know that. Maybe with the figo it will change and people will see ford cars as decent second hand buys
Except for the fact that in a Honda you wouldn't need to change the parts as often as you would in a Ford. Things hardly ever go wrong in a Honda, not so with Ford. This is why the City commands insane resale values. For Ford, the less said the better. Ford cars usually provide excellent steering feedback and are hence fun to drive drivers cars, but the fun ends once you head to the workshop.

Last edited by longhorn : 5th June 2010 at 11:29.
Old 5th June 2010, 12:05   #1766

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
^^ What is the OTR price for i10 Automatic ?
I checked on Hyundai showroom...
its 5,67,000 On Road + 10 accessories free...

Which includes sunflim, remote lock, Teflon coating, under body coating, etc...
Old 5th June 2010, 12:27   #1767

Byuing a Baleno VXI from True Value

THE CAR:
I have recently booked a Baleno VXI Dec 2004 model done 66000 kms from Maruti True Value. The price is around Rs. 248000. The car comes with 1 year warranty, 3 free services. The car is in great shape and have got it thoroughly checked from my personal mechnic. The comp. insurance is till Dec. 2010.
THE ISSUEs:
The bumpers had holes the size of 2 rupee coins in them as the earlier owner had tried to fix the bumpers with screws, the true value guys have assured me that they would change both the bumpers, there are a some scratches on the RHS rear quarter panel and the touchup work would also be done by the true value guys with out charging me any extra amount.
MY QUERIES:
Though the car runs like a dream (my test drive was extensive) I want to know from the experts here if I am paying the correct price and are the free services provided for second hand cars from Maruti as genuine as the ones that come with new cars.

Turboholic.
Old 5th June 2010, 16:05   #1768
mkh

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
Except for the fact that in a Honda you wouldn't need to change the parts as often as you would in a Ford. Things hardly ever go wrong in a Honda, not so with Ford. This is why the City commands insane resale values. For Ford, the less said the better. Ford cars usually provide excellent steering feedback and are hence fun to drive drivers cars, but the fun ends once you head to the workshop.
I have read and gone through several threads, though what you say is what a lot of people outside of TBHP say, have not come across many users who say this( for the fiesta) this was true again for the ikon and escort.
Any owner feedback to support this statement? Asking ONLY because looking at buying a fiesta maybe
Old 5th June 2010, 18:37   #1769

hi

Originally Posted by addyhemmige View Post

PS: Does anybody know a good mechanic in and around Jayanagar/Banashankari area so that we can take him to check out the car?

Addy
Addy,

If you could come till koramangala BDA complex and take the right road at nandini (consider coming from madiwala side) follow the slope road straight and take the third right. Sorry for not exactly rem the block and main, my bad memory.

Once u take the right, just another 100m ahead on right side you get this service centre. Dont worry there is only one there in that area only. Mechanic name is nagaraj, and often he does the check up, take a test drive, take it on ramp to check the underbody hits, oil sump hits etc...and esp for used cars and get a fair answer for all your queries. He can even tell you the right quote if at all you need. Just pay some nominal amount as a goodwill. You can tell my name in case - Prasoon, tell him last month I came with a Honda city to check, if unable to recollect.

In case unable to reach him or this place, do PM me.

Rgrds
prsn
Old 5th June 2010, 18:55   #1770

Originally Posted by Abhi_Automobile View Post
There seems to be no response to this!! I don't know if there are better sources to look. Jaago..

f

That's an awfully high price for a car ( no matter how good it is) that is 8 yrs old. Bangalore is:

1) Ridiculous second hand prices. Apart from the high entry point, most sellers simply 'think' they should get more for the car. Some buyers oblige high prices as well so I can't blame them for charging high.

2) Obsessed with OHC VTECs. I am a Delhiite and have been to Mumbai. I have not seen such craze for OHC VTEC in any other city.

Keeping 'Bangy' factors in mind, you may want to try to negotiate to 3.25 or so. Start from 3 though. Anything more, will be an overkill.
Well said Abhi.

Really not only for Vtec, the whole honda breed machines of the year model range - 2000 to 2003, are the most sought cars in bangalore.
Obsessed with type II OHC's I say. Seeing the second hand prices, it just feels to buy a new car only, but unfortunately the type II OHC's are one class apart. I dont think anything has come up to replace them atleast in second hand car market. Maybe there is one baleno and to an extent lancer, for perfomance driven cars. And Honda raised the bar again with ANHC, the prices are way too high and does not make sense for a guy like me.

Anyway I have not gone far too behind the same after this post. As soon my interest on that lost, another OHC vtec is being listed for my perusal.
This is 2001 OHC vtec, done 68k km, now owned by doctor, the second owner. It has new michelin tyres, recently serviced. Tomorrow may go and see the car. Will post the rest of details after that.

Atleast since it was a doctor owned car, and hopefully well maintained so is my interest grown to check it out, and also was on belief that price quote will be reasonable. Seems he too is bitten by vtec bug and hence quoting 4 lakh, not negotiable at all. I am in two minds just to go and check only if this is the case, since once he told non-nego I dont think it makes sense to re-qoute any offer only.

Let me get some idea from you folks. What should be the right quote in case I am able to make.

rgrds
prsn