Old 4th September 2013, 21:51   #8041

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Thanks again theg2 and rsr.

I was of the idea that the indica, being the fast moving model it is, would always find a buyer relatively easily. Hence i was considering to take the plunge. I am also on the look out for V2 models.

And, when was the indica V2 lanched exactly??

Last edited by petroguzzler : 4th September 2013 at 22:02.
Old 4th September 2013, 22:20   #8042

Originally Posted by petroguzzler View Post

I was of the idea that the indica, being the fast moving model it is, would always find a buyer relatively easily. Hence i was considering to take the plunge. I am also on the look out for V2 models.
Despite being a fast moving model, it is best you avoid such old examples and stick towards the new ones. Other than the problems TheG2 and RSR have suggested, Old Indicas with high mileages are also known to suffer from compression problems; opening up the engine and getting it rebored would be a hassle, IMO.
Old 4th September 2013, 22:53   #8043

@coolkurt, the prices in chennai seem to be on the higher side. And what could be had for around 1lakh in the used car space???
Probably a Santro, even a hyundai accent f you up the budget a bit to 1 lakh. Both are more reliable than an indica, atleast the older generation.
Old 4th September 2013, 23:31   #8044

Originally Posted by lightinin95 View Post
Thank you folks for the responses. Much appreciated.

There is a new car already in its place and hence cannot retain it and nor there is parking space. I guess, will try to settle in for min 50-55K to a buyer who genuinely uses it.

Cheers, Sam

Deal done today @ 50k. Given the fuel price scenario, it was better to dispose than to retain the petrol Indica..

Cheers, Sam
Old 4th September 2013, 23:33   #8045
RSR

Thanks again theg2 and rsr.

And, when was the indica V2 lanched exactly??
Relatively new Indica diesels would have no problems finding buyers when the first owner wants to sell it, because there is a large cab/fleet market that will readily absorb these Indicas. But these fleet operators know a lot about the Indica, its history & its problems and they would avoid buying older models, especially the pre-V2s.

It's best to avoid the pre-V2 Indicas, unless one can find an Indica 2000 Mpfi (which guzzles petrol) at a very low throw-away price. Petrol Indicas/Indigos have diesel-derived engines which are under-stressed and therefore run without causing problems (for a Tata engine). My current car is a petrol Indica Xeta (2007 model), which I got after trading in the earlier DLE (I know ) and its resale value is laughable, so I'll probably use it till it comes apart. Any way, this is immaterial since you are only looking at diesels.

If I remember correctly, the V2 diesel was launched sometime in 2001, probably around March/April. The V2 petrol wasn't launched simultaneously, but a few months after that. There are plenty of Indica V2 diesels in the market, and you should be able to find one that suits you. Always bargain hard for any Indica (any Tata vehicle, for that matter), don't rely on its odo and avoid the ones which were used as cabs.

Last edited by RSR : 4th September 2013 at 23:41.
Old 5th September 2013, 12:29   #8046

My friend is considering a used Linea. Facts :
It's an Oct 2010 Silver Diesel Linea in Bangalore, maintained OKishly, its done 23,000km.

In what range should he pay? Is 5L ok?
Old 5th September 2013, 15:08   #8047

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi View Post
My friend is considering a used Linea. Facts :
It's an Oct 2010 Silver Diesel Linea in Bangalore, maintained OKishly, its done 23,000km.
Hello GN,
You have not mentioned the variant that your friend is considering? If it's E-Pack, it can be a good deal @ 5L. Some more details will be welcome like service history, accident history etc.

Varun
Old 5th September 2013, 15:20   #8048

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post

Hello GN,
You have not mentioned the variant that your friend is considering? If it's E-Pack, it can be a good deal @ 5L. Some more details will be welcome like service history, accident history etc.

Varun
Its the Emotion variant. Not Emotion PK. Claimed accident free, he's going to get the service history checked tomorrow.

Suspiciously, it has some rusting on the driver door. I'll check it out tomorrow & confirm coz generally that's not possible as the steel must be galvanized.
Old 5th September 2013, 23:56   #8049

Dear sailor,
Anything between 2.5-3 lakhs should be a great deal. How much is the seller quoting? It has a sunroof?
Yes
Seller has quoted 3.5 L.
Yes it does have sunroof. Tyres too are new. I had 3 lac on my mind but now I am leaving India and don't wish wifey to run around hence dropped the idea.
Old 6th September 2013, 14:34   #8050

I am getting a good deal on a Fiat Punto. So am think of stretching my Budget of 3.5L for petrol sedan.

Fiat Punto Emotion Pack (Black)
  • Model 2011, Registered Jan 2012
  • Extended Warranty till 2016
  • KM Run : 28500 (Second free service of 30k pending)
  • Few minor scratches, which I think a rub with rubbing compound and polish will make it as good as new
  • Didn't see any accident cover up.
  • Tyres should run another 7-10,000 km
  • Reverse Sensor w/ camera, No other mods. Body cover included
  • Asking price 4.9L

What do you guys think ?
Old 6th September 2013, 16:29   #8051

Originally Posted by iWonder View Post
I am getting a good deal on a Fiat Punto. So am think of stretching my Budget of 3.5L for petrol sedan.

Fiat Punto Emotion Pack (Black)
[*] Model 2011, Registered Jan 2012[*] Extended Warranty till 2016[*] KM Run : 28500 (Second free service of 30k pending)[*] Few minor scratches, which I think a rub with rubbing compound and polish will make it as good as new[*] Didn't see any accident cover up.[*] Tyres should run another 7-10,000 km[*] Reverse Sensor w/ camera, No other mods. Body cover included[*] Asking price 4.9L

What do you guys think ?
Errrr Punto/Sedan do you mean a Linea???
Is it a Petrol or MJD?
Old 6th September 2013, 17:14   #8052

New Query:

I have seen two cars with my mechanic for sale.

The first was an esteem, 2001 model LX, single owner. The condition looked good.

The second was a baleno, 2004 model, lxi, single owner and its condition was very good. Are the prices okay??? And between the baleno and the esteem, which one would be more driver centric???
Old 6th September 2013, 19:40   #8053

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Errrr Punto/Sedan do you mean a Linea???
Is it a Petrol or MJD?
1.3 MJD Grande Punto, Diesel

Last edited by iWonder : 6th September 2013 at 19:47.
Old 6th September 2013, 20:33   #8054

Folks,

Help required, a friend is contemplating purchasing an Aveo - details
Oct 2007, model - LS, done 60K, italian CNG kit fitted, cashmere colour, 2nd owner, Gurgaon registered. The asking price is 2.3 Lakhs, please advise on this deal !
Old 6th September 2013, 20:46   #8055

Originally Posted by ridinthru' View Post
Folks,

Help required, a friend is contemplating purchasing an Aveo - details
Oct 2007, model - LS, done 60K, italian CNG kit fitted, cashmere colour, 2nd owner, Gurgaon registered. The asking price is 2.3 Lakhs, please advise on this deal !
That is an extremely high price,i wont pay more than 1.5L,if the car is in very good condition.