Old 14th March 2017, 11:16   #11896

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Guys, Please guide me for following. I get different quotes from OBV and Carwale/dekho.

Model: Chevrolet Spark
Variant: LT 1.0 (petrol)
Year: 2012 (April)
Colour: Mettalic (Red)
Mileage: 35000 kms
Condition: Good.
Old 14th March 2017, 12:17   #11897

Carwale / Cardekho are usually used by 2nd hand dealers. OBV is usually the buying value a dealer will offer you vs a private person will offer you.

Average between the values and see what turns up.

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Guys, Please guide me for following. I get different quotes from OBV and Carwale/dekho.

Model: Chevrolet Spark
Variant: LT 1.0 (petrol)
Year: 2012 (April)
Colour: Mettalic (Red)
Mileage: 35000 kms
Condition: Good.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2017, 13:25   #11898

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
As hserus mentioned, OBV is what one would most likely get when they try to sell a car to a dealer. Whereas, the Carwale/Cardekho are the reference prices(jacked up) used by the dealers to their advantage. That said, none of the online tools are sufficiently reliable among which OBV is a just a little better than the rest.
Old 14th March 2017, 13:52   #11899

Any specific reason why I am unable to view years 2014 and 2015 on the OBV tool when I select the car as Hyundai Elantra? The bought the car in 2014 and was checking on the tool.
bhaskaracs is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2017, 19:00   #11900

I am just wondering how the OBV tool is working without taking state of registration. I sold my Bike today. 2009 model Honda Unicorn. Sold it for 31000. OBV tool is showing 19,607 for excellent condition bike which is way too less. I had expected 35K though. I got minimal responses from OLX and the max bid got was 32K but the seller didn't turn up after inspection. SO finally decided to let it go for what i got best.
I am checking the price for my car. 2012 model Swift ZDI. Getting the price 4,58,108 in excellent condition for selling to an individual. My expectation was 6L. But that looks like higher. Is it a fair ask 5.3-5.5L . Car is in excellent condition. I just did a polishing and looks like new . Kerala Registration vehicle.
Old 15th March 2017, 10:10   #11901

Originally Posted by devil_klm View Post
I am just wondering how the OBV tool is working without taking state of registration. I sold my Bike today. 2009 model Honda Unicorn. Sold it for 31000. OBV tool is showing 19,607 for excellent condition bike which is way too less. I had expected 35K though. I got minimal responses from OLX and the max bid got was 32K but the seller didn't turn up after inspection. SO finally decided to let it go for what i got best.
Even I have seen OBV showing very low quotes for motorcycles. I've observed that evaluation of bikes4sale.in is very close to the market quotes. The price I got for my motorcycle (sold to an individual) was almost the same as what bikes4sale suggested (for an excellent condition vehicle). Even the price you got for your Honda Unicorn falls bang in the range.
Old 17th March 2017, 22:15   #11902

Need advice on a used Fiat Punto I am looking at in Pune.
Car: Fiat Punto Emotion PK 1.3 MJD
Year: 2012. Tuscan wine colour. Running: 55000kms
All 4 tyres changed at 47000kms. Car has quite a lot of scratches, the locks to hold the bonnet need replacement.
Service due in coming month. First owner. Individual car.

1. What should be the right price? Buyer is offering 4lac with new insurance. I have quoted 3.5 lacs.

2. Is it even advisable to buy a 55k kms run Punto considering the higher maintenance costs post 50k kms even if the seller is ready to match the quoted price? I had a quick spin in the car. Looks to be in a good mechanical condition.
Old 17th March 2017, 23:41   #11903

i was checking the tool and found that Ford Endeavour is valued too low. Guess its still calculating the old endeavour price as I see close to 50% depreciation on the valuation for a 3.2 AT titanium variant. At the same time Fortuner (even the old model) shows only 20% depreciation. Any idea ?
Old 18th March 2017, 02:14   #11904

Originally Posted by Sagar.Agarwal View Post
Need advice on a used Fiat Punto I am looking at in Pune.
Car: Fiat Punto Emotion PK 1.3 MJD
Year: 2012. Tuscan wine colour. Running: 55000kms
All 4 tyres changed at 47000kms. Car has quite a lot of scratches, the locks to hold the bonnet need replacement.
Service due in coming month. First owner. Individual car.

1. What should be the right price? Buyer is offering 4lac with new insurance. I have quoted 3.5 lacs.

2. Is it even advisable to buy a 55k kms run Punto considering the higher maintenance costs post 50k kms even if the seller is ready to match the quoted price? I had a quick spin in the car. Looks to be in a good mechanical condition.
As far as maintenance is concerned you will have to immediately spend a lot on 60k service since the timing chain will have to be replaced in the Punto. 60k KMS service is a major service for the Punto. This is part of its routine service. Check if the car has undergone 4 services till now, irrespective of Odometer reading i.e. atleast once a year.

Other than that the Punto is not very expensive to maintain. Plus you get all spares online at 99rpm.com .

I would have quoted 3.2 without insurance, so that the deal ends at 3.4-3.5lac.
Shanksta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2017, 13:27   #11905

Need advice on a car that I am considering:

VW, Jetta, Comfortline TDI MT, early 2014 model
35,000 km driven

Car seems in good condition. The online tools give a price range of 9-11 Lakhs. Carwale says 13. What should the price be?

~m
Old 21st March 2017, 14:59   #11906

Carwale is the broker's price. You can safely knock about 10% or so off it or maybe a bit more.

This is not going to be direct from an owner so it will surely cost you a bit more, but a lot of basic works will already have been done and polishing / detailing will be done. Make sure a good mechanic checks everything else inside because they won't bother about that or even tell you about it.

Originally Posted by serious_maniac View Post
Need advice on a car that I am considering:

VW, Jetta, Comfortline TDI MT, early 2014 model
35,000 km driven

Car seems in good condition. The online tools give a price range of 9-11 Lakhs. Carwale says 13. What should the price be?

~m
Old 22nd March 2017, 10:46   #11907

What should be a good price for Honda City AT, 2011, ran 31000KM?
Seller is asking for 4.5L. City is Kolkata.
Also, is there any specific issue to look into the car apart from full service history?
TIA
Old 22nd March 2017, 10:56   #11908

Hi guys, I am being offered 4.5 L for my 2014 Fiat Punto Evo Dynamic if I exchange my car for Maruti Suzuki S-Cross 1.3 Zeta model. Is it worth exchanging my car for this price? Need your valuable inputs for me to decide. Thanks in advance.
Old 22nd March 2017, 11:35   #11909

Originally Posted by archat68 View Post
What should be a good price for Honda City AT, 2011, ran 31000KM?
Seller is asking for 4.5L. City is Kolkata.
Also, is there any specific issue to look into the car apart from full service history?
TIA
Avoid 2010/2011 City AT. I use one and I am plagued by poor average when AC is on within city limits ( MID shows 7.1 kmpl after engine clean up and tune). This gen was also the Non CVT box.
riteshritesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2017, 11:53   #11910

Guy what would be a good price to sell my 2012 August Skoda Rapid, done around 77,000kms. Its the top trim Elegance 1.6Tdi Manual.

There are a few dents and scratches in the car, but recently serviced, timing belt has been changed.

Thinking of asking for 4.5L. On car wale people are asking 5.25, but owing to the dents in the car have lowered by value.