Old 2nd June 2014, 19:33   #9346

Originally Posted by arihant jain View Post
Kindly share further details of your acquisition. It will be fun knowing all the details.
Got a detailed check up and tech report from BMW service centre. The vehicle is in good condition, all electrical and mechanicals are tested OK. Minor niggles and issues pointed out though i will discount it considering these tech reports are always conservative.

Will be picking it up in the next couple of days.
Old 2nd June 2014, 23:37   #9347

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by phynix123 View Post
The price seems a bit on the higher side considering the 25k odo. Who drives a car 25k in less than a year ? Did he use it as a taxi ? Either way, it probably faced a lot of abuse.
A new A star(auto) comes at Rs. 4.6 Lac. And if auto transmission is not your "requirement" , then a zxi A star comes at 4.3 Lac.
Looks like the guy was driving around a lot . But, condition of the car looks fair.

And, yes, I am specifically looking for an AT. A new A-star is no longer available, as it has been discontinued. They have cleared out all the stocks in the 6-7 dealerships I inquired with. AT variants of i10, i20, brio, polo tsi, and celerio are all of the equation, either due to budget, limited dealerships or waiting period issues.

Hence looking for astar AT in the used market.

Last edited by ashwin489 : 2nd June 2014 at 23:54.
Old 3rd June 2014, 07:48   #9348

Originally Posted by ashwin489 View Post
Looks like the guy was driving around a lot . But, condition of the car looks fair.
To me the price looks good. Do check the car for abuse though.

And, yes, I am specifically looking for an AT.
I am in the same boat as well.
Old 3rd June 2014, 08:34   #9349

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
What should be the fair price for below car? One of my colleague is wiling to sell it.

- 2006 Ford Fiesta 1.6 SXI (Comes fully loaded except the airbags)
- 2nd owner / Chennai registered
- 56k on odo (Partial service history available)
- 3k km old tyres
- No added accessories
- Clean body except for few scratches in the bumpers
I don't really know how much this would go for, but would love to know.
You should try carwale, and use their "fair" condition value.
Old 5th June 2014, 14:09   #9350

What should be the fair price for below car? I am willing to sell it.

- 2010 Toyota Corolla Altis G Petrol (Fully Loaded)
- 2nd owner / HR 26 Registered
- 26k on odo
- Original tyres
Old 5th June 2014, 15:46   #9351

Guys, is an Astar AT (ABS), 2013, 25k odo, BLR, fair condition worth 3.85 lakhs?
Well, its difficult to find good examples of A-Star AT in the used car market. Its just one year old, has ABS as well. An ideal price should be around 3.25 IMO considering the A-Star is now discontinued. Do update us if you close the deal.
Old 5th June 2014, 20:51   #9352

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
What should be the fair price for below car? One of my colleague is wiling to sell it.

- 2006 Ford Fiesta 1.6 SXI (Comes fully loaded except the airbags)
- 2nd owner / Chennai registered
- 56k on odo (Partial service history available)
- 3k km old tyres
- No added accessories

i have got a similar condition car which was 2009 model for 2.2 lakhs and i had to let it go since my friend wanted a sedan badly so i had to let it go.
SPEEDY_RACER is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th June 2014, 12:11   #9353

I picked up a 2005 model Esteem VXI. The car has run only 53000 kms in all these years. Has run only on petrol (no CNG). 1st owner. Have rust at few places but nothing major. Paid 80k for the car.
Old 6th June 2014, 12:23   #9354

Planning to sell my Car, what would be the fair price?

Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCI ZXI, Feb-2006
ODO: 101500
Mileage so far: 15 kmpl avg.
Full history
IInd Owner, bought 4 years back at 35K kms
Timing belt change done, Michelin tyres will run another 10K more
Old 6th June 2014, 12:48   #9355

Hi All, sold my coimbatore registered 2010 i10 1.2magna (odo26k) for 3.05lakhs. I was getting quotes from 2.8lakh onwards but surprisingly a dealer itself took the car for the above price. But after getting the advance; same day evening a direct buyer came n he was ready for 3.15lakhs😁
Old 7th June 2014, 13:40   #9356

What is a good price to pay for 2011 i10 Sportz Automatic in Bangalore? The car has ODO reading of 25k and is in quite good condition. No extras except rear parking sensors.
Old 7th June 2014, 15:45   #9357

Originally Posted by skyrocket003 View Post
Well, its difficult to find good examples of A-Star AT in the used car market. Its just one year old, has ABS as well. An ideal price should be around 3.25 IMO considering the A-Star is now discontinued. Do update us if you close the deal.
Decided to walk away from that deal, as the seller was not willing to budge any further.

Its hard for me to find 2012/2013 A-star ATs for less than 3.8 lacs in Bangalore. I am not sure if my negotiation skills suck or if automatics demand a good resale value here.

Btw, got another Astar AT offer: 2013, 1800kms, Bangalore, looks brand new with reverse camera. After a lot of talking, seller came down to 4.5 lacs. His logic was he paid close to 6 lacs including accessories for the car. I enquired with Maruti True Value for the same car and they estimated the value of the car to 3.3 lacs.

I am not sure how to go about these deals, as the market value and seller expectations are way off.

Last edited by ashwin489 : 7th June 2014 at 16:05.
Old 7th June 2014, 16:20   #9358

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Decided to walk away from that deal, as the seller was not willing to budge any further.

Its hard for me to find 2012/2013 A-star ATs for less than 3.8 lacs in Bangalore. I am not sure if my negotiation skills suck or if automatics demand a good resale value here.

Btw, got another Astar AT offer: 2013, 1800kms, Bangalore, looks brand new with reverse camera. After a lot of talking, seller came down to 4.5 lacs. His logic was he paid close to 6 lacs including accessories for the car. I enquired with Maruti True Value for the same car and they estimated the value of the car to 3.3 lacs.

I am not sure how to go about these deals, as the market value and seller expectations are way off.

Every time people increase the selling price on the context of accessories I just tell them to remove those and then sell me the car as the manufacturer sold it to them. Accesories are for ones convenience, they in no way should be affecting the car's resale value. This is just a stupid reason to Increase the asking price. If true value offers 3.3 lakhs then please do not quote more than 3.65lakhs.
And no petrol automatics demand a high resale value in India. It is just that the owners of these cars think they have something unique as we still have a smaller share of the market using automatics, so their asking price is rubbish.
Sorry if my words have offended anyone but this is the same problem I had faced when we were searching for a small auto car for my friend.

Asit

Last edited by asit.kulkarni93 : 7th June 2014 at 16:24.
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2014, 16:50   #9359

I enquired with Maruti True Value for the same car and they estimated the value of the car to 3.3 lacs.

Exactly, you are may be showing too much eagerness to the buyer. IMO you should look at i 10 automatics rather, there are more of these and less cynical sellers.
Old 7th June 2014, 18:21   #9360

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
Exactly, you are may be showing too much eagerness to the buyer.
You may be on to something there, point taken!

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
IMO you should look at i 10 automatics rather, there are more of these and less cynical sellers.
I am trying to get away from Hyundai for a while, especially since the service center in my town is lousy.