Old 2nd August 2012, 18:07   #5221

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post
Guys need help. I am now considering a used diesel hatch... Considering between punto and figo currently. I plan to install an Pete's kit or something.
Pls suggest the better of the two and the correct prices for the same. Also pls suggest any other option that I can look for...
Prashant, I suggest you put up your query on the "What Car" section. You will get better responses. To answer your query, a lot depends on what you want in your car.
Advantages of Punto
+ Looks
+ Build Quality
+ Ground Clearence[185mm]

Disadvantages of Punto
- A.S.S
- Niggling Issues
- Rear seats a bit cramped.

Advantages of Figo
+ Handling
+ Low end Torque
+ Precise Gearbox

Disadvantages of Figo
- No rear power windows
- No rear head restraints
- May feel out of breath ,especially on highway speeds.

I suggest you take a decision after test driving both cars.
As for the prices, you can find 2010 top end models of both cars in the range of 5.1L to 5.6L
Hope this helps,
Varun Nair
powertrain is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2012, 20:36   #5222

Ok Guys here the deal...Budget 15 lakhs (give or take a lakh).
Car to be bought:- W204 Mercedes-Benz C Class( Current model pre-facelift)
I am open to buying even a Petrol (200K).
But a diesel is preferrable (more power and torque with lesser running costs)
So what model year and Mileage Mercs can i expect in this budget?
Old 2nd August 2012, 21:03   #5223

I am looking for a used car in Mumbai and have Baleno and OHC(1.5 or Vtech) in mind. Have seen a couple of Balenos with the following details

1. Baleno VXI BS-III, Nov 2005, 35000+ kms on odo, new mag wheels, new battery, decent condition but needs an outright service plus change in head & tail lights and remote locking. Asking price 150,000. (Mumbai registered)

2. Baleno VXI, Mar 2005, 36000+ kms on odo, mew mag wheels, leather seats, JBL speakers and power amps. Haven't seen personally planning to go tomorrow. Asking price 200,000. (Thane registered so need to be transferred to Mumbai RTO)

Are these price resonable?

Also I was wondering what could be a good price to buy an OHC (2002 model) 1.5EXI and Vtech version with about 50-60K+ kms on odo in well maintained condition (Mumbai)?
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:29   #5224

Originally Posted by agambhandari
Ok Guys here the deal...Budget 15 lakhs (give or take a lakh).
Car to be bought:- W204 Mercedes-Benz C Class( Current model pre-facelift)
I am open to buying even a Petrol (200K).
But a diesel is preferrable (more power and torque with lesser running costs)
So what model year and Mileage Mercs can i expect in this budget?
Check out the classifieds. Some juicy deals out there in diesels

Btw my nicely maintained OHC is also up for sale .....what a bad time to sell a petrol car !!

Last edited by narayan : 2nd August 2012 at 22:35.
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:39   #5225

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Holy cr*p. Been seeing better mileage figures reported out here.

Buying it...but staying away maybe because of these issues:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post2856898
Can you share who is selling this vehicle. I might be interested in this for my wife. Can you please PM the details
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:49   #5226

Are these prices quoted to you by dealers?
Firstly it is extremely difficult to get 7yr old Balenos with only 35k kms on the odo. So I would advice you to check the Service History as Dealers in Mumbai are notorious for changing odometer settings.
Secondly the prices being quoted are unreasonably high. The Baleno might have some following, but it has been out of production for 4+ yrs, and is also a petrol car. I dont think you should pay more than 1 to 1.2lakhs for a decently maintained car.

A friend of mine recently bought a very well mainted 2002 OHC Automatic Single Owner car with Full Service History for 1.4lakhs.

Originally Posted by ultimaate View Post
I am looking for a used car in Mumbai and have Baleno and OHC(1.5 or Vtech) in mind. Have seen a couple of Balenos with the following details

1. Baleno VXI BS-III, Nov 2005, 35000+ kms on odo, new mag wheels, new battery, decent condition but needs an outright service plus change in head & tail lights and remote locking. Asking price 150,000. (Mumbai registered)

2. Baleno VXI, Mar 2005, 36000+ kms on odo, mew mag wheels, leather seats, JBL speakers and power amps. Haven't seen personally planning to go tomorrow. Asking price 200,000. (Thane registered so need to be transferred to Mumbai RTO)

Are these price resonable?

Also I was wondering what could be a good price to buy an OHC (2002 model) 1.5EXI and Vtech version with about 50-60K+ kms on odo in well maintained condition (Mumbai)?
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:50   #5227

[quote=ultimaate;2859934]Hi,
I am looking for a used car in Mumbai and have Baleno and OHC(1.5 or Vtech) in mind]
sorry about posting this but couldnt find the option to pm you so mods please delete if not allowed .
Myfriend who runs a garage has a 2009 baleno vxi asking for 2l silver and 2005 baleno black beauty asking for 1.75 for sale if you are interested please pm me for his no.the vehicles are in chembur.
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:59   #5228

Originally Posted by sierrakamat View Post
Myfriend who runs a garage has a 2009 baleno vxi asking for 2l silver
Maruti Suzuki stopped production of the Baleno in 2007!
Old 2nd August 2012, 23:02   #5229

i have seen the papers my dear friend it is regd in 2009 i have no personal interest in the transaction and was as surprised as you are just felt that the prices quoted were reasonable the vehicles are in top notch condition and wanted to share the info thats all.
Old 3rd August 2012, 00:12   #5230

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post
Advantages of Punto
+ Looks
+ Build Quality
+ Ground Clearence[185mm]

Disadvantages of Punto
- A.S.S
- Niggling Issues
- Rear seats a bit cramped.

Advantages of Figo
+ Handling
+ Low end Torque
+ Precise Gearbox

Disadvantages of Figo
- No rear power windows
- No rear head restraints
- May feel out of breath ,especially on highway speeds.

I suggest you take a decision after test driving both cars.
As for the prices, you can find 2010 top end models of both cars in the range of 5.1L to 5.6L
Hope this helps,
Varun Nair
Thanks for your help Varun. But isnt the 185mm ride height only in the 2012 Punto that had launched recently. The earlier one had a much lower clearance if i am not wrong.

ALso, i have heard that i can get a mid model punto for 3.5-4 lacs.
Old 3rd August 2012, 01:39   #5231

Originally Posted by mohandasnikhil View Post
Are these prices quoted to you by dealers?
Thanks for your advice. Both of these are individuals selling on behalf of their friends. I doubt the first one though as some days back I saw this guy selling a Getz on carwale.
Do you have any idea about the car valuation method used by carwale.com. Is it reliable?

Myfriend who runs a garage has a 2009 baleno vxi asking for 2l silver and 2005 baleno black beauty asking for 1.75 for sale if you are interested please pm me for his no.the vehicles are in chembur.
Thanks for the info, would check them out.

i have seen the papers my dear friend it is regd in 2009 i have no personal interest in the transaction and was as surprised as you are just felt that the prices quoted were reasonable the vehicles are in top notch condition and wanted to share the info thats all.
I am also surprised to hear about a 2009 Baleno!! Is it possible that car is registered few years after production?
Old 3rd August 2012, 07:32   #5232

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Check out the classifieds. Some juicy deals out there in diesels
Yeah on the classifieds there is this ad

Looks all right though a little over my budget. But look at the Pics of the Car.
Its Got an all india Tourist Permit and a Yellow Number Plate.
that almost screams TAXI. Also it has been fitted with an aftermarket overhead LCD inside.

Last edited by agambhandari : 3rd August 2012 at 07:34.
Old 3rd August 2012, 08:53   #5233

Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet View Post
Can you share who is selling this vehicle. I might be interested in this for my wife. Can you please PM the details
LP, this is a bangalore car...and the crazy old coot who owns the car is not budging below 3.7, so I took a walk - and then told him to take one in my mind
Old 3rd August 2012, 10:47   #5234

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post
Thanks for your help Varun. But isnt the 185mm ride height only in the 2012 Punto that had launched recently. The earlier one had a much lower clearance if i am not wrong.

ALso, i have heard that i can get a mid model punto for 3.5-4 lacs.
Sorry buddy, got confused . I suggest you go in for the top of the line model with ABS & Airbags. Money is a small price to pay for your safety.

Varun
powertrain is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd August 2012, 16:46   #5235

Hi! Fellow bhpians kindly tell me wat I could get for my 325I,5200 Km done,showroom conditions,no scratches n dinges whatsoever. What would be a good price to get considering I am looking to upgrade to a 535i?