Old 12th October 2007, 15:30   #31

Go with Accent VIVA CRDI as it is more refined that TATA safari. Moreover it is a diesel and you never know when the fuel cost will rise.

For details regarding hte prices, visit carwale.com. It will give you the indication of prices what you can give if you are buying individual/from dealers.
Old 12th October 2007, 19:54   #32

Hi all..
Thanks for the replies...

@snaronikar...
I know.. but i am not able to find a Viva CRDI in the market..
Old 13th October 2007, 15:17   #33

Originally Posted by TomRider View Post
@snaronikar...
here is a link to an interesting article on Viva CRDI vs Fiesta Diesel(pray it will not create more confusion, just FYI)
Fiesta or Accent Viva? Read here
Old 13th October 2007, 18:12   #34

I recommend the Safari (Dicor 3.0 ltr) if you can find one going cheap.

IMO the Safari fits the bill perfectly for city driving and if you wish to do some terrain driving.

We have quite a few happy truck owners and fans on this very forum.

Will be a futile attempt in 9 out of 10 tries. Good luck !!
Old 13th October 2007, 18:24   #35

All 3 cars you have mentioned are very different from each other.

I think your best bet would be to find a good City 1.3 / Baleno.

If you give us an idea of your budget, we can help you make a decision.
Old 15th October 2007, 10:41   #36

Thanks again for the replies guys.
and yeah, i m sry that i didn menton my budget before.
it s around 4lks. hope it wll be easier for u to answer my queries.
Old 15th October 2007, 19:15   #37

Thanks again for the replies guys.
and yeah, i m sry that i didn menton my budget before.
it s around 4lks. hope it wll be easier for u to answer my queries.
look at a baleno too. id take id over the 1.3 OHC.
Old 17th October 2007, 11:23   #38

Baleno LXI 2005 model, 35k km done - Is it worth the buy ?

I drive a Baleno and am looking for a replacement for my father's old car. I was looking at a small car but one of my office colleagues is selling his used Baleno LXI (35k km done) for 3.25 lakhs.

Please tell me if the price is justified. Here are the details of the car :

1. Purchase date : March 2005

2. Sony VCD / MP3 Player

3. Alloy wheels but original (skinny) tyres.

4. Factory fitted 60 watt headlamps replaced with custom 100 w brighter lamps ( I think they might drain the battery too much, I might just replace them with the original ones)

5. Under Extended Warranty till March 2008.

6. Insurance valid till March 2008.

7. Claimed insurance once in 2005 for some minor bumper & fender bends. Now its under no-claim bonus.

8. The car is mostly driven on highways (as claimed).

9. Reason for sale : The guy is going for Cedia

10. New battery (The brighter lamps have made their impact).

He says that he went to TrueValue and they quoted him 3.25. He has got the quote with him. He will bring the car tomorrow for me to have a look.

I would be looking to keep the car for a period of atleast 5 yrs from now on. Please tell me if any parts / spares issues are likely to crop up. I already have a Baleno and am already concerned about its spares in a year or two from now on. I certainly do not want another one to add to my woes.

Last edited by Dippy : 17th October 2007 at 11:24.
Old 17th October 2007, 12:07   #39

I would say its an excellent deal, as long as you know it hasn't had major issues. I would pick that up at the drop of a hat.
Carwale gives a rate of 3.7L for the car and you'll not regret it.
Old 17th October 2007, 12:08   #40

If you are planning to keep the car for a period of at least 5 yrs from now, parts will definitely be a problem. Which is your father's old car?

Also, custom 100 w brighter lamps should be fine as long as there is a relay. Otherwise, the fuse blows all the time. But I don't think they drain the battery to that extent.
Old 17th October 2007, 12:34   #41

Originally Posted by spadival View Post
Also, custom 100 w brighter lamps should be fine as long as there is a relay. Otherwise, the fuse blows all the time. But I don't think they drain the battery to that extent.
Yes there is a relay, the guy told me.
Old 17th October 2007, 16:50   #42

You are getting the car at dealers price. Good deal. Inspect the car throughly with help of an mechanic before you purchase it. Process the deal quickly and dont miss this opportunity
Old 25th October 2007, 13:30   #43

Is it Ford Fiesta Diesel you have purchased ?? Can someone provide advice on buying a used fiesta diesel and its evaluation ?? Also review comments will be highly useful .
Old 25th October 2007, 15:54   #44

5.2 is a good price mate !!! Only a year old and 12k on the odo. As good as new I would say. Cheers !!
Old 25th October 2007, 19:20   #45

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
5.2 is a good price mate !!! Only a year old and 12k on the odo. As good as new I would say. Cheers !!

You bet! best part is - I had to pay only 35k upfront and the remaining Rs 4,84,081 is to be paid in 23 EMIs of Rs. 21,047

This essentially works out to close to 4.5 lac at the prevalent interest rates on car loans today.. Yes, you got it right - effectively, this car has cost me 4.85 lac!!

Last weekend I drove all the way to Coorg in this car. Needless to say, I had the time of my life on the highway. Zooming past vehicles without lowering the gears - a slight push to the gas was sufficient enough to get the car going.

There were 2 occasions when I came across 2 sore egos - an OHC and a Lancer. Boy! I overtook the Lancer and seemed the air rubbed him the wrong way.. Immediately this guy came up from behind and flashed his headlights, I gave way, and he went ahead.

I coolly let him go and then after a minute, was behind him, he gave way, my foot went down, and there I was at 150 kmph.. and car was pleading for more! Of course, no sign of Lancer in the RVM (I checked the ORVMs too)

I am really thrilled with this car. In the past I have done 135 kmph on my Wagon-R on Jaipur-Ajmer highway (those who have been on it know the kind of road it is) and 140 kmph in my Ikon - but those were the points where they maxxed out. Here we are, with a beauty which challenged me for more

Before I am told that I am way OT, I end my blabbering!

PS - These bouts of adrenalin rush occur only once in a while - otherwise I drive safe.