Old 22nd October 2012, 20:30   #5881

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Guys
with most modern cars coming with a digital odometer, is it possible for used car dealers to tamper with the odo reading ? Please advise
Old 22nd October 2012, 20:44   #5882

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Guys
with most modern cars coming with a digital odometer, is it possible for used car dealers to tamper with the odo reading ? Please advise
Yes. It is possible for dealers to tamper with the odometer even though its digital. It's not very easy to do it but it is possible. I know someone who bought a lexus where the reading had definitely been tampered with. There was enough evidence to prove that it was turned back.
Old 22nd October 2012, 21:07   #5883

Originally Posted by ssh1979 View Post
Ford Endeavour 3.0L 4x4 AT

Purchase Jul '11
Single owner, 36K on the odo so far
Driven almost always only on the highways
Minor paint scratches on left front bumper
Otherwise a well pampered exterior and interior
Serviced as per Ford's schedule at A.S.S.C.
Wheels aligned/rotated every 5K. Balanced every 10K.

Modifications/Accessories coming with it
- Upsize stock wheels from 245/70R16 to 31x10.5R15. New wheels are Lenso Lethal Alloys + Bridgestone Dueller 689 HT tires
- OEM front bull bar
- Carryboy 4x4 roof rack + cargo net
- Lighting system: auxilliary 2 x Hella Rallye 3003 mounted on front bumper
- OEM footwell lighting
- OEM Hurricane decals
- AVIC (BrickHouse Security) windshield mounted camera
- All wipers Bosch (replaced Jul '12)
- 100/90 lighting on headlamps and fogs

If I were not leaving for a better cause to the United States, I wouldn't have been selling this beast.

How much can I quote for this?
Well thats a nice car you got there..In my opinion if the condition is good, quote around 17.00 lakhs and look to close the deal around 16.25

Old 22nd October 2012, 22:54   #5884

Guys how much can be paid for a 2009 Aqua quadjet Vista ?
Old 23rd October 2012, 10:54   #5885

Hi friends,
Have been following various threads on Team BHP and am hooked on

I have a major dilemma, i am keen to give away my ford fiesta 2006 petrol and go in for another sedan.

i was keen for a Civic AT or MT 2006 /07 , but the car being too low might have a problem while travelling in Gujarat (do a lot of travel to my hometown a small village in south gujarat)

I have found a Toyota H4 AT 2003, Single owner, run 46k
in excellent condition, new tyres. The engine is very responsive and so is the transmission. No creaks or rattles. The breaks feel good too, no squeaking.

I also saw a Honda City CVT ZXI 2006, in also good condition. again good response from engine. The Auto gear also is in good shape. The interior is OK types. Tyres might need a change soon.

As compared to the Honda, i am more inclined to the H4. The 2003 H4 felt super also against another MT H2, 2008 which i also test drove. The H2 was a bit rough on the left side.

I have two worries.. Are the spares for a 2003 H4 Auto costly?
I dont want to spend too much considering i want to buy a new SUV maybe next year or in 2014
am offered it for around 3 lacs without negotiations and without exchange.

how easy or difficult is it to maintain a Corolla Auto? have read a lot of threads on maintenance tips. but considering this is 2003 (9 year old car) is it worth?
Old 23rd October 2012, 11:06   #5886

Guys
Hello Narayan,

Yes. It is definitely possible to tamper the Digital Odometers.
This was told to me by a friendly Used Car Dealers quoting that if you have money then it is possible.

Guys how much can be paid for a 2009 Aqua quadjet Vista ?

Can you share further details of the car, like month of manufacture, ODO Reading, overall condition, etc.
But in general 2009 Vista in Mumbai are valued around Rs. 3.5 lacs.

Old 23rd October 2012, 11:23   #5887

Originally Posted by 4nd3r50n View Post
Thinking of buying a 2009 Hyundai i20 Asta 1.4 Petrol AT with sunroof from a used car dealer. He is quoting 5.2L. Car is in absolutely mint condition with 25K done on the odometer. Need to take a decision in two days. Please advise, fellow BHP-ians. Thanks.
No. Not worth.

Why not a 2009 City AT. This shouldn't be over 5.5 in the used market.

Heck - 2008 Civic AT are available in bulk between 5.00 to 5.50 and all in mint condition.

Originally Posted by patelhemals View Post

how easy or difficult is it to maintain a Corolla Auto? have read a lot of threads on maintenance tips. but considering this is 2003 (9 year old car) is it worth?
Since you intend to do long drives from Mumbai to Gujarat - you may not need the 4-speed Auto.
Again since you intend to do long drives more often, look for a more newer make. Consider the Cedia too if available. It has better highway manners and would be available between 3-4 for a 2006 - 2008 model.

Toyota are usually maintenance free. Ensure from service records if 46k km is genuine.
Although, there are no reports on the Auto box failing in the Corolla, but then Auto boxes if fail can be pretty expensive to fix. Plus the 4-speed box will give terrible FE on the highway

Last edited by dipen : 23rd October 2012 at 11:29.
Old 23rd October 2012, 12:19   #5888

My brother want to sell his Indigo Petrol. Please find below details.

Indigo Petrol GLX (Top End)
2003 Model
Running 50000 Kms
Silver color

Maintained in good condition, second owner, tyres are also in good shape.

How much he should expect? Please help.
Old 23rd October 2012, 12:21   #5889

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello Narayan,

Yes. It is definitely possible to tamper the Digital Odometers.
This was told to me by a friendly Used Car Dealers quoting that if you have money then it is possible.

Can you share further details of the car, like month of manufacture, ODO Reading, overall condition, etc.
But in general 2009 Vista in Mumbai are valued around Rs. 3.5 lacs.

Jignesh
car details are
Dec 2009/single owner/aqua quadrajet/22300kms

2010/single owner/aqua quadrajet/16000kms

2010/single owner/TDI/20000kms

also whats your advice between TDI and quadrajet ?

thanks
Old 23rd October 2012, 12:24   #5890

Originally Posted by aniketi
My brother want to sell his Indigo Petrol. Please find below details.

Indigo Petrol GLX (Top End)
2003 Model
Running 50000 Kms
Silver color

Maintained in good condition, second owner, tyres are also in good shape.

How much he should expect? Please help.
GLX is not the top end model, it was GSX (petrol). I don't think you should expect more than 1.75 even if in superb condition and with full service history.
Old 23rd October 2012, 14:06   #5891

How much should I pay for a 2011 Nissan Xtrail AT done 24,000 Kms ? The car seems to be in good condition. Of course I would be checking the service history. Are there any issues with xtrail?
Old 23rd October 2012, 14:28   #5892

2010/single owner/aqua quadrajet/16000kms
2010/single owner/TDI/20000kms. also whats your advice between TDI and quadrajet ?
Hello Narayan,

If you are buying from a Used Car Dealer, then 2010 Vista Aqua Quadrajet can be valued between Rs. 3.80 to Rs. 4.20 lacs. If you are buying from direct seller then the value will reduce by 5% - 10%

Regarding TDI & Quadrajet, I suggest to go for Quadrajet, which is Fiat 1.3 Diesel Engine which is also used in Maruti Swift cars. It is also referred as India's National Engine.

Jignesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2012, 14:50   #5893

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello Narayan,

If you are buying from a Used Car Dealer, then 2010 Vista Aqua Quadrajet can be valued between Rs. 3.80 to Rs. 4.20 lacs. If you are buying from direct seller then the value will reduce by 5% - 10%

Regarding TDI & Quadrajet, I suggest to go for Quadrajet, which is Fiat 1.3 Diesel Engine which is also used in Maruti Swift cars. It is also referred as India's National Engine.

Jignesh
i presume by that measure the 2009 model should be 3.5 lakhs if bought direct from seller ? correct ? the seller is quoting 4.5lakhs yaar !!
Old 23rd October 2012, 15:00   #5894

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Just got to know about a 2009 Corolla Altis Petrol with 50K on odo was sold\bought at 4.3L
Any idea on how much a 2010 altis G/GL petrol version which has clocked about 35000 on the odo will cost in Kerala?
Old 23rd October 2012, 19:00   #5895

Is carwale used-car evaluation a little out-of-the-world? I checked the price of a 2010 Ritx Vxi (non-ABSed I believe) which has done 40,000 kms for a friend who wants to sell his. It says Rs.3,21,000. Isn't that too much for it?

What do you guys think? Its at cochin. Tyres would need a change, though it still has tread for a couple of thousand kms more. (Amazing, considering it is the stock JK tyres huh? )

Last edited by DudeWithaFiat : 23rd October 2012 at 19:05. Reason: typo