Old 26th June 2012, 13:47   #4966

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by P1tBull View Post
I am looking to buy a 2004/5/6 used Baleno. Considering I live in Bangalore and used car prices are still insane here, what should the going rate be for a used Baleno here?
Say a 2004 Baleno run about 60k?
Everyone I talk to including the Maruti True Value guys say "Don't buy a Baleno" but I've wanted this car for 8 years, so its not going to be anything else.
nothing more than 3 lacs for a Baleno, all years included . Petrol price hike has taken its toll on the recent resale value here. 2004 Baleno @60k should go at around 2.4L or so. 2006 Balenos (VXi) I have seen going for 2.7-2.8L here. When SX4s are going at 4-5L, no way a Baleno can see a better resale price than this. From what I see at a friend's used car dealership, Baleno only fetches marginally higher than an Accent of similar age, although the initial price tag is marked higher in used car showrooms. Don't get dissuaded by that.

On a lighter note, if the seller argues, remind him that the model is discontinued, and guzzles fuel at 80 Rs. per litre.

Last edited by KarthikK : 26th June 2012 at 13:51.
Old 26th June 2012, 14:05   #4967

Originally Posted by manojmis View Post
my uncle is looking at a late 2010 model Civic VAT, which has clocked 17k.
white in color, and well maintained, clean service history and comprehensive insurance upto year end.
The owner quoted 10.5. After taking the TD, we are very much impressed with the car and are ready to go for 9 and looks like the owner will oblige.

Is it an ok deal if we go ahead?
Originally Posted by suv100 View Post
Its a buyers market these daysfor petrol models. Even 9 lakhs would be too high a price. I would say about 5.5 to 6 would be right in the present situation.
Wouldn't 6L be too low a price of a 2 year old car that costs 15L OTR. 6L would be an appropriate price for a 2008 Civic but for a 2010 top end I think 8.5-8.75L would be a good deal.

Having said that there are no hard and fast rules in the used car market. If you REALLY like something you can pay 5-7% over the fair value.

Last edited by Cesc : 26th June 2012 at 14:10.
Cesc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2012, 14:13   #4968

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
Wouldn't 6L be too low a price of a 2 year old car that costs 15L OTR. 6L would be an appropriate price for a 2008 Civic but for a 2010 top end I think 8.5-8.75L would be a good deal.

Having said that there are no hard and fast rules in the used car market. If you REALLY like something you can pay 5-7% over the fair value.
I agree with you here , IMO somewhere around 8 lakhs will be a fair amount for a 2 year old civic V AT.

Originally Posted by P1tBull View Post
I am looking to buy a 2004/5/6 used Baleno. Considering I live in Bangalore and used car prices are still insane here, what should the going rate be for a used Baleno here?
Say a 2004 Baleno run about 60k?
Everyone I talk to including the Maruti True Value guys say "Don't buy a Baleno" but I've wanted this car for 8 years, so its not going to be anything else.
Here in Delhi, a 2004-05-06 model baleno won't fetch more then 2 lakhs. I've seen 2005-06 baleno's going here for 1.5-1.6.

A 2004 model 60k run good condition baleno should go around 1.5 lakhs ( Max ), keeping the fact in mind, that bangalore prices are bit higher, as compared to Delhi.

I hope it helps

Sameer

Last edited by sameerg001 : 26th June 2012 at 14:24.
Old 26th June 2012, 15:28   #4969

Originally Posted by Amankhanna76 View Post
Folks,

Have to sell our beloved small car, i20 (base version - Era) just 1.5 years after we bought it. It is in impeccable condition with all accessories in place, very few scratches, no accidents. Has run only 17000kms. Is used by my wife only to drive from home to office barely 20kms away. Only driven in city, single driver mostly (we take our Verna for long drives). Bought in sep 2010.

What would be a good price?

Sorry posting this again since I did not get any response the first time; will make it a little more direct this time so as to catch attention

What would be a good price for a used i20 petrol base model (Era)?

- Has run 17K
- Dark blue in color
- Single driver only city driven
- Stereo and seat covers of good quality
- Bought in Sept 2010
- No accidents; minor scratches; overall looks good as new

Old 26th June 2012, 16:38   #4970

Originally Posted by Amankhanna76 View Post
Sorry posting this again since I did not get any response the first time; will make it a little more direct this time so as to catch attention

What would be a good price for a used i20 petrol base model (Era)?

- Has run 17K
- Dark blue in color
- Single driver only city driven
- Stereo and seat covers of good quality
- Bought in Sept 2010
- No accidents; minor scratches; overall looks good as new

3-3.5, i would say.
Why are you selling it?
If for another car, try some exchanges.
Old 26th June 2012, 16:51   #4971

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
3-3.5, i would say.
Why are you selling it?
If for another car, try some exchanges.
Thanks Mayankk!

Selling because the car is used by my wife and she is moving to the US for a longish period. Bought it for 5.2L; really bad time to sell I guess but cant help it. :(

Am posting an ad on Team-BHP classifieds - will update what price I finally get for it.

Old 26th June 2012, 17:50   #4972

Originally Posted by KarthikK View Post
nothing more than 3 lacs for a Baleno, all years included . Petrol price hike has taken its toll on the recent resale value here. 2004 Baleno @60k should go at around 2.4L or so. 2006 Balenos (VXi) I have seen going for 2.7-2.8L here. When SX4s are going at 4-5L, no way a Baleno can see a better resale price than this. From what I see at a friend's used car dealership, Baleno only fetches marginally higher than an Accent of similar age, although the initial price tag is marked higher in used car showrooms. Don't get dissuaded by that.

On a lighter note, if the seller argues, remind him that the model is discontinued, and guzzles fuel at 80 Rs. per litre.
Well you are at least as single minded in your determination as your id seems to suggest!

A new Baleno in 2004 or 2005 which came fully loaded, used to cost about 7 lacs or so if I remember right. It was considered quite expensive back then.
Now that it is out of production you will be a bit pressed to find a well kept single owner car.
I don't think that a good, single person owned, well kept example of 2005 vintage, will leave you much change from Rs 3.5 lacs given the positively evil Bangalore used car pricing.
Have you trawled Carwale and Trovit for examples?
I just trawled Carwale and incidentally there seems to be a nice silvery gold 2006 VXi model with lovely alloys there for a good price of 2.75 lacs. I have a feeling that car is owned by a senior man from one of the big corporates and it lives I believe on Sarjapura Road somewhere. Check it out!
Thanks for the info, guys. Actually one of my friends had picked up one of the last few 2006 manufactured cars for somewhere around 5.4L with the amount of discounts that they offered at the time.
Ah, well, The search goes on.
Old 26th June 2012, 18:17   #4973

Originally Posted by OHCVtec View Post
I have a mint condition stock 2002 OHC Vtec done 77,000 KM. I am thinking of upgrading to a newer car, how much shall I expect. The car has a new O2 sensor and all the four tires are new.
Guys can we have a response on this query. Thanks in advance.
Old 26th June 2012, 19:18   #4974

Around 1.9 for a car in good condition.

Sameer
sameerg001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2012, 19:26   #4975

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post

D1 segment petrol car resale value has come down by almost 60%. Really who would buy a fuel guzzler like the civic for even 8 lakhs at a time when petrol price is going through the roof?

Last edited by suv100 : 26th June 2012 at 19:28.
Old 26th June 2012, 19:45   #4976

Infractions: 0/3 (12)

Originally Posted by P1tBull

Thanks for the info, guys. Actually one of my friends had picked up one of the last few 2006 manufactured cars for somewhere around 5.4L with the amount of discounts that they offered at the time.
Ah, well, The search goes on.
Not bad, so if this one comes to you at 2.75 thats about 50% off on the original price. And I am sure you can negotiate a bit more too since it is an out of production car. Do check it out on carwale it looks good to me.
Old 26th June 2012, 20:10   #4977

How minty is it?
There is no ground figure for this car if its pristine and cared for, especially first owner.
And dont trust Carwale or any valuations that are done based on model, mileage, and vintage.

If you have kept it, like i said, minty (), you can get a good premium over the 1.9L as suggested by sameer.
You may have to wait for it, but itll go practically for what you want.

Personally, I'd say if its not too much of a hassle, hang on to it.

PS: you may receive some PMs from members here.
try the classifieds.

Last edited by mayankk : 26th June 2012 at 20:28.
mayankk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2012, 20:27   #4978

What would asking price for 2006 City GXi well maintained with leather seats be ?
Old 26th June 2012, 20:38   #4979

Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet
What would asking price for 2006 City GXi well maintained with leather seats be ?
In Mumbai around 3lakhs.
Old 27th June 2012, 10:09   #4980

Suggestive price for 2005 Maruti 800
- second owner
- new tires, seat covers & batteries
- Car is in good condition & well maintained
- 80k+ kms run