Old 19th November 2012, 11:53   #6046

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

I am looking to buy for a used Skoda Octavia in Chennai. I have come across one. What would be the reasonable price I can pay for the below mentioned car.

Make: Skoda Octavia 1.9 Tdi
Trim: L&K
Mileage: 115000
Year: 2005

Pros:
* A single owner's car and I am buying directly from the owner. The owner is a CA.
* Good pickup for a car that is clocked more than 1 lakh KM. I have test driven a couple of cars and believe me, this one has a great pickup
* All the electronics are working fine. ACC, Sunroof, Indicators, Electric ORVM, Lights, Indicators, etc...

Cons:
* Car definitely needs a paint job. There are a lot of scratches around the body. No tinkering work though
* Two tyres needs to be changed. May be after 6 months down the line.
* Minor things like one headlight washer doesn't have a cover (just the nozzle that sprays water), the cloth fixed against the roof is falling off in the back side, One the power window got struck (rear door), Reverse light is not working.

Old 19th November 2012, 13:01   #6047

Originally Posted by krish_veera View Post
I am looking to buy for a used Skoda Octavia in Chennai. I have come across one. What would be the reasonable price I can pay for the below mentioned car.

Make: Skoda Octavia 1.9 Tdi
Trim: L&K
Mileage: 115000
Year: 2005
Cons:
* Car definitely needs a paint job. There are a lot of scratches around the body. No tinkering work though
* Two tyres needs to be changed. May be after 6 months down the line.
* Minor things like one headlight washer doesn't have a cover (just the nozzle that sprays water), the cloth fixed against the roof is falling off in the back side, One the power window got struck (rear door), Reverse light is not working.
Skoda Octavia's are known to hold there value for a very large amount of time, i'd say 3.5L would be a pretty decent price to be paid for this piece. Though that said, a car that has clocked 1.15L Kms is going to be a touch and go sort of a buy. You may be lucky enough to drive the car for a long period of time, but the chances for this one seem pretty low. With 1.15L Kms down, this vehicle may call for some substantial amounts to be invested sooner rather than later.

Before buying, i'd suggest you answer these to yourself and decide:
How much time do you plan to own the car ??
How much Kms per month do you plan to use the car for ?

Also, have you checked the service history of the car thoroughly ?? What major things have been changed in the car, such as clutch, Engine Overhaul etc etc ??
Old 19th November 2012, 13:41   #6048

Originally Posted by krish_veera View Post
...Sunroof...the cloth fixed against the roof is falling off in the back side...
Pls check if there is any leakage around the sunroof area. This is known to be an issue in some Lauras.
Old 19th November 2012, 13:52   #6049

Originally Posted by Prodigyy View Post
Skoda Octavia's are known to hold there value for a very large amount of time, i'd say 3.5L would be a pretty decent price to be paid for this piece.
Before buying, i'd suggest you answer these to yourself and decide:
How much time do you plan to own the car ??
How much Kms per month do you plan to use the car for ?

Also, have you checked the service history of the car thoroughly ?? What major things have been changed in the car, such as clutch, Engine Overhaul etc etc ??
Thanks for the prompt reply Mate,

I am planning to use this car for atleast 3-4 years and my monthly usage would be around 1500 Kms.

I haven't checked the service history. Will do it today. The car is being serviced in Gurudev Motors, Chennai (Sole dealer for Skoda in Chennai).

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
Pls check if there is any leakage around the sunroof area. This is known to be an issue in some Lauras.
Thanks for the advice Mate. Will check it while my next visit.
krish_veera is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2012, 16:42   #6050

Hi friends,

Thanks for all the help on my earlier posts.
My sedan scouting is still on and I have come across this one

Fiat Linea 1.4 Emotion Pack
Year: Jun-2010
Km: 31500
Seller: Individual
Asking price: 4L

Is this a fair price?
I did a TD and the car looks to be driving fine. I observed that there are a lot of scratches on the front and back bumper, the bumper logo was gone (stolen mostly), the front one was broken too. Interiors looked fine to me.

If I have to replace both bumpers and logos, what should be the cost?

Also, apart from the first couple of free services, the owner has serviced the car at a garage owned by his relative, because TASS is too far off. He says he can provide the service records. He also says he has never had an accident and any minor work was done at his relatives' garage. Is this a cause for concern? There is NCB on the insurance.

I intend to get it thoroughly checked by a mechanic, but is there anything else I should worry about?

Thanks guys
Nilesh
Old 19th November 2012, 22:35   #6051

Hi Folks,

What will be a fair price for -

Model: Nov 2006 Innova, top end,
Mileage: 55k kms
Owners: 2, with good service history.
Asking price: 8.5L

Please advise.
Old 19th November 2012, 22:46   #6052

How much does a 4 year old Swift Vdi (silky silver) with a new battery which has run 256xx kms go for?

The car has a few minor scratches on the front bumper caused by the dog my friend has at home.
Old 19th November 2012, 22:59   #6053

Bangalore location. I'm offered civic VAT, 2009 model with 17k on odo for 9 lakhs. Is this a good price? I plan to offer 8.2lacs.please advice
Old 19th November 2012, 23:15   #6054

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
Bangalore location. I'm offered civic VAT, 2009 model with 17k on odo for 9 lakhs. Is this a good price? I plan to offer 8.2lacs.please advice
9 is high. If its a post face-lift version, your best price would be 7.85. Now, this can have a + 10-15k depending on the car condition being immaculate.
17k is really low mileage which is the biggest advantage I see here.
sarathlal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2012, 23:23   #6055

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
How much does a 4 year old Swift Vdi (silky silver) with a new battery which has run 256xx kms go for?

You can expect atleast Rs. 3.5 lacs for 2008 Swift Vdi with 25600 on ODO.

Old 19th November 2012, 23:40   #6056

Originally Posted by nkrishnap

The car has a few minor scratches on the front bumper caused by the dog my friend has at home.
Easily, going for over 4 lacs
Old 20th November 2012, 10:56   #6057

Originally Posted by nileshdd View Post
Fiat Linea 1.4 Emotion Pack. Year: Jun-2010. Km: 31500. Seller: Individual. Asking price: 4L
Hello Nilesh,

June 2010 Fiat Linea, Emotion pack with 31500 on ODO for Rs. 4 lacs seems to be a good deal.

No need to change the Bumpers, it will be a costly affair, instead a local garage will repaint them almost like new for Rs. 1000 per bumper. Also the persence of NCB is a good thing & it is important that Car is regularly serviced. Where it is serviced is not that much important.

Old 20th November 2012, 11:04   #6058

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post

Most of them are being quoted 5L upwards on carwale...
http://www.carwale.com/used/search.a...el=2&sc=0&so=0
Old 20th November 2012, 12:07   #6059

Originally Posted by nileshdd View Post
Hi friends,

Thanks for all the help on my earlier posts.
My sedan scouting is still on and I have come across this one

Fiat Linea 1.4 Emotion Pack
Year: Jun-2010
Km: 31500
Seller: Individual
Asking price: 4L

Nilesh
if the mechanicals are clean, just buy it. Even Swift goes for more.

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
If Mumbai get you such a car for sub 6, I don't think Bangalore can command more than 7.2 at MAX.

Last edited by dipen : 20th November 2012 at 12:08.
Old 20th November 2012, 12:10   #6060

Originally Posted by nkrishnap

Maybe around 5 lakhs. Is this a 2008 model? I presume this is in Bangalore.