Old 9th December 2018, 22:48   #13006

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

I am looking for a used automatic car in Bangalore for the usual city driving. I initially shortlisted Polo GT TSI and Honda City automatic. I prefer the city as it would be my beater car so performance is not that big a concern. The city is also more reliable and cheaper to own.

I am seeing many ~2012ish Honda City cars in the price range of 6-7L and mileage of 35000-50000 KM. It seems like a fair deal but I am not sure if I am missing something. Also, all these cars are offered by the dealers. I plan to keep this car for 3-4 years, supplemented with another, bigger, car. My questions are:

1. Do I have other options apart from City and Polo GT? I am not interested in AMTs. Also not looking at Verna since its older pieces were really unstable.
2. Is 6L a good price for 2012 Honda City automatic. I really liked the fact that it has the paddle shifters
2. This post says that 2012 City had torque converter but not CVT. How much difference does it make?

Last edited by shobhit.shri : 9th December 2018 at 22:52.
Old 10th December 2018, 22:17   #13007

My friend is selling his Mumbai registered Honda Civic V MT. The car is 2011 registered but is in wonderfully pristine condition with new tyres and another year of Honda AMC. Has done close to 60 k km. It is a shame that he has to sell because he has moved to another country.
What would be a good price for the car ? He has sought my help in selling it. I would have bought it gladly but for the fact that my existing car and bike are already under utilised.
Old 10th December 2018, 23:06   #13008

Hi guys, what would be a good price to pay to an individual seller for an April 2018 model corolla altis, G model manual which has done 2000kms. A new one is about 18.8lacs here in Gurgaon and I believe showroom is currently offering about 1.1lacs of benefits as per ads.
Old 11th December 2018, 00:11   #13009

Originally Posted by bad_azz View Post
Hi guys, what would be a good price to pay to an individual seller for an April 2018 model corolla altis, G model manual which has done 2000kms
14 would be a fair price, maybe an extra 50K if the car in question is mint.
Old 11th December 2018, 21:35   #13010

Originally Posted by manson View Post
14 would be a fair price, maybe an extra 50K if the car in question is mint.
The seller has already come down to 14 from 16 but still finding no buyer at that price. The car is in mint condition. Even has the plastics on the seats. I have offered him 12. Let's see if he comes down to anywhere near that
Old 15th December 2018, 20:15   #13011

What would be right price for 2015 petrol Zest XT, first owner, 40K run, in Bangalore ? The OBV check shows up to 3.5L.
Any better petrol alternative in 4-5L?
Old 16th December 2018, 07:17   #13012

The seller has already come down to 14 from 16 but still finding no buyer at that price. The car is in mint condition. Even has the plastics on the seats. I have offered him 12. Let's see if he comes down to anywhere near that
Damn. I am shocked and a bit hurt to be honest since I own the older generation. It is really surprising that a Corolla Altis is not finding a buyer. Despite it's engine and non European feel, there is a definite market that it caters to and one would expect enough buyers to lap up an almost brand new car at 2L off the sticker price. 12L means within 6 months it is depreciating by 33%.
Old 16th December 2018, 09:55   #13013

Damn. I am shocked and a bit hurt to be honest since I own the older generation. It is really surprising that a Corolla Altis is not finding a buyer. Despite it's engine and non European feel, there is a definite market that it caters to and one would expect enough buyers to lap up an almost brand new car at 2L off the sticker price. 12L means within 6 months it is depreciating by 33%.
I think the news of 2019 corolla being just a few months away could be a major reason. And I am sure he has spoken to many genuinely interested buyers but nobody is offering what would actually be a reasonable price for it. He has been trying to sell it for a month now.
Old 16th December 2018, 15:50   #13014

I think the news of 2019 corolla being just a few months away could be a major reason. And I am sure he has spoken to many genuinely interested buyers but nobody is offering what would actually be a reasonable price for it. He has been trying to sell it for a month now.
This is petrol or diesel?
Old 16th December 2018, 17:28   #13015

This is petrol or diesel?
It's a white colour petrol
Old 16th December 2018, 21:22   #13016

I do not think there is a great a amount of buzz for the 2019 Corolla. That is not the reason for lack of buyers.

Usually used car buyers buy with cash, loans are expensive for used cars. And the used car market is largely under the 8 lakh bracket. Any higher and you are looking at buyers who actually want used luxury cars at 12-18 lakhs.
Very rare for a used car buyer to look at a 14-15 lakh car that is actually just 4 lakhs off its original price. You might as well go for a loan in the case of a new car. If you do buy, then remember that you would be the 2nd owner and selling it would be a lot tougher.
motorworks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2018, 08:15   #13017

Originally Posted by anthusiast View Post
What would be right price for 2015 petrol Zest XT, first owner, 40K run, in Bangalore ? The OBV check shows up to 3.5L.
Any better petrol alternative in 4-5L?
If you get the car at the OBV value ( which I doubt a bit ) its a steal.

In terms of alternatives, so many exist depending on how old a car you are ok with.

You can even get a old Civic in that price range
narayan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2018, 16:08   #13018

OK so i have been searching for f10 530d for quite some time now and came across following two options:

Option - 1 : Make-April-2016 530d used as a demo vehicle until 17000 kms, serviced and sold in Dec -2017. Technically car is just 1 year old by registration date. Asking price 40 lacs.
Pros: Car is still tight. Checked through my contacts here in bmw and they confirmed the history during demo but advises me not to pay 40 lacs because it must have been sold at around 47 lacs on road. No accident claim in last 1 year. Most importantly Carbon black exterior with cinnamon brown interior, the combo i dream to own some day.

Cons: its a demo car and must have been abused in early years.

Option - 2
Make and registration April -2014, Imperial Blue with beige interiors, 54000 kms driven, all service records checked and complete in BMW, tyres changed at 36000 kms and recent service done 2000 kms back. Owner wants to buy G30 and hence in a hurry to take advantage of december offers. Offered price is 29 lacs non-negotiable.
Pros : Car is well maintained at 3M and still holds a good clean shine.
Cons : Car will be 5 years old with around 60000 kms on it by April 2019.

which one can be a good deal or should i look for some other deal?
BTW i am offered new G30 530d at mouth watering 62 lacs OTR. Comparing that with F10 prices, i am not convinced to pay anything over 35 lacs for F10 model. Please advice.
Old 21st December 2018, 11:41   #13019

Hello Bhpians
I have been looking for used car option for quite some time.
Right now I have 3 Automatic vehicles that I have shortlisted

1. Corolla Altis August 2013 1.8 V AT - Old model - 40k on DOO - 7.5L
2. Corolla Altis August 2016 1.8 VL AT - New model - 3k on ODO - 16L
3. Fortuner August 2012 AT 3.0 4X2 - Facelifted - 1L on ODO - 16.5L

I know the third option is very different from the rest two. I have been reading many travelogues on team-bhp with Fortuner, XUV, Hexa or a MUX. This has set a goal to buy a proper SUV sooner or later.

What should be realistic looking, deal-making prices for these options according to experts here?

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 29th December 2018 at 11:59. Reason: Typo
Old 26th December 2018, 19:30   #13020

Hi.

What should I offer for 2015 Honda City SV Petrol, Delhi registered, 15500 kms.

The car is listed at Team-bhp classifieds by a bhpian but I could not find any post about this car.

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...nda/City.html/

Last edited by mukeshgoel : 26th December 2018 at 19:32.