Old 4th January 2020, 22:54   #13621

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
The price is slightly on the higher side. Would be a great buy at 5-5.2L. But, if the car is mechanically pristine it may be worth it, considering the fact that a new City CVT would cost upwards of 13L.
Would have been great at 5.2ish but the price of used Honda City automatic is at a different level in bangalore. Mad traffic, decent petrol mileage, Honda brand name it has got everything going for it. Was hoping to land some good deals during the bs4->6 transition/model change but Honda foiled it by launching the existing one itself in bs6
InControl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2020, 23:26   #13622

Originally Posted by grimmreaper_gtr View Post
I'd pick the Jazz with my eyes closed. It's so much more spacious, better looking (subjective) and premium!
Thanks Grim Reaper, Aditya, Omar, pseudo_coder & Arindambasu,

I finalized on the Jazz CVT at 5.85L after doing a check up at a Honda ASS and brought the car home yesterday.
The dealer addressed a few issues like AC gas charging and cabin filter changing, front brake pads replaced, second horn fitted with relay & new steering cover all without charging any extra.
So far I am very happy with the car.
Will be taking it for a full service tomorrow at Solitaire Honda including changing all fluids etc.

Thanks for all the inputs I got on this thread.

SS
suzuki san is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th January 2020, 07:32   #13623

Originally Posted by isldhn View Post
On further enquires from the dealership, I came to know that this car has been driven around 1.1 lakh km’s till July’19 when it was last serviced.
I shall be grateful for any pointers or opinions team
Is it possible to share the used car dealer name who is trying to sell you the car with tampered odometer. ?
This will help our Bhpians to avoid them while scouting for used cars .
alexpaul is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2020, 10:58   #13624

Originally Posted by alexpaul View Post
Is it possible to share the used car dealer name who is trying to sell you the car with tampered odometer. ?
This will help our Bhpians to avoid them while scouting for used cars .
Buddy, this was a direct customer I approached through his advert on a platform for used cars. Anyways, I called to confront this guy and got the news that the car has already been sold, to some unexpectant customer I guess :-(
isldhn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2020, 13:42   #13625

Hi Fellow Bhpians,
What should be the realistic price of a 2018 Jeep Compass 2.0 Sport variant (March 2018) having done 13100kms?
It is Chandigarh registered (the cheapest in terms of registration charges in the country) and is being sold by an individual.
Old 11th January 2020, 16:24   #13626

I wanted to share a strange experience I went through when selling my car through cars24.com, about a year ago. However, this incident is not about cars24 experience & hence have not posted it in cars24 thread.

I earlier owned a Fluidic Verna Petrol which had done about 42,000 kms since 2011. I had booked a Creta in 2018 & wanted to sell the Verna before the Creta came.

I took the vehicle to cars24.com & went through the process. The price offered after the auction was also very good & more than what Hyundai/broker was offering. So we sealed the deal. Just a day later before the amount was to be transferred to me, the guy at cars24 called me saying that the odo has been tampered.

I asked him the source of data & he said that he was checking with the Hyundai Dealer Management System (HDMS) & the car is showing a mileage of 72500 kms. He also sent me the screenshots which were showing 72500 kms. However, I was the only owner and driver of the vehicle.

I always used to get the car serviced at Trident Hyundai and spoke to my service advisor. He went through the records starting from 2011 & found out that as the car was had a low running, someone had punched in an extra 20000 kms when the car came its 4th year service by mistake. Subsequently, every service advisor had continued adding extra kms to the odo reading in the HDMS rather than deal with the paperwork of correcting it.

This mess took a week to sort with emails & certified letters from Trident and Hyundai about the mistake. Trident, to their credit, also corrected the error in the system to reflect the true odo readings. The car was subsequently sold by cars24 for the auction price without any issues.

I now make it a point to check the odo reading on the bill after each and every service.

TLDR - Check the odometer readings on the every service bills so that you don't get accused with odometer tampering when you are selling the car.
car_addict is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 09:35   #13627

Quick question - why are used car prices so low in Delhi? Especially Diesel models. I know there is an aspect of HC mandated bans on used cars beyond a certain age; however, the price differences defy logic. Used BMW 530Ds in Chennai of the 2011 vintage are generally listing around Ra. 17 lakhs. The same cars in Delhi list around 12 lakhs or less. This is like a 40% price difference!

This seems to be a plum opportunity for an organised player to re-register Delhi cars in other states and offer it at a cost lower than the locally registered used cars. Revenue starved states (e.g.Kerala) can also make some additional revenue by offering to register 5+ year old cars from other states at a lower level of road tax?

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 13th January 2020 at 09:37.
84.monsoon is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 11:01   #13628

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Quick question - why are used car prices so low in Delhi? Especially Diesel models. I know there is an aspect of HC mandated bans on used cars beyond a certain age; however, the price differences defy logic. Used BMW 530Ds in Chennai of the 2011 vintage are generally listing around Ra. 17 lakhs. The same cars in Delhi list around 12 lakhs or less. This is like a 40% price difference!

This seems to be a plum opportunity for an organised player to re-register Delhi cars in other states and offer it at a cost lower than the locally registered used cars. Revenue starved states (e.g.Kerala) can also make some additional revenue by offering to register 5+ year old cars from other states at a lower level of road tax?
The on road price of a new vehicle in Delhi is lower than many other places to start with. Mainly due to lower taxes involved. However, inter-state used cars are not easy to sell. Ask any dealer and they will tell you the same. Too many unknowns and people suspect those to be lemons or accident vehicles or all sorts of things. Moreover, re-registering the vehicle in another state is capital intensive effort. You have to pay full taxes in new state and then claim the balance back in the earlier state. Paper work involved is too much.

Hence dealers don't go this route.
sunilch is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 11:04   #13629

Originally Posted by sunilch View Post
The on road price of a new vehicle in Delhi is lower than many other places to start with. Mainly due to lower taxes involved. However, inter-state used cars are not easy to sell. Ask any dealer and they will tell you the same. Too many unknowns and people suspect those to be lemons or accident vehicles or all sorts of things. Moreover, re-registering the vehicle in another state is capital intensive effort. You have to pay full taxes in new state and then claim the balance back in the earlier state. Paper work involved is too much.

Hence dealers don't go this route.
I hope someday we would have a system wherein it wont matter which state the car is registered until its a valid registration number
neoonwheels is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 15:24   #13630

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Most luxury cars and old Innova's/Fortuner's that I spot in Hyderabad are DL or HR 26 registered. It makes that much more sense for a buyer to buy a used car from Delhi as the price difference as you rightly calculated comes to 40-60%.

However, as per my observation the easier route being followed by many is buying a car in Delhi and getting the ownership transferred to their name to a fake address in Delhi. Then, later follow up the process of NOC from RTO or altogether ignore as long as the car is in their name.

In short, it is illegal, but as long as people can manage nothing stops them from doing it. And the used car dealers (both in Delhi and local) are already part of this nexus and this is not new to them.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 18:10   #13631

Originally Posted by InControl View Post
How does a honda city SV CVT Mar' 2014 model sound like at 5.8 lakhs including brokerage charges.
Took the plunge at 5.8 including brokerage. So far so good
InControl is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th January 2020, 18:22   #13632

I have already cleared most of my doubts on this car on the Honda BR-V thread. Now it's the actual price any other stuff like that.

I am looking at a Honda BRV - V. October 2016 Manufacturing. 2017 Feb registered. Silver. Single Owner. Run 29,500 Kms. Bombay registered. Asking price is 7.85L after bargaining. Car has been fitted with an original Honda touchscreen music system with Navigation and reverse camera (supposedly worth 25K). Also a small plastic guard in front as well as rear fender/bumper guards. There are some ballast's inside the bonnet which leads me to believe that there are HID's fitted. The dealer carried out a full OBD scan on his IPad in front of me. No errors showed up. Car looks accident free but I will still take it to Honda for a check. On the test drive the pick up was pretty good and no suspension noise.

Kindly advise if the price is right or do I need to bargain further?

I should add here that the BR-V will be used mainly for highway runs - every 2 to 3 months between Bombay and Goa - with 2 adults and luggage. The rear seats will probably never be used. I like the car for it's high ground clearance, SUV like looks and versatile seating (if required) not to mention the City engine and CVT gearbox.

The other option is a 2014 City SV - CVT which I am getting for 5.70L. Problem is no alloy wheels, no paddle shift and less ground clearance.
This car has driven only 22,000 Kms and is in excellent condition.

Thanks & Regards,
SS

Last edited by suzuki san : 15th January 2020 at 18:43. Reason: Adding more info.
suzuki san is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th January 2020, 02:00   #13633

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post
Kindly advise if the price is right or do I need to bargain further?
Well, I may be wrong but the way I see, you are not getting real benefit in purchasing a not so popular used car in the BR-V. The BR-V may not see daylight post 2020, keeping that in view the market price shouldn't be that high AFAIK.

The City on the other hand is a safer bet discounting the ground clearance, extra seats and few features. Due to its omnipresence it's easier to live with and easier to leave as well. At 5'ish it could be a good deal if all is well. Also, it should be more efficient than the BR-V on the highways due to its design.

All the best and take a call weighing both heart's and mind's say.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2020, 07:59   #13634

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post
Thanks Grim Reaper, Aditya, Omar, pseudo_coder & Arindambasu,

I finalized on the Jazz CVT at 5.85L after doing a check up at a Honda ASS and brought the car home yesterday.
The dealer addressed a few issues like AC gas charging and cabin filter changing, front brake pads replaced, second horn fitted with relay & new steering cover all without charging any extra.
This just caught my eye. If your car required a gas topup the chances are high that there's a leak somewhere in the system, or a failed cooling coil / compressor. So - I am willing to bet that inside of two or three months the cooling will go down again, and you then end up having to strip the dashboard to get at the AC and fix whatever it is.

Don't do it at a Honda dealer, check for a good AC specialist in your city and go there, TBHP might have recommendations.
hserus is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th January 2020, 09:00   #13635

Owners selling their Dusters will be badly affected by the massive price cut from Renault, as the new car price has an immediate effect on the used prices.

Conversely, people thinking of picking up a second-hand Duster are in for a treat :-). As mentioned by many on the Duster threads, the only issues are the generally high cost of maintenance, lack of aftermarket spares and the injector failures (more on the 110, I believe). The vehicle itself is robust as is the basis K9K engine and transmission.