Old 28th February 2011, 13:18   #2791

Re: Help in buying a second hand car in Mumbai

My response in bold below:
Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post

1. He has a 2010 i20 Sportz Petrol which got registered in June 2010.
2. Apart from his asking price, what is the other amounts that I have to spend on various formalities in RTO.
You don't have to pay anything to the RTO except transfer fees
3. Do I have to pay road tax and registration all over again? No
4. He already has an insurance but I'd like to get a new one (the 100% depreciation wala stuff). Is it available on second hand cars? You will have to transfer the insurance. If you want to change the insurance, you'll have to cancel the insurance and take a new one
5. If not, can he switch his insurance to this before selling the car to me (will this formality happen quickly in 2-3 days)? He cannot

I'm searching for information related to this in the forums too and will continue doing so.
Old 1st March 2011, 07:34   #2792

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Is paying 5L a good deal for the above mentioned car (May 2010 i20 Sportz Petrol) which has run just 2350 kms?
Old 1st March 2011, 08:47   #2793

Originally Posted by kalpeshc View Post
Is paying 5L a good deal for the above mentioned car (May 2010 i20 Sportz Petrol) which has run just 2350 kms?
In Chennai, I have seen several 2010 i20 Asta variants selling at 5 - 5.3 lakhs.

The kms the car has run is really low.You could try to negotiate around 4.75 lakhs.If the car is in mint condition then bag it.
Old 1st March 2011, 09:19   #2794

It definitely is in mint condition and the other advantage is that it belongs to a very good friend, so paperwork/money transfer is not going to be a hassle.
Old 1st March 2011, 19:16   #2795
SMK

How much do i pay for a 2005 Model Skoda Diesel done 90k and maintained really well? The dealer is asking for 5.5 Lakhs. Is it worth it? Also, what are the known niggle of this car?

Its a Skoda Rider 1.9 TDI single owner well maintained car in Bangalore.

Last edited by SMK : 1st March 2011 at 19:25.
Old 1st March 2011, 20:18   #2796

Originally Posted by SMK View Post

How much do i pay for a 2005 Model Skoda Diesel done 90k and maintained really well? The dealer is asking for 5.5 Lakhs. Is it worth it? Also, what are the known niggle of this car?

Its a Skoda Rider 1.9 TDI single owner well maintained car in Bangalore.

I believe you are talking about Skoda Octavia here.
Market value would be anywhere between 4.5L - 5.5L. but the catch here is the 1 Lakh Km service would be due in another 10K Km which would surely leave a BIG hole in your pocket. Try to get hold of a low mileage done skoda (40-60K) or else just stay away from them as Octavia is a phased out version and there is already a bad hit on the demand for used ones. It would be a nightmare to get rid of her few years down the line.
Remember Used Ford Escorts?

EDIT: Rider is the low end variant available

Last edited by aa_asif : 1st March 2011 at 20:19.
Old 1st March 2011, 21:13   #2797

I was in Bangalore for business needs, but then, as usual, I my break included researching the used car market for good examples of Fiesta's.

Mannn!!!... Bangalore used car market is NUTS!!..

2006 Fiesta ZXI 1.4 TDCi, 60k run, 3rd owner, quoted 4.9L
2008 Fiesta EXI 1.4 TDCi, 48k run, 2nd owner, quoted 6.75L
..and I thought it was only in Kerala we had to pay a premium for Diesels.

I think there is some serious scope for used car business in Bangalore.
Old 1st March 2011, 22:54   #2798

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
And the scene is entirely different if you want to sell your car to a broker/dealer.

Same cars, if you want to sell, would fetch atleast 50-60K less from the same people who are quoting these funny figures!

Bangalore locals business people (from auto-walahs to Used Car Showrooms) have a notion that these Software Engineers pluck the money out of some kind of special trees which are grown inside these huge fancy glass buildings.

Sigh!

Last edited by aa_asif : 1st March 2011 at 22:55.
Old 2nd March 2011, 00:02   #2799

Classifieds show a 2006 DX Scorpio done 75000 kms in gurgaon...the vehicle is neat, but going by the fact that it's already a 3rd owner vehicle the quote of 4.7 lks seems high.....folks...what would be the appropriate price for this...my guess....4.25 max.... would appreciate inputs from the community...

cheers !

RD
Old 2nd March 2011, 15:03   #2800

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
The Bee should be able to fetch you a best price of close to 4.5L if you are selling the car with all the stuff listed!
Thanks anachronix, was just confused about estimating the acessories.
Old 2nd March 2011, 15:39   #2801

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
I was in Bangalore for business needs, but then, as usual, I my break included researching the used car market for good examples of Fiesta's.

2006 Fiesta ZXI 1.4 TDCi, 60k run, 3rd owner, quoted 4.9L
2008 Fiesta EXI 1.4 TDCi, 48k run, 2nd owner, quoted 6.75L
..and I thought it was only in Kerala we had to pay a premium for Diesels.

This is exactly the reason why I've kept buying from Chennai, Hyderabad or even better, Mumbai, as a probable back up plan in case the guys ask me the price of a new car for an old one.

About the Fiesta TDCi, the Limited edition that I have when available costs Rs 6.5 lakh if I'm right, and comes with extra features too.

Some of the ridiculous quotes I've seen from 2010:
- 4 lakh flat for an irde i10 Magna model 2009. I bought my brand new Magna 1.2 for the same price!!!
- 3.6 lakh for a 2005 Swift ZXi.
- 4 lakh for a 2007 Indigo TDi
Some from online classifieds:
- 1.5 lakh for a 1996 ford escort!!!! More than 6 times it's real value!! And to top it all, the advertiser had mentioned that it was a "killer deal"
- 4.2 lakh for an i10 K1 when it was available for cheaper brand new!!!
- 6.25 for a '06Safari 3.0.

To hell with Bangalore's used car market
Old 2nd March 2011, 16:10   #2802

Originally Posted by Arkin evoisrevo View Post
This is exactly the reason why I've kept buying from Chennai, Hyderabad or even better, Mumbai, as a probable back up plan in case the guys ask me the price of a new car for an old one.

About the Fiesta TDCi, the Limited edition that I have when available costs Rs 6.5 lakh if I'm right, and comes with extra features too.

Some of the ridiculous quotes I've seen from 2010:
- 4 lakh flat for an irde i10 Magna model 2009. I bought my brand new Magna 1.2 for the same price!!!
- 3.6 lakh for a 2005 Swift ZXi.
- 4 lakh for a 2007 Indigo TDi
Some from online classifieds:
- 1.5 lakh for a 1996 ford escort!!!! More than 6 times it's real value!! And to top it all, the advertiser had mentioned that it was a "killer deal"
- 4.2 lakh for an i10 K1 when it was available for cheaper brand new!!!
- 6.25 for a '06Safari 3.0.

To hell with Bangalore's used car market
I wanted to buy a used hatch like Santro or WagonR manufactured between 1999-2001 hoping I'll get those within 1.5L. But people kept asking for 1.8 to 2.25 for these cars. One woman who owned a 2000 Santro Zip told me the reason why she's asking for 2.25 for her car is that she's an Eye Surgeon and said doctors drive their cars with utmost care.

I wanted to ask her if she's throwing in a free Lasik.

Next one was this man who was a 3rd owner of a 63K driven WagonR (2001 model). I tried telling him that the market value is not more than 1.5 (more than excellent condition) + I'll be the 4th owner. But he didn't budge below 2L. So when he had gone to attend some phone call and aunty came in to serve me a glass of water, I just asked her 'how much did uncle pay for his car?' to which she replied 1.4L in 2009.

So I've decided that I'm going to collect enough money and buy a new car by mid of next year (hoping I'll get a decent appraisal), unless anyone of you know of Santro and WagonR below 1.5L

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Post Edited. Smilie usage is restricted to two per post on Team-BHP. Please refrain from using excessive smilies.

Please read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further.

Last edited by n_aditya : 3rd March 2011 at 14:25.
Old 2nd March 2011, 16:29   #2803

Guys, how much would a 5 month old ANHC (SMT), done 4000kms, single owner fetch in the Chennai market ?
Old 2nd March 2011, 18:07   #2804

Hello All..

Need your help.. planning to pick up a Tata Indigo classic ( Petrol), 2007 Aug model, with 15000 kms on the odo..price quoted is 3.10..Condition is pretty ok. Minor scratches, Broken rear view light, damaged rear view mirror, uneven worn rear left side tire and the spare tire is missing..

Experts... pls advise what is the best price for the car in above condition..

Last edited by s@tan2s@int : 2nd March 2011 at 18:09.
Old 2nd March 2011, 20:20   #2805

Originally Posted by donarun View Post
Guys, how much would a 5 month old ANHC (SMT), done 4000kms, single owner fetch in the Chennai market ?
Any particular reason why the owner is selling it so soon?

Originally Posted by s@tan2s@int View Post
Hello All..

Need your help.. planning to pick up a Tata Indigo classic ( Petrol), 2007 Aug model, with 15000 kms on the odo..price quoted is 3.10..Condition is pretty ok. Minor scratches, Broken rear view light, damaged rear view mirror, uneven worn rear left side tire and the spare tire is missing..

Experts... pls advise what is the best price for the car in above condition..
Quite low odo reading for 3.5 years. And 3.1 is way too much!
Uneven wear and tear means at least the car was not maintained properly when it comes to wear and tear. Spare tyre ain't there either. You could pass on this car given the condition.