Old 13th November 2012, 10:14   #6016

Originally Posted by zwift1819

Well the deal almost seems to have faded. I made a friend call him up and this time he demanded 4.80L. When he last spoke to me 2 days back his price was 4.40L! Even at this price it's like knocking 90k off the price of a brand new car and this car has clocked only 3k kms. He is working in a government organization where he has for himself a chauffeur driven car and bought this car for his wife and son. When spoke about the insurance he was not bothered and said that he rather keep the car than sell it for a less price. So I walked away politely saying "thank you".
Even if I get the car at 4.30L am afraid the car would depreciate heavily due to 2nd owner tag and it being a petrol!
If you are so interested, seal the deal for 4.40L itself. He would have said 4.8L to your friend knowing that they will haggle & bring down the price. Am also a bit surprised that inspite of the low mileage on the ODO, the car didn't sell quick!

Edit: if you plan to keep the car only for 4-5 years or 40-50K kms, then try for well maintained cars run upto 40K kms for much lower prices. You could even look at 2 segments higher for the same budget in that case.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 13th November 2012 at 10:18.
Old 13th November 2012, 12:03   #6017

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Jan 2011 registered (KL 7) i10 Asta with all bells + Sunroof, but no alloys. Single owner, Mileage: 14K, Accident free car.

It is manufactured in 2010 and the insurance is up for renewal.

What can be a good price to buy?
Old 13th November 2012, 13:48   #6018

My friend is looking to sell his 2011 i10 Kappa. I think its done about 10k ( not sure ) . Reg in tvm and vehicle is in Palakkad. He's expecting 4L. If interested, pls pm me
Old 15th November 2012, 19:11   #6019

Can somebody help me with this please?

Honda City S MT -
Year: Jan 2009
Model: S MT
Odo : 58k
Quoted Price: 5.5L
Dealer: Mahindra First Choice
Condition: Looks well maintained.

Is this a fair price?

Nilesh
Old 16th November 2012, 10:38   #6020

Originally Posted by nileshdd View Post
Honda City S MT - Year: Jan 2009, Model: S MT
Odo : 58k Quoted Price: 5.5L Dealer: Mahindra First Choice
Hello Nilesh,

2009 Honda City MT for Rs. 5.5 seems to be a good price, still try to bring it down to Rs. 5.25 lacs. Also if Mahindra First Choice is giving one year warranty on crucial parts of the Car then it will be really good.

Only thing, I feel 59,000 KMS on ODO is a little on higher side for me. But I have personally seen 2006 Honda City with 90,000 KMS on ODO in very good condition. Please ensure that Car is well maintained & check service history, if available. Also check whether no claim bonus is present on insurance policy.

Old 16th November 2012, 10:46   #6021

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello Nilesh,

2009 Honda City MT for Rs. 5.5 seems to be a good price, still try to bring it down to Rs. 5.25 lacs. Also if Mahindra First Choice is giving one year warranty on crucial parts of the Car then it will be really good.

Only thing, I feel 59,000 KMS on ODO is a little on higher side for me. But I have personally seen 2006 Honda City with 90,000 KMS on ODO in very good condition. Please ensure that Car is well maintained & check service history, if available. Also check whether no claim bonus is present on insurance policy.

Thanks Jignesh. Yes, 59k is high for me too, that's why I am concerned.
Also, plan to check the NCB too, yes.

I am also looking for a Linea Diesel top-end, so will see how it goes.

Nilesh
Old 17th November 2012, 02:00   #6022

Saw this ad on our classifieds.

Honda City ZX Exi (2008) sale in Kolkata

Is this a decent price to pay? I'm yet to check the car in person though.

Last edited by dreamseller : 17th November 2012 at 02:04.
Old 17th November 2012, 07:55   #6023

Honda City S MT - Year: Jan 2009
Model: S MT Odo : 58k
Quoted Price: 5.5L Dealer: Mahindra First Choice Condition: Looks well maintained. Is this a fair price?

Nilesh
Hi Nilesh,
The price looks to be a tad on the higher side. My view is you should try to close the deal between 4.85 lakhs - 5.00 lakhs.
Old 17th November 2012, 07:59   #6024

Dear Friends,

One of my colleague is planning to take used car from a dealer and the details are as below -

Model: Aveo 1.4 LS
Color: Maroon
Model: 2007
Odo: 43,000
Price: 2, 86, 000/-

What should be the price he could ask for. I told him that this car is discontinued, but still he is interested on this. Please suggest the best price.
Old 17th November 2012, 10:13   #6025

Originally Posted by deetjohn View Post
Jan 2011 registered (KL 7) i10 Asta with all bells + Sunroof, but no alloys.
Will be picking it up for 3.9L. Looks to be a nice deal. And those guys are going for brand new Brio AT.
Old 17th November 2012, 10:49   #6026

Originally Posted by dreamseller View Post

It should be decent enough, i myself selling City Zx GXi (50K kms) for 3.3lakhs to dealer ( I bought Duster).

I couldn't find any good value in Hyderabad, every one say one word 'petrol'.
niv26 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2012, 11:18   #6027

Originally Posted by dreamseller

Seems. Very good to me.

I sold an NHC Exi Jan 2005 model 67k odo
For 3.25 lacs to an individual this july.

In comparison, the listed car is much newer and has lesser miles.
If it has been maintained nicely (as it does say doctor driven), this is a steal
agambhandari is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2012, 12:30   #6028

Honda City S MT -
Year: Jan 2009
Model: S MT
Odo : 58k
Quoted Price: 5.5L
Dealer: Mahindra First Choice
Condition: Looks well maintained.

Is this a fair price?

Nilesh
I will be suspectful of anything from Mahindra First choice. Search on this forum for horror stories. Bad battery condition, failed electricals, failed moving parts, Odometer tampering, tinkered body parts passed off as "Accident -Free" , not honouring warranty, shabby job in their 24 point checkup etc. You name it, they have it. I am personally yet to meet someone who is happy with his used car purchase from FC.

I suggest you try to get hold of an individual buyer if possible. Carwale and Team-bhp classifieds are good places to start off. You will get a slightly better price and peace of mind that the ODO is not tampered. Do ensure you verify service history with the service center and take along a known mechanic to verify the condition of the car though..
Old 17th November 2012, 14:18   #6029

Originally Posted by hrman View Post
I will be suspectful of anything from Mahindra First choice. Search on this forum for horror stories. Bad battery condition, failed electricals, failed moving parts, Odometer tampering, tinkered body parts passed off as "Accident -Free" , not honouring warranty, shabby job in their 24 point checkup etc. You name it, they have it. I am personally yet to meet someone who is happy with his used car purchase from FC.

I suggest you try to get hold of an individual buyer if possible. Carwale and Team-bhp classifieds are good places to start off. You will get a slightly better price and peace of mind that the ODO is not tampered. Do ensure you verify service history with the service center and take along a known mechanic to verify the condition of the car though..

Well, not entirely. I would say, the trust level on the cars that we see in our classifieds, as well as the dealers are equal. For a buyer, there should be the same amount of effort put for verifying the authenticity of the vehicle he is purchasing, whether its from a direct seller, or a dealer.

Getting a good second hand car is a 50-50 stuff. If we get a well maintained, good car at 40-50% its original value, its a lottery. But it can go all the way the other side as well if we are cheated.
It all boils down to how much effort we put in, plus our luck
sarathlal is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2012, 14:26   #6030

Bangalore location. I'm offered Laura l&k, 2009 model, automatic transmission, 46k run car for 10.5 lacs.
Need advice whether it's a reasonable price.
I'm meeting the seller at 5pm today. Kindly advice whether dsg of 2009 is reliable and price quoted is reasonable?