Old 21st December 2013, 19:12   #8701

Originally Posted by alter.e.go View Post
Guys - Em in the market for a used Zen (2004 - 2006 model) my old love. I always wanted it and now decided to buy one. From a cursory search on the net the range seems to be between 80K to 150K, with around 70000 - 80000 kms on the odo in "good condition".

I would think anything above 1 lakh is high, would you guys agree ? Or do I need to shell out a little more (keeping that for any 'work' that the car may need )
As far as I have seen, the zen still commands a good re sale value. I sold my 2003 model 2nd owner 60k run zen in 2011 for 1.5 lakhs to True value. This was in Bangalore. My co brother sold his 2005 50k zen to an individual couple of months back for 1.6 lakh. This was in kerala.
Old 22nd December 2013, 00:42   #8702

Folks, need some guidance again. About a couple of weeks ago I had asked about the price idea of a 1.8TSI superb in Bangalore (2010 done only 10k kms) I got indications from a few folks here that about 12lacs is the max you should go. Today I went to a Mercedes dealer and out of curiosity asked him about the expected price for the same car, posing as if I wanted to sell it. He gave me a quote of 8 lacs!!! I understand that dealer price is usually lower but 4 lacs lower is absurd!! Does this mean that my quote to the actual seller of the car be max 9 lacs and not 12?

Really need some help around this from bhpians who have a handle on the Bangalore market for Superbs.
Old 22nd December 2013, 18:06   #8703

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Hi Guys, what would be a good price for a 2008 Honda Accord 2.4 AT and a similar aged Civic AT? 2007-08 Civic or 2006-07 Accord AT would be a better option?
Old 22nd December 2013, 19:45   #8704

Originally Posted by mzone View Post
Hi Guys, what would be a good price for a 2008 Honda Accord 2.4 AT and a similar aged Civic AT? 2007-08 Civic or 2006-07 Accord AT would be a better option?
Accord is a powerful vehicle which gulps fuel mercilessly. Civic is fun to drive and ages well.
If you have a deep pocket, go for Accord.
My Civic automatic was returning 8-9kmpl.
I purchased 2008 Model Civic last year for 5.8lacs from dealer.
Accord might be couple of lacs more.
harishpr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2013, 19:56   #8705

Can't help you much with prices, but I'd go for the Civic simply because it'll be easier on the pocket in terms of maintenance and running costs (read fuel). There are also some super deals to be had in the used car market when it comes to Civics.

The Accord is a 20L+ car at the end of the day and it will be more expensive to own. If you're cool with that and it tugs at your heart strings more, by all means go for it.

Oh yeah, I also feel the Civic looks much nicer, but that's just my personal opinion.
iliketurtles is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2013, 20:37   #8706

Thanks for the replies, I am expecting it to be heavy on the pocket but my usage is expected to be light, I work abroad and visit home 3 times a year for about 15 days each, the car will be used heavily then and while I'm away my dad will use the car very sparingly <400 kms a month. In this regard fuel costs do not matter much, it's just the upkeep (maintenance wise) that the accord will demand that I fear, I don't want to spend 5-6l on a used vehicle and have to change some important spares costing about a lakh or more. Since my budget is that (5-6l) the accords I will tend to get will be 2-3 years older than a similar priced civic. The accord appeals to me but if the civic makes more sense then I guess mind should prevail over heart. The maintenance costs are keeping in mind both are automatics
Old 22nd December 2013, 20:39   #8707

I do not know about Accord prices, but a 2007 - 08 Civic AT would be priced approximately at Rs. 5 lacs.

I will personally prefer to go with Civic rather than Accord due to obvious reasons of higher fuel efficiency & lower maintenance costs.

Old 23rd December 2013, 15:07   #8708

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
My friend sold his 2011 Dec Jazz top end model in April-May 2013 for 6 lakhs in chennai
Thanks! We settled for 5.25, and I am happy with it. It has got 13K kms.
Jazz X sans the rear spoiler and the body colored grill (add on items). personally I dont like the body colored grill, I prefer the black one. But I might try to find a used rear spoiler.
Old 23rd December 2013, 15:13   #8709

Safari 2004 -- 4x2 -- 140000 kms

What can be the correct price for a 2004 safari 4x2 version. odo shows its driven for 140000 kms but the service records show it had done approx 2 lac kms.

Find below the pics.

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-120131223_140950.jpg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-120131223_141024.jpg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-120131223_141030.jpg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-120131223_141038.jpg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-120131223_141657.jpg  

Old 23rd December 2013, 16:49   #8710

Expected price for 1995 M800

What price should I expect for:
1995 Maruti 800 AC
65k KM driven
1st owner

The thing is that the car is registered in Sangli (MH-10). Would there be any problems in selling the car to a Mumbai based person? (Since it is not BS4 compliant)

Registration is renewed and Green Tax is also paid. The battery, both axles, one headlight are new. Car was serviced recently.

The current issues are:
Suspension - front and rear
Engine mounts
Rusting in many places

TBHP price check tool says 19-24k
Carwale says 24k

I have people already asking for the car.
And what amount would I get if I scrap the car?
Old 23rd December 2013, 17:15   #8711

Originally Posted by zaveed View Post
What can be the correct price for a 2004 safari 4x2 version. odo shows its driven for 140000 kms but the service records show it had done approx 2 lac kms.

If there are different readings on ODO meter & Service records, then I will suggest to simply avoid this car. You may not know what is the real history of the car. Also there are many other options available in used car markets.

Originally Posted by amolbh View Post
1995 Maruti 800 AC. 65k KM driven. 1st owner
The thing is that the car is registered in Sangli (MH-10). Would there be any problems in selling the car to a Mumbai based person?

If the buyer in Mumbai has no issue for buying a Sangi registered car, then there is nothing that you need to take care. The buyer will have to get a NOC from RTO Sangli to get the car transferred in his name.

If you have buyers ready to pay for approx Rs. 25,000 for the said car, go ahead & sell it.

Jignesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2013, 17:18   #8712

Out in the dirty Bangalore market of reselling with my 3 years old Chevy Spark 1.0 LS. The car is driven only 20k KM by wifey and we need an upgrade only because she needs an AT vehicle due to knee injury. Maruti TrueValue rated it at Rs. 1.45 lacs with 25k exchange bonus. Whereas Hyundai rated it at 1.65 lacs. Both prices are ridiculously low in my opinion.
Old 23rd December 2013, 17:31   #8713

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
If you have buyers ready to pay for approx Rs. 25,000 for the said car, go ahead & sell it.
The nearby petrol-pump serviceman wanted it for 15k, which I feel is less.

Any idea how much scrapping it would cost? (just a question)
Old 23rd December 2013, 17:39   #8714

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post

If there are different readings on ODO meter & Service records, then I will suggest to simply avoid this car. You may not know what is the real history of the car. Also there are many other options available in used car markets.

Hi Jignesh,

thank you for the quick response, i am taking the vehicle to to TASS for an inspection before buying it, but wanted to check the approx prices that can be offered.

Old 23rd December 2013, 17:41   #8715

It depends on what you want really. If you're going to be driving yourself a significant amount of the time, and you don't foresee yourself carrying more than 4 adults most of the time, the Civic's the one for you. It's a lot more fun to drive, it almost never looks its age, and it's a car you could easily fall in love with.

On the other hand, if you plan to be chauffeur driven most of the time, or you plan to have more than 4 adults in the car most of the time, then the Accord's the one for you. It's got a supremely comfortable rear bench, the transmission and engine are tuned for comfort rather than outright performance and there's a LOT more space inside.

Whatever your use case, bear in mind that the Accord is quite large, and therefore quite a handful in city traffic, in addition to being quite a pain to park. The difference in fuel economy will be about 2 kpl, but the Accord has the bigger fuel tank, which will give you greater highway range. The Accord will also be roughly 1-2 lakhs more expensive.

Hope this helps.