Old 10th November 2019, 17:27   #13456

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by dhruv45in View Post
Helpies, I have to get back to the dealer with my counter offer. Just got to know the car is Nov 2017 manufactured, registered in Mar 2018. What would be a good price for this car?
Any pointers will be really helpful people as I have to reply to the dealer tomorrow. What should be the expected price for Nov 2017 manufactured Jeep Compass, registered in Mar 2018, GJ registration, Limited 4X4, 29k miles. The dealer is asking 18 lac.
Old 10th November 2019, 18:26   #13457

What price can I expect for 2016 Nov Scross 1.3 Alpha. Top mechanical condition. No scratches. 42 K. Selling as I want to buy a Auto sedan considering i am driving more in city.
Old 11th November 2019, 09:52   #13458

Originally Posted by dhruv45in View Post
Any pointers will be really helpful people as I have to reply to the dealer tomorrow. What should be the expected price for Nov 2017 manufactured Jeep Compass, registered in Mar 2018, GJ registration, Limited 4X4, 29k miles. The dealer is asking 18 lac.
Don't offer more than 15 Lakh.
Logic : It's a two year old (by RC) car now and soon to be 3 years old + BS4 version

Typically, cars depreciate ~35% (from ex-showroom price) in 2 years. Considering the ex-showroom price of compass limited 4x4 to be ~21.5, it comes around 14.

Add max 1 lakh to it since this is coming from a dealer.

Remember, it very tough for the dealer to for find a buyer willing to buy a pre-owned car for 15lakh that too in end of year.

Also, a Honda dealer offered 12Lakh for 2017 Limited Diesel with 13k when my uncle asked for a exchange deal. So, your offer won't be far off.

All the best
vaasscit is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th November 2019, 11:34   #13459

Originally Posted by vaasscit View Post
Typically, cars depreciate ~35% (from ex-showroom price) in 2 years.
I think that's on the higher side. 35% from On road price is more realistic.
pseudo_coder is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2019, 13:53   #13460
mxx

What is a good price for 2016 Honda City VX CVT with odo around 35000 in Bangalore?
Old 11th November 2019, 16:49   #13461

I am getting a 2015 Skoda Octavia Ambition 2.0 Diesel Manual Transmission in Bangalore. It is around 27K kms driven and single owner. Can someone please help with

1) What are things that specifically need to be checked for this car (any known issues for this model)?
2) What is a good price to offer?
Old 11th November 2019, 20:19   #13462

Jeep dealer is offering 2018 manufactured demo Jeep Compass Sport for 17.8 lakhs. No miles on the ODO. Alloy wheels, Reverse Cam and Leather seats added. Is it a good bargain? 2019 they are quoting 18.35 lakhs.
Old 11th November 2019, 20:38   #13463

Originally Posted by vaasscit View Post
Don't offer more than 15 Lakh.
Logic : It's a two year old (by RC) car now and soon to be 3 years old + BS4 version

Typically, cars depreciate ~35% (from ex-showroom price) in 2 years.
All the best
Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
I think that's on the higher side. 35% from On road price is more realistic.
Thanks! I was thinking of offering 15 lacs myself. I also have my Nov 2015 manufactured (Jan 2016 Reg.) Scorpio S4+ to exchange. Any idea how much I shall be looking to get for it. ODO stands at 46k, extended warranty till Jan 2020.
Old 11th November 2019, 21:19   #13464

Guys, looks like BS6 diesel will not go well with BS4 diesel engines, whereas in case of petrol it should be fine, as there is not much difference in the composition of BS6 and BS4 petrol.

In case of diesel, the reverse is also not going well. There have been reports of the BS6 Seltos throwing check engine light on BS4 diesel.

Not sure if anybody has tested the BS4 diesel engine with the BS6 diesel for a considerable mileage yet. The negative effects might be more pronounced on the bigger capacity engines.

Factor in these before considering buying BS4 new or used diesel cars.

Last edited by CliffHanger : 11th November 2019 at 21:20.
CliffHanger is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2019, 21:26   #13465

Originally Posted by ramnaresh_2000 View Post
Jeep dealer is offering 2018 manufactured demo Jeep Compass Sport for 17.8 lakhs. No miles on the ODO. Alloy wheels, Reverse Cam and Leather seats added. Is it a good bargain? 2019 they are quoting 18.35 lakhs.
For 50k why would you risk buying a vehicle driven harshly my many drivers?

If you are spending 17 big ones spend that .5 extra and buy a new one itself. Personally I woudnt risk it even if I get 1lakh discount on a demo.

Originally Posted by CliffHanger View Post
Guys, looks like BS6 diesel will not go well with BS4 diesel engines, whereas in case of petrol it should be fine, as there is not much difference in the composition of BS6 and BS4 petrol.

In case of diesel, the reverse is also not going well. There have been reports of the BS6 Seltos throwing check engine light on BS4 diesel.

Not sure if anybody has tested the BS4 diesel engine with the BS6 diesel for a considerable mileage yet. The negative effects might be more pronounced on the bigger capacity engines.

Factor in these before considering buying BS4 new or used diesel cars.
This is already discussed here.

Last edited by AccordSport : 11th November 2019 at 21:30.
Old 11th November 2019, 21:37   #13466

At this time, when Jeep is struggling to sell compass, moreover it's year end, 50k discount on last year's demo vehicle is laughably small. It's not enough even if the vehicle was just standing for the whole year.
pseudo_coder is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2019, 22:14   #13467

Demo vehicle and No miles seem like a joke, for sure they would have reset it (or did you mean low mileage? heard of some weird combo that used to exist to reset, maybe they will be able to do it at dealer level when is used below 200 kms, not sure how many times)

15-20% discount is what I would expect, since for sure it is a used 2018 vehicle.(bargain showing the price of resale 2018 models)

Last edited by SideView : 11th November 2019 at 22:18. Reason: Added info
Old 11th November 2019, 22:20   #13468

Originally Posted by SideView View Post
Demo vehicle and No miles seem like a joke, for sure they would have reset it (or did you mean low mileage? heard of some weird combo that used to exist to reset, maybe they will be able to do it at dealer level)

15-20% discount is what I would expect, since for sure it is a used 2018 vehicle.(bargain showing the price of resale 2018 models)
Demo vehicle in showroom and not test-drive vehicle. I think I might have confused everyone here. Apologies.

Originally Posted by AccordSport View Post
For 50k why would you risk buying a vehicle driven harshly my many drivers?

If you are spending 17 big ones spend that .5 extra and buy a new one itself. Personally I woudnt risk it even if I get 1lakh discount on a demo.
Same response as above. Also included 80k worth genuine Jeep accessories. So the Math is as below

New 2019 Sport variant after discount 18.35 - No Accessories

Old 2018 Sport Variant 17.8 plus 80k worth accessories. I managed to push it to 17.35 but not confirmed booking yet.
Old 11th November 2019, 23:02   #13469

A 2017 Hexa XTA 6 seater is available for Rs 12.5 lakh. 43000 kms. First owner. The owner runs a Tata Motors showroom. How to find out if the vehicle was used as a demo car?

About the car itself, it is innsilver color, and appeared very dull to me. Since this is the first Hexa I saw in this color, I don't know whether the color itself is dull, or it's due to poor maintenance. Looking at the car I felt that this color doesn't suit at at all.
Old 12th November 2019, 15:21   #13470
VPL

Please Advice On This Pre Owned Fortuner

Hi Friends,

Been hunting for a good fortuner since last 2 months and have seen alot of them. Mostly odo is tampered or too much run and not maintained well enough for the liking. Few genuine ones are priced very high.

I had come across the below and finally the dealer was asking for 14.50L for specs as follows.
https://www.olx.in/item/toyota-fortu...iid-1544879943

Toyota Fortuner : 2012 Automatic 4x2.
Kms Done : 84000 kms ( claims to be with genuine service records )
Single Owner
Insurance : Comprehensive.

I had intially offered him 12L, then stopped on 13L, and he has come down to 13.75L. (this is after taking test drive which i found good).

What should be best price to be offered for same? As only after negotiating i would be sending the vehicle for complete scanning at the Toyota workshop and on clear report proceed with the deal.

Looking forward for expert advise on above.

Thank You In Advance.