Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
Car: Honda City
Year: 2016
ODO: 78000
Variant: VX CVT
Transmission: Automatic
No.of owners: 2 (sale within relatives)

Asking price: 6.6 L

OTR price for VX CVT in 2016 was ~ 12.7L if I recall correct. What is the fair price for second owner VX CVT in 2021? I am thinking of offering 5.5L and go maximum up to 6L if condition is excellent. Please let me know if this is ok, I am going to check it tomorrow.

Thanks in advance!
I did some checks and found actual 2016 OTR price was around 14L for VX CVT. I am planning to offer 6L based on the condition. Thanks.
Old 22nd March 2021, 18:53   #14477

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

OTR price for VX CVT in 2016 was ~ 12.7L if I recall correct. What is the fair price for second owner VX CVT in 2021? I am thinking of offering 5.5L and go maximum up to 6L if condition is excellent. Please let me know if this is ok, I am going to check it tomorrow.

Thanks in advance!
Overall condition of the car is good. All tires need replacement and there is some noise from front left suspension when going over rough road. Owner is not ready to accept anything below 6.5L. He agreed to visit Honda service for checking service records.
Immediate expenses are four tires+service+insurance renewal (all together ~50k) = total expenditure ~ 7L

Is it worth?

Last edited by Latheesh : 22nd March 2021 at 18:54.
Latheesh is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2021, 19:11   #14478

IMHO 7 lakh expense for acquiring 78000kms and 5 years old vehicle is bit too much. Unless I was emotionally involved in the car, frankly I would look at other options. I think you will get a lesser run Yaris from 2018 at a lakh or bit more if you are open for that. The vehicle by itself doesn’t appear to be special to command a premium above your determined price.

What is the IDV in insurance? You can try to bargain around that price.
ani_meher is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd March 2021, 19:22   #14479

We exchanged our immaculately maintained 2010 Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire Vxi for 2.85 lakhs including 20,000 exchange bonus in Kerala. The resale value of Maruti vehicles are decent enough that we got about 50% of the value we spent on purchasing the car when it was brand new
Kottayamkaran is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2021, 15:42   #14480

Overall condition of the car is good. All tires need replacement and there is some noise from front left suspension when going over rough road. Owner is not ready to accept anything below 6.5L. He agreed to visit Honda service for checking service records.
Immediate expenses are four tires+service+insurance renewal (all together ~50k) = total expenditure ~ 7L

Is it worth?
I gave 6.3L offer but no response from the owner till now.

Last edited by Latheesh : 23rd March 2021 at 15:43.
Old 23rd March 2021, 17:26   #14481

Originally Posted by Kottayamkaran View Post
We exchanged our immaculately maintained 2010 Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire Vxi for 2.85 lakhs including 20,000 exchange bonus in Kerala. The resale value of Maruti vehicles are decent enough that we got about 50% of the value we spent on purchasing the car when it was brand new
Can't agree with you more. I sold my immaculately maintained 2010 Swift Dzire VXI 2010 model (i got as 2nd owner in 2011), driven for 45k kms only for 2.75L. This is 60% of the cost i paid as 2nd owner 10 years back.
concorde24 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2021, 17:35   #14482

Got a 2018 Grand i10 Automatic Sportz variant (with ABS and 2 Airbags) for wifey, 20K kms run for 5.6 lakhs in Bangalore.

Might have been ~7 Lakhs OTR in Bangalore in 2018 I guess. Price might look to be on the higher side, but on-the-ground Bangalore market reality is so different from what we see as a general rule here on the forum (This is the 6th car I am buying through OLX in Bangalore and I usually spend months crawling prices and test driving before I buy)

Got this from a direct owner after hunting on OLX and other platforms for 2 months and test driving multiple Jazz, i10 s and Micra s.

If you are in Bangalore, I think Spinny seems to be a new benchmark that you can use while buying from other places (observed ~10% higher than market price on Spinny generally).
singleton is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2021, 17:36   #14483

Originally Posted by concorde24 View Post
Can't agree with you more. I sold my immaculately maintained 2010 Swift Dzire VXI 2010 model (i got as 2nd owner in 2011), driven for 45k kms only for 2.75L. This is 60% of the cost i paid as 2nd owner 10 years back.
We are again going for a Maruti Vehicle . We have been Maruti customers for the past 21 years and this is going to be 5th Maruti vehicle in our garage. My personal vehicle is of another brand, as the waiting time for Maruti Vehicles was high when I wanted to purchase a vehicle for my personal use.
Old 23rd March 2021, 20:20   #14484

Guys, when we were looking for a well maintained used Innova Crysta and yesterday, I've seen a Sept 2019 manufactured one in pearl white colour with the ivory leather seats, which has run 9000 Kms and looks clean as well when I checked the car yesterday in person at a used car dealer.

The dealer had quoted Rs.21.5L on this car and told him that Rs.21L will be our last price only if I get the car inspected and haven't met with any accidents till now.

The same version, when new, had costed around Rs.28L I guess.

Can I go ahead with it or look for other options?

Last edited by car_guy1998 : 23rd March 2021 at 20:33.
Old 23rd March 2021, 20:24   #14485

Originally Posted by Kottayamkaran View Post
We are again going for a Maruti Vehicle.
True. There is a joke that Swift owner expects more than their purchase price when the sell it.
Latheesh is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2021, 20:39   #14486

True. There is a joke that Swift owner expects more than their purchase price when the sell it.
Haha. Well that's for innova owners
Kottayamkaran is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st March 2021, 10:34   #14487

Originally Posted by TB16 View Post
Car: Honda Amaze E (Petrol/CNG)
Year: 2015
ODO: 1,10,000
Transmission: Manual
No.of owners: 1
Condition: Average (New tyres, Still on original clutch and suspension)

What is the fair value for this car? Thanks in advance.
Exchanged this, An old Honda Amaze for a New Honda WRV. The final price given for the amaze was 3 lacs (2.75 for the car +. 25 exchange bonus). I thought it was a fair price considering my car had done 110k+ Kms.
Old 31st March 2021, 10:49   #14488

I gave 6.3L offer but no response from the owner till now.
Will suggest you to wait or let go of it. It's is a BSIII vehicle with 4 years on it and you're going to be the third owner. The car will depreciate even faster for you within a year or two, irrespective of the condition. Since it has had 2 owners (3 if you're included) and is already 2 generations old in terms of emission norms. I think ₹6 lakhs is generous enough. If not, you have already waited, might as well wait for the right deal.
mopy95 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st April 2021, 17:21   #14489

Mates, what would be the right price for a 2018 Facelift MUX 4wd with 27k on odo. The owner is asking for 22L, I've checked it out and the car has proper records and is in really good shape overall except for needing new break pads.
Old 1st April 2021, 19:04   #14490

Originally Posted by Peet Stop View Post
Mates, what would be the right price for a 2018 Facelift MUX 4wd with 27k on odo. The owner is asking for 22L, I've checked it out and the car has proper records and is in really good shape overall except for needing new break pads.
Check the value of the car on OBV, also the IDV on the insurance cover, before moving on.