Old 14th April 2008, 14:34   #241

its normal bombay price i guess. i guess u canfetch this one for 3.75 easy
Old 14th April 2008, 14:59   #242
rippergeo

HAFI- I hope you are aware that there is a thriving market for stolen luxury cars in cochin. why is a calcutta car being sold so far away from its home?

the car might be clean, but it helps if you are paranoid!

Old 14th April 2008, 15:30   #243

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
HAFI- I hope you are aware that there is a thriving market for stolen luxury cars in cochin. why is a calcutta car being sold so far away from its home?

the car might be clean, but it helps if you are paranoid!
That would be sloved with NOC from the origin .. or that can also be faked ?
Old 14th April 2008, 15:31   #244

Its not a steal.You should negotiate & get it for 4lacs,considering that the car is reg down south.

My friend(2nd owner) just sold a 2004 dec RS for 5.5lacs,36k on the odo.
He bought it for 8.5,it had clocked 18k then.
Old 14th April 2008, 15:41   #245

hey the problem is not the price..the car is still in Calcutta..he mailed me the pics of the car..he said that in order to bring the car to cochin i need to pay him an advance of 25000 rs.This makes me hesitant like on what basis should i give him the money..the guy is a malayali and he is staying here at Cochin near to my home...i met him through the advertisement i saw in the classifieds..he now has many
"WB" registered cars in his garage which he brought from Calcutta to sell it here...should i take the risk and pay the money?
Old 14th April 2008, 17:07   #246

Originally Posted by HAFI View Post
he now has many
"WB" registered cars in his garage which he brought from Calcutta to sell it here
...should i take the risk and pay the money?
He sounds like a scammer...must be some illegit stuff going on there...
Old 14th April 2008, 17:58   #247

Another car that can lighten your wallet?
Old 14th April 2008, 18:11   #248

Originally Posted by rash28 View Post

I also saw a Sonata gold for 3.5 lacs now That was a steal but know how sonata drinks petrol as if it is water.
i recently sold my sonata v6 gold for 2.60 lakhs here in chandigarh

and one of my cousin sold his octy for 4.75L but the car had clocked 1.75L km
Old 14th April 2008, 18:27   #249

Originally Posted by HAFI View Post
he now has many
"WB" registered cars in his garage which he brought from Calcutta to sell it here...should i take the risk and pay the money?

Errr... is this the guy who also has a WB regn bluish silver OHC 1.5, Shod with horrible looking alloys??
Old 14th April 2008, 18:43   #250

Stay away from a WB regn. car.Skoda Octavia 2.0 is a good car and it was not popular because i think initially the petrol and diesel Octavia were sold for the same price.4.25 is high according to me that too for a WB car in Kerala.The mileage for Octavia 2.0 is poor too and the spares are very expensive and hard to get.As you know its very hard to find a Octavia2.0 in Kerala so the spares wont be available immediately with the service center.And no resale and will be hard to get a person to buy a Octavia 2.0 in Kerala.
Old 15th April 2008, 12:17   #251

For this price you will get Old Honda accord which will beat this car in every possible way . you will end up having lots of issues with this car like expensive spares expensive service ,non available spare cause this model was a low seller from day one ,electrical problems etc etc
If you still want to buy then why a WB car in you state for 4.25 rather than a MH or Dl car for 3.5 or you can buy a corolla also for 4.5 stay away from this car (and also there are skoda diesel available for 4.5 that still make much more sense .From what i know of my knowledge of cars if its a skoda petrol it has to be skoda RS atleast you get bang for you bucks
Old 15th April 2008, 12:30   #252

For this price you will get Old Honda accord which will beat this car in every possible way .
Spot on, Rubin! Brilliant suggestion, only will have to look hard for the old Honda Accord which didn't really sell too well.

I would avoid the 2.0 Skoda petrol....it really is a lacklustre machine. And one that will have some pretty neat maintainence bills
Old 17th April 2008, 14:19   #253

I am looking for old Zen: True Value dealer at Pune quoted me 2.15 lacks for 2004 LXI model
- Pune registered
- White color
- 44k on ODO
- Single owner
- Tyres looks ok
- Few scratches on right back door, minor dent on hatch door.

It is worth to go for it? (One year warranty on Engine & Transmission, usual true value deal!)

This is my first exposure to used car market so your help is really appreciated
Hi , have you tried negotiating the price, there is always some room for price negotiations in the second hand market.
Also check if all tyres including stepny have the same date of manufacturing and make, if they have done 44k , you would need to change them pretty soon.
Old 20th April 2008, 10:33   #254

would it be beneficail to consider an engine swap with this model ...like to swap it with the RS engine?
Old 20th April 2008, 10:35   #255

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Errr... is this the guy who also has a WB regn bluish silver OHC 1.5, Shod with horrible looking alloys??
yes dude yaaa...he is havin a 1.5 vtec 2003 model for sellin and yaa its allolys look horrible...his name is tom...