Old 5th March 2021, 21:21   #14446

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

What's a decent rate for a 1998 M800 STD with 50K on the ODO and no issues whatsoever? Rear tires need replacing, so that's about 3500-4000 off the price, I guess?
Old 5th March 2021, 21:32   #14447

Originally Posted by hellmet View Post
What's a decent rate for a 1998 M800 STD with 50K on the ODO and no issues whatsoever? Rear tires need replacing, so that's about 3500-4000 off the price, I guess?
30k max. Not a penny more. Start bargaining at 24-25k.
stallmaster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 22:15   #14448

Originally Posted by stallmaster View Post
30k max. Not a penny more. Start bargaining at 24-25k.
Thanks! I'm the seller, actually I'd probably start around 35K+ and then negotiate from there, then.
Old 5th March 2021, 22:25   #14449

Originally Posted by hellmet View Post
Thanks! I'm the seller, actually
Makes sense to list at 35k then. You'll probably get around 30.
Old 8th March 2021, 18:40   #14450

Originally Posted by freakmuzik View Post
... 90% of the cars I've seen come with an unreasonable asking price. It's indeed a process requiring ample patience and clarity. Let me go meditate
True that. Its few months and I'm still jumping around from olx to Cars24 to spinny, from 7 seater MPVs to sedans.

Search without CLARITY is just jumping around fruitlessly so: I'm looking at myself in mirror.
Old 8th March 2021, 18:58   #14451

Guys, looking for used Brezza or Ecosport for my brother, who is upgrading from his 10 year old Swift VDI, which has run 1,60,000 Kms.

The budget for this car would be ₹9L and can be extended a bit as well and he is planning to exchange his Swift as well for any of these both.
car_guy1998 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 19:53   #14452

I'll be soon in the market for a used car. I have a driving license and confident in driving but have not driven continuously for a prolonged time period. So, i'll be somewhat of a learner in a used vehicle before migrating to a new vehicle. I can spend around 3-4 lakhs. What sort of vehicle i am looking at in this price point and how long can i hold on to this vehicle?
Old 8th March 2021, 20:03   #14453

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post
Guys, looking for used Brezza or Ecosport for my brother, who is upgrading from his 10 year old Swift VDI, which has run 1,60,000 Kms.

The budget for this car would be ₹9L and can be extended a bit as well and he is planning to exchange his Swift as well for any of these both.
With such budget, kindly look into Maruti True Value for the Brezza. You might get not too old examples with/within warranty and maybe a healthy exchange bonus for the Swift.
88_TANK_88 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 20:09   #14454

Originally Posted by 88_TANK_88 View Post
With such budget, kindly look into Maruti True Value for the Brezza. You might get not too old examples with/within warranty and maybe a healthy exchange bonus for the Swift.
Thanks for the inputs brother. But, I couldn't find a well maintained Brezza and here, in our city, everyone are quoting more than Rs.9L for well maintained and less run 2018-19 Brezza.

Well, my brother is inclined towards the Ecosport as the Ford ASC is located very near to his house and, I guess finding an used Ecosport might be easier than finding an used Brezza at this price point.
car_guy1998 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 20:20   #14455

Originally Posted by car_guy1998 View Post
Thanks for the inputs brother. But, I couldn't find a well maintained Brezza and here, in our city, everyone are quoting more than Rs.9L for well maintained and less run 2018-19 Brezza.

Well, my brother is inclined towards the Ecosport as the Ford ASC is located very near to his house and, I guess finding an used Ecosport might be easier than finding an used Brezza at this price point.
For the Ecosport, keep in mind the year on year feature reshuffle by Ford. Same model may have different feature set depending on year of manufacturing.
88_TANK_88 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 21:46   #14456

Dear Fellow TBhpians,

My brother is on the lookout for a used car in Mumbai for his daily office commute (approximately 100 km per week) and occasional weekend runs outside the city. He is getting a used Skoda Laura Ambiente 1.8 TSI (2012) for Rs 3.45 lakhs. As per the owner, the car is well maintained and has run 48k km with the entire service record in place.

Does it make sense to go ahead with this deal? What kind of costs should he factor in for servicing and part replacement in the next 1-2 yrs. Also, how is the part availability for Laura in Mumbai, and are there good FNGs that can cater to this car?

If purchased, this will be his first car. Looking forward to your valuable inputs.
Old 8th March 2021, 22:32   #14457

Originally Posted by 88_TANK_88 View Post
For the Ecosport, keep in mind the year on year feature reshuffle by Ford. Same model may have different feature set depending on year of manufacturing.
He doesn't care about the features and he needs only FE along with ground clearance as he drives on bad roads most of the time.

How about an S-Cross btw? I told him to have a look at S-Cross but one of my cousins told that S-Cross has low GC when compared to Brezza and not suitable for the kind of roads he drive.

BTW, my cousin is trying to sell a Ciaz Diesel, which is of 2017 and belongs to one of his friends and has run 68k Kms. How much he could expect for selling this vehicle? That Ciaz owner is expecting around Rs.8-9L btw.
Old 9th March 2021, 01:14   #14458

Originally Posted by MBond007 View Post
He is getting a used Skoda Laura Ambiente 1.8 TSI (2012) for Rs 3.45 lakhs. As per the owner, the car is well maintained and has run 48k km with the entire service record in place.
~1.5 year ago I basically bought a 2011 2.0 Laura ambiente 1.3l run for around 3.20 lakhs (for my friend). It had service records till that year. Odo had been rolled back but that was given I was dealing with a dealer. Now it has run 30,000 more. It's been great except one time where it's alternator belt snapped and a nearby mechanic robbed him of around 50k. At my guy regular service costs him 2000-3000 depending on filters and oils changed. Max he spent is 9000 for lower control arms and one set of brake pads. Just ensure you have good independent mechanic otherwise generally workshops look at Skoda VW cars as a money maker. I don't know about mumbai prices but according to Delhi prices it's a bit high. And petrol Laura while a enthusiast favourite may not find takers with general public easily so you can use that point to lower the price a bit. As per this forum, 1.8 tsi has a weak point it's water pump and some ac component, do account for that in negotiations. Good luck
My friend rues me to this day, saying how will ever I be able to upgrade from this without killing his bank account. Everything is a sidegrade at best unless spending biiiiig bucks.
Stolidus500 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th March 2021, 08:20   #14459

Will be selling my June 2017 Ciaz Delta that's done 33k for INR 6.6L. Excellent condition with the usual 2 wheeler scratches on the bumpers.

Toyota quoted INR 5.7L, Hyundai INR 5.8L & Mandovi True value - INR 6.6L. Car has nearly 20L of petrol and Mandovi even offered to store it in a can till my new car comes in. I have a lot of respect for Mandovi and kind of feel sad leaving the family.
vinu_h is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th March 2021, 12:47   #14460

What should be a good price to buy a 2019 Hyundai Creta (Diesel) SX AT model with odometer at 24k km, single owner with DL registration?